We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love it”
Review of Hotel Fauna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fauna
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

stayed at fauna 3 nights. great location architecture and amazing view. the room was minimalist, i love it and the bathroom too, is coll and the shower great. the staff are really nice and helpful. the hotel comprises a great restaurant on he top level. with a wonderfull view, food, drink and music... if you are traveling to valparaiso not miss this weonderfull hotel.....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayavera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Jayavera,

Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

Hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

From the moment my husband and I arrived after an amazing 21 day cruise to the Antarctic, we were enthralled by Hotel Fauna. The property is interesting, the location perfect to absorb the city's ambiance,and the staff helped us in many ways. For example, contacting the best taxi drivers and seeing that we were picked up on time, and contacting a guide to transport us to the airport in Santiago, giving a several hour tour of Santiago prior to our departure.
The guest room was very comfortable and the restaurant was a great feature for us. Good food, served with care. We stayed three nights...and wished for more.

Room Tip: Our room was very, very pleasant. No. 5. I did not see others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smith504204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Smith,

Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The Fauna is in a fabulous location. In one direction, it's steps away from a funicular that for 20 cents takes you right into the middle of downtown. In the other direction, there are several excellent restaurants and a small store for buying bottled water and other basics. The view of the city from the dining room (and certain rooms) is absolutely fabulous. However, the rooms are truly minimalist. Bed, wardrobe, couch, toilet, sink, and shower. That's it. Reminded me of a monastery. The breakfast, while good, took FOREVER. The first morning, it probably took an hour. The woman serving it insists on bringing out the several different courses in the same order, at her own pace -- which meant waiting for coffee at least 20 minutes (meanwhile being served juice and some other things, but I NEED coffee first thing in the morning. It was impossible to make this happen). The front desk guy tried to speed things up, but breakfast never took less than 30 or 40 minutes. If you're hurrying out to do something, take this into account!

Room Tip: Ask for a view. Some people in the hotel were laughing about what a terrible view they had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CantStayHome_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear,

Thanks for your comment. Is good to know you enjoyed your stay at Fauna. Sorry about the Breakfast issue. For now we have more and qualified staff making breakfast.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Overall, I'd give the Fauna high marks - though it's not for everyone. Best parts are the warm & informal service, great location (within a few minutes walk of many cafes, restaurants and stores) and great views from the restaurant. I loved my big room, which had a great view, funky decor, and was comfortable to boot.

The restaurant is both a plus and a minus. I enjoyed a peaceful breakfast up there every morning, and two fairly good dinners. On the other hand, sometimes the place is hopping and the a hotel guest can feel like an afterthought. My room was right under the restaurant, and on 3 of my 4 nights I had no problem with the noise. But on the last night, a Monday, it was really loud, and the partying went on until the wee hours of the morning. If the restaurant gets any more popular and clubby, this could become a much less appealing place to stay.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Apple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear,

Along with a greet, we thanks for your comment. For us is very important you enjoyed your stay at Fauna.
However, we would like to tell Fauna has changed structurally, now there are 15 rooms, a better and quite reception and a bigger Terrace Restaurant. All our services had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed at the Fauna for 4 nights between Christmas & New Years. After staying in the Marriott in Santiago it was certainly a lot different. Stayed in room 2 - no view and down 2 levels from the lobby - feels like a basement & is against the cliff wall with exposed rock face in the room as a natural feature. Pretty minimalist & not a lot of cupboard & drawer space. The bathroom is cool and the shower great. The staff are really nice & helpful. The breakfast is more than adequate but after 4 times not a lot of variety - good coffee though. I've rated this hotel highly because it is in a great location for seeing Valparaiso, has a beautiful view from their balcony and has an excellent restaurant (including excellent local beers & wine). There are many excellent restaurants within a short walk - we ate at (our order of preference) Il Paparazzo, Bijoux, Pasta e Vino and Cafe Turri (great view - food just OK). The Hotel Fauna blends in with the character of Valparaiso and is a good solid choice.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandering_Wilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for your words. We are glad you enjoyed the whole service and your stay on Fauna.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Be prepared to be in the middle of the Valparaiso bohemian culture if you stay at Hotel Fauna. We arrived late on a Monday night to find the reception heaving with live music and locals. Our room was directly under the main room and over the three days found that the sound proofing was non existent.

Breakfast was below average and served with a side of local radio broadcasting directly from the reception / bar /restaurant. One morning we had live double bass and soul retching Chilean vocals.... A little too intense first thing!

If you like to be in the middle of life, you will like the atmosphere of Fauna. The location is perfect to explore the best of the street art as you can wander directly from the hotel and be surrounded by the vibrant art within minutes.

It's a crowd of locals enjoying their culture, with minimal consideration applied to the hotel guests. The rooms are clean, though dead flowers in the room stated otherwise, the rest of the hotel falls into the bohemian category with considerable dust and 'old worldliness'

If this is your taste you'll love it here, the staff are friendly though very laid back.

Room Tip: Hard to say, we were in room 6 directly under the main room, though the rooms down a floor looked li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav_elle_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaunaHyR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for leave your commet. For us is really important know how was your stay and what you liked and disliked.
However, we would like you to know Fauna had change structurally. This had growth 2 times his size. Now there are 15 rooms and the terrace roof had expanded offering beautifull and amazing views. Our service had improve in all the ways.

We hope you can come back to Valapraíso and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Marketing and Sales
Fauna Hotel Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Fauna has charm, thats undeniable, maybe a bit too much charm at the expense of service. We arrived late, the bar was heaving, and you either joined in or didn't sleep. The sound proofing is non existant, you hear every time the doorbell rings (lots), everyone going in every door, everyone walking up the stairs, everything really. The worst bit by far is breakfast. There is a radio station using the one room (restaurant, bar, live music, breakfast room) to broadcast from. They get the best table, they also get considerably better service. No choice of breakfast apart from 'eggs or avocado' (random!), and of course you have to be quiet to avoid disturbing the radio show. You get a tiny amount of orange juice (the staff and radio people all have massive glasses full), you may get a bread roll, one day we were lucky enough to get some toast. It really is appalling.
The room is large with no wardrobe whatsoever, no place in the bathroom to put so much as a toothbrush on the sink, we've been travelling for a month, so things like that are pretty annoying as we have considerable luggage.
Our duvet didn't have a cover, just a sheet under it and a sheet over it. Horrid lumpy foam pillow (one each), no bedhead to lean against, just not a very comfortable room albeit funky (if you like brick walls in your bedroom).
It is quaint, and it is certainly bohemian, but they need to concentrate a bit more on their guests and a bit less on the owners/staffs friends who constantly stream through.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank penguinwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimalow166, Gerente at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

We are very sorry for the experience lived in FAUNA. We have aborted the broadcasting. We will be making some arrangements this year to separate the reception from the restaurant. We will be rearing and arraging the rooms and specially their isolation. Thanks a lot for your critics and we will continue to make all our efforts to give the best service.
Cordialmente,
Javier Alonso A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#10 of 35 in Valparaiso
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#24 of 35 in Valparaiso
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauna

Address: Paseo Dimalow 166 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: £93 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauna 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fauna Hotel Restaurant is composed by 15 rooms, whiches are distributed on 4 categories, where if you stay on "Superiors" and "Suites Fauna" ones, you are going to find beautiful views to the city and the bay city. This is located on a perfect place, just in the middle of the most tourisctic and heritage city area, just 5 minutes walking to the center city and between several souvenir stores, design stores and many restaurants.The Fauna Concept is strongly guided by the material and intangible heritage rescue, the design, the simplicity and, above all by delivering a really good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing