We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fauna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fauna
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely hotel, nice staff and great breakfast. Only downside is noise created by open staircase design of the hotel, but everyting else made up for this, so would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Location close to many restaurants but not far from centre is ideal.

Room Tip: Lower floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimalow166, Director Comercial at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Trevor,

We are glad to know that you liked the breakfast, and our staff as well, we try to do it better every day.
Thank you for recomending us. This is essential.

Kind regards,

Carlos Pérez C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    144
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
277
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Finding a nice place in Valparaiso at a reasonable rate, with excellent rooms, bath, internet and breakfast is a challenge. Hotel Fauna has it all, and a terrific and helpful staff. Your cab can't get all the way to the front door because the street is blocked. But the hotel will send a guy to help you with your bags, or you can just pull them downhill a short way to the hotel. When you get there, and see the view from the cafe terrace, you understand that it was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrounstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimalow166, Director Comercial at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are very grateful for your opinion.
Fauna Hotel tries to have a honest proposal in all the ways. It's good to know that we are doing it well.

We hope to see you again in Valparaíso.

Kind regards,

Carlos Pérez C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fauna Hotel in Valparaiso, Chile has a great staff. In fact, I would say that for some, like my husband and me, the hotel would have been impossible to stay at without Nicholas from the front desk. Cars cannot go to the hotel and must stop a block away. Nicholas carried our bags (and we had five heavy ones) to the hotel and up and down the stairs for us. We are in our late sixties and we could not have done this by ourselves. Originally, we were given a room in the basement which we found quite depressing and cold. Don't get rooms in the basement. We asked for and received a heater and it was the summer. There is no AC but it was not needed.. The next day, we were moved up a level and, of course, Nicholas moved our bags for us. The rooms are no-frills. There are no closets in the rooms, just a few shelves and two hooks. The internet only works in the bathrooms, not in the main part of the room. Besides the staff, other positives are great food in the roof-top restaurant and a great view. The restaurant staff is also very helpful. We had an excellent dinner there, It cost $60 with one drink. Breakfasts are included and are fully served with no buffet and very good. The hotel is very convenient. It is a few steps from the funicular so we were able to go downtown easily and often. It is also just a block from many good restaurants, a bakery, and ice-cream store and a ATM. Great location. All in all, it is a great hotel for young people but anyone with mobility issues, might think twice... and don't expect luxury but do expect helpful staff, a good location and good food.

Room Tip: Don't get a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dears,

Many thanks for your comment. Regarding the architecture, yeah we are in Valparaíso and the whole structure could be kind of strange for another people, but we are prepared and really care about the needs of our guests.

Nicolás is our recepction support and he is care about the good stay, rest and whole needs from our guests. So, we are glad you felt that.

Nice to know you enjoyed the service on Restaurant and hotel. Regardting the location, we are in the middel of the tourist area, just steps down is the Fonicular "Reina Victoria", steps up there are many restaurants, markets and a ATM.

We hope you have pass a good stay on Fauna and can stay here again.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel has a marvelous design and location but the central staircase makes it noisy. I cannot recommend the rooms in the back. There are questionable people congregating on the steps outside the window. We changed rooms and were in the back again but one floor up. As people live right outside they started a bbq at 3:00 pm which went on until midnight. I cannot honestly recommend this hotel if you like peace and quiet!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwtravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear,

Thanks for your comment, every one help us to get better every day.
About the problems you mentioned, that are cultural features typicals of the architecture and the structure of Valparaíso City. Regarding the rooms, all the Standar Rooms are on the First floor (2 down reception) and the "view" is just to another houses. But the others ones doesn't has this issue.

Our internal policy it's to change rooms when we have availability, so maybe you stayed here when we were full.

We hope you can come back and try again on Fauna.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a lovely place. The hotel is located in a funky district with easy access to downtown and the port. The rooms are spacious, simplistic and no t.v. Our room was on the main floor and we had a lovely view of the city. The staff were excellent. The restaurant was trendy with wonderful food and great views. Breakfast was served in the upstairs restaurant and both the coffee and food were great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DafyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear,

Along with a greet, many thanks for your comment. We are so glad knowing you loved to stay on Fauna. It´s goo to know too you enjoyed the whole service on Fauna; Hotel and Restaurant.
Regardint the location, we are in the middle of the princial touristic area of Valapraíso. The view from some rooms and from the terrace it's amazing.

We hope you can come back and stay again on Fauna.


Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Markegting y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for four nights. The location is excellent and the terrace bar restaurant has great views of the city and is what sets the hotel apart from others in the area. Staff are really helpful. Rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom and shower are good with plenty of hot water. Our room had a fine view of the city and the bay. There was no wardrobe or chest of drawers to put clothes in our room, just some shelves.The food is really good although you can eat cheaper in other places in the local area. Breakfast is good too but Is the same evey day and varies in quantity depending on who is serving.The bar / restaurant gets very busy in the mid afternoon and evenings so there is not always a quiet place to sit outside. Overall this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I would ask to go on the middle floor where we were. The bar restaurant is on the top floor and bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Richard,

Along with a greet, thanks for your comment.
It's good to know you enjoyed your stay and the the kidness from our staff. We try to be always care about our guests needs. We are glad to know you enjoyed the whole service on Fauna; Hotel and Restaurante.
About the equipment of the rooms we are looking for some options to provide a better service.

Hoping you can stay and enjoy again Fauna.


Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas,
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Hidden gem down a small lane way. The restaurant is perched over the hill with a panoramic view of Valparaiso. The rooms are quite eclectic, however a little dark. The room we stayed in was right under the restaurant/ bar and can be quite noisy at night due to the wooden floor above. Staff were a bit too casual, checking time was 3pm, however we didn't get into our room until quite a bit later, for no apparent reason. We had an early bus to catch and found ourselves locked in the hotel until we found the night guy asleep in the restaurant. Location and view are fantastic, just a few little quirks, otherwise a nice stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BasesinPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dears,

Thanks for your comment, every one help us to get better each day. We are glad you liked the stay, the location, the view, and, the whole service of Fauna.
Regarding the other things, we are going to improve all the details you mentioned.

We hope you can come back and stay again on Fauna.


Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#10 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauna

Property: Hotel Fauna
Address: Paseo Dimalow 166 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauna 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fauna Hotel Restaurant is composed by 15 rooms, whiches are distributed on 4 categories, where if you stay on "Superiors" and "Suites Fauna" ones, you are going to find beautiful views to the city and the bay city. This is located on a perfect place, just in the middle of the most tourisctic and heritage city area, just 5 minutes walking to the center city and between several souvenir stores, design stores and many restaurants.The Fauna Concept is strongly guided by the material and intangible heritage rescue, the design, the simplicity and, above all by delivering a really good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing