We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view makes it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The view makes it!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very interesting place. First of all, a challenge find. The winding hilly roads in Valparaiso are a real experience. We had a car and once we found the place we parked in their secure compound and left it there until we left. Room was OK but the bathroom - no hot water - sometimes no water at all. I guess that goes with infrastructure in a city that is hundreds of years old. I think it's a miracle they have any facilities all given the nature of the terrain. Staff were great (spoke English)! The building itself is very unique. Very 'art-deco' I guess. Breakfast (usual juices, good coffee - a real find in Chile, toast, ham, cheeses, etc) served in the top floor terrace overlooking city and harbour. What really makes it is the terrace/bar thing on top with a 360 degree view over the city and harbour. When you walk in with the floor to ceiling sliding windows it will take your breath away. No need to spend any time in the room. Just grab your drinks and wi-fi, sit on the terrace watching the city and the sun go down. Place is in a quiet area, felt safe. Walked up and down stairs to various restaurants in the area (cabbed home - always a good idea after dark).

Room Tip: We were three so I think we got kind of a weird room (door handle fell off and it wouldn't shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    29
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Character plus++ and an impressive (day or night) view of .... almost everything including the harbour - especially from our upgrade to the 'penthouse'. (48 steps and no elevator but it was worth it!)
The staff was super helpful and the marine themed decor added a great atmosphere.
Coffee, cappuccino and snacks in the common room made our one day stay much too short. If we had been able to cancel our Santiago reservations we would have extended our visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A lovely little hotel with a very interesting atmosphere.
The location is on top of one of the many hills, so you will have a great view over most of the city.
The hotel itself seem to be constructed by adding a room over two houses, so the little alley that used to be between them is now part of the house.
The staff was very friendly and most helpful. Breakfast was ok, but nothing fancy, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh Croissants and very typical for Chile mashed avocado.
Unfortunately we were staying only for one night, but we very much enjoyed the experience :)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the town, or one of the two suites on the very top :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
274 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Art Deco Hotel is one of many remodeled buildings in Valparaiso that have been turned into boutique hotels in recent years, each of which has its own unique character. The Art Deco’s location is pretty good – straight up the hill from the main park/square and a few blocks below Neruda’s San Sebastian House. The neighborhood is quiet and secure, and there are several good restaurants nearby. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the cemeteries (definitely worth visiting) and the fashionable Conception Area. We drove into Valparaiso from the south and miraculously the GPS found the hotel without too much difficulty. Once we parked the car in front of the hotel that’s where it stayed until we left 3 days later. Driving in Valparaiso is best left to locals and to professional taxi drivers. Besides, walking is the best way to appreciate what must be one of the world’s most funky cities and certainly the street-art capital of the world.

The hotel is a bit hard to describe. It has a complex open center design, with rooms tucked off the central core, some with views of the interior. There is interesting modern art and antiques everywhere. Each room is different and has its own qualities. Our room (1005) was very small but it was very attractively furnished and had a nice view of the harbor (we think this was a free upgrade from the room we had booked). The high ceiling partly countered the small room size. It was a bit cramped to find storage for two open suitcases (we finally unpacked one to save space). There was a fair-sized armoire in one corner and some drawer space in the two nightstands. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was fairly large with a tub/shower combo and a vanity with storage shelves underneath. One quirk was that it usually took about 5 minutes to get hot water after turning on the tap.

The top floor lounge/bar/breakfast area is a fabulous space that is designed to resemble the deck of an old sailing ship, with attractive wood construction everywhere. The adjacent terrace provides a great view of the harbor. The breakfast buffet was very good, with a nice selection of fruit, juices, eggs, yogurt, and excellent barista coffee. The staff in the restaurant and the manager who greeted us when we arrived were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redvers
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We ended up staying at this hotel even though we had booked at the Valparaiso Vineyard Inn - which locks its doors after 10 p.m. and has no night staff - wished we would have booked here from the start. Very quaint hotel with tons of character. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

A nice hotel, good location, good first impression. But they charged me twice for my stay and I have only just received the money back. During this time I have received a number of rude emails and no apologies. Presumably the customer is not always right.

Everytime I wanted a shower I had to ask for the hot water to be turned on. We could hear lots of noise from other rooms and there was a light shining through the top of the door where there was glass.

Un hotel agradable, buena ubicacion, buena primera impresion. Pero me cobraron dos veces para mi estancia y he recibido el dinero solamente ahora. Durante este tiempo he recibido varios correos electronicos groseros y disculpas no. Es de suponer que el cliente no siempre tiene la razon.

Cada vez que queria una ducha, tenia que preguntar para que el agua caliente puede encender. Podiamos oir mucho ruido de otras habitaciones y habia una luz que brilla a traves de la parte superior de la puerta donde habia cristal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

But a fantastic little hotel, just bring ear plugs as the dogs in the area like a chat.

The only thing id say is its a B+B so don't expect to be able to get food. A mini bar would be a nice addition to the rooms.

The manager was a lovely chap and very funny. Also worth mentioning the fantastic restaurant opposite.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeychops43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultramar Hotel
Ultramar Hotel
#18 of 35 in Valparaiso
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#16 of 35 in Valparaiso
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#20 of 35 in Valparaiso
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
#15 of 35 in Valparaiso
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique

Property: RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique
Address: Hector Calvo Jofre 389 | Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 2371671, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your RC Deco Art Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing