We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Paparazzo

Il Paparazzo
Ranked #13 of 420 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Inspirado en la pelicula "La Dolce Vita" de Fellini y ambientado con un exquisito estilo de los anos 50 con aires contemporaneos, este restaurant se ubica a pocos metros del Ascensor Concepcion, Paseo Gervasoni y Casa Mirador de Lukas. Su especialidad es Cocina Mediterranea, en donde la fusion de sabores es la protagonista de su carta..Pastas rellenas, variedad de pescados y mariscos (corvina, pescado de roca, atun de Isla de Pascua, Salmon del Sur de Chile, Pulpo del Norte, machas), carnes, ensaladas y deliciosos postres. Ademas cuenta con una amplia variedad de vinos y cocktails, ideal para acompanarlos con lo mejor de su gastronomia
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food, good location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed the food here so much, we ate here twice! The restaurant serves top qualkity food, served well, and a good range in the menu. Would reccomend anyone to visit during their stay in Valparaiso

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    91
    21
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant at the bottom of the stairs”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We ignored the guy with the menu lurking around inviting us to the restaurant but chose it of our own accord. As a rule I´ve learned to avoid places that have people outside to lure you in, but the guy was clearly out there because the restaurant is somewhat hidden at the bottom of a staircase. All the food was excellent (the lamb shank is the most tender I´ve had in Chile) and the wine list was great, offering really good wines (many of which are organic/biodynamic if you´re into that) for reasonable prices. I would recommend the appetizer called something like ´trio parmesana´. The Salmon Salad was also incredible, as was the desert with chocolate prepared in various ways. In summation, if you´re wandering the streets of Valparaiso starving, and a sketchy guy with a menu starts talking to you by some stairs, you just might be in for a treat. Just make sure he takes you to Il Paparazzo! 10/10, would go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lucky find”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

we were on route to another restaurant when we got a bit lost and this lovely man helped us but also said he worked for el paparazzo which was a very good restaurant too. the street beside it is having the paving replaced so its harder for customers to find their way there but what a treasure of a place it is and I've just had one of the best meals for a long time. Weve been traveling for a month now from Oman, India, Perth and Melbourne and have eaten out almost every night but this was the best so far. We had delicious complimentary bread rolls with an amazing dip to start. I had a fillet steak to die for with an amazing potato and bean and cheese concoction that complemented it perfectly. My partner had the pasta ravioli which looked too good to eat, it was so well presented. both meals were delicious and we are definately going back again before we leave Valparaiso as I wanted to try the crime brûlée but had no room left.
The man that told us to try the restaurant was brilliant and insisted in walking us down to our hotel as the assension conception was closed and he wanted to make sure we got back safely, how good of him was that? A wonderful meal with great service and surroundings and an escort home too. I can't recommend it enough and yes it's not cheap but I think still great value for what quality you get. Diane

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It can be difficult to find an open restaurant in Valparaiso on a Sunday night. This place is tucked a bit out of the way but near Ascensor Conception. The evening was warm enough to sit outside and we had an excellent dinner as an introduction to our first night in town. The food was well prepared, delicious and our wine choice married perfectly with it. The staff is attentive and helpful. We regret that we did not return but would place this restaurant high on our list should we do so in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“PAparazz”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We went with colleagues from the university to that place... the food its really nice also the ambience , is a real gourmet restaurant soo if you are looking some special and well decorated plates you can find there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillem0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Paparazzo also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Il Paparazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing