We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 17
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fauna(Valparaiso)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ultramar Hotel(Valparaiso)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Valparaiso(Valparaiso)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
205
121
33
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
121
33
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorgreat locationcerro concepcionsea viewvery nice continental breakfastpoor maintenancegreat restaurants and shopsspiral stair casemodern and stylishfloor to ceilingwonderful restaurantstreet viewwelcome drinkcan't beat the locationlower levelchilliroom key
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

hotel 17 offered the most amazing customer service during our visit. the staff called us by name during our whole stay and we just had a great time. they bent over backwards to make our experience wonderful. i would highly recommend this hotel, the location is wonderful, view is amazing. walkable to galleries and wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose n, Gerente at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments, they are required to constantly improve the quality of our hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Boutique 17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a great little hotel only ten minutes by foot from the waterfront in Valparaiso. The decor is modern, the views of the harbor from the rooms and private balconies are spectacular and the service is impeccable, including a good breakfast and complimentary pisco sours. The area is quiet at night. Several fine restaurants are less than a block away, as are a number of eclectic shops. If you want to spend a day or two as a tourist in Valparaiso the Hotel 17 is ideal.

Room Tip: The rooms on the harbor side of the building are slightly more expensive but well worth the differnce.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DAGTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose n, Gerente at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments, they are required to constantly improve the quality of our hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Boutique 17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My partner and I stayed in a sea-view room for 2 nights. The hotel is clean , the location is great and the view from our room is magnificent, just don't expect luxury except for the free wifi. The room is fairly small with minimalist furnishing. There is a door-less closet with 3 hangers and a small shelf underneath. 2 wall-shelves serve as a bench/table with a wall-mounted flat screen TV. Bed is QS, fairly soft with good linen. The bathroom is close to the bed, separated by a glass partition. Though the lower part is opaque, you can hear and almost see what the person inside is doing. The tap ware is modern but the toiletries are basic. If you need to use facial tissue or cotton swab,etc, please b.y.o (bring your own). Also b.y.o. your ear plugs as the room is not well sound insulated. During daytime you can hear all the going-ons outside your room in the hotel as well as the noise from the neigbourhood like dog barks and music....On our Saturday night there, there were loud parties in the area up to 3 to 4am. Breakfast was the usual fare which you order from a list of basic food items. A complimentary bottle of drinking water is provided per guest daily. If you need extras, it's US$4 per bottle. So b.y.o. Overall, for the tariff we paid, we got a great view but a totally underwhelmed hotel experience.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with sea-view. The other rooms face a hostel across the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose n, Gerente at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments, they are required to constantly improve the quality of our hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Boutique 17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have to thank the staff for all they effort in making this weekend a really pleasant one. They were always there for us and our kid. They even managed to arrange that the next door restaurant, la concepcion ( another great choice), to bring us food and improvise a romantic private dinner in the terrace with a perfect view of the bay as we couldnt go out and left our 1 year old alone sleeping in the room by himself: it was a highlight of the trip.

Breakfast is simple but yummy, with all the usual suspects: eggs,ham,cheese,cereals,yoghurts,etc and they re quite flexible as they offers you to bring it to your room and they serve it the whole morning, so if you want to sleep in a eat it ay 1 pm, they will do it.

If you are looking for an hotel in valparaiso's cerro alegre/la concepcion with a bay view this could be a good pick for you as it could be the cheapest option.

Rooms are of a decent size but nothing fancy or too special / customize as you could find in others near by hotels.

The only big dessapointment was that our room aircon didnt seem to work and they couldnt fix it so by 11 we were running out of the room as it became a sauna: ask them specifically about it as i understand not all rooms have this problem.
Once again thanks to Enzo, Miguel Angel and Valentina.

Room Tip: Room number 2 has bay view but no aircon and as it is in the ground floor with the common terrace you lack of some privacy. Only good thing about it is that you may be able to get a good discount if you dont have a problem with it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lundachile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose n, Gerente at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments, they are required to constantly improve the quality of our hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Boutique 17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Reason for Going? After 3 weeks campervan-ing round NZ we wanted to relax before attacking South America. So landed in Chile and drove out to Valparaiso for 4 days of nothing.

Staff - from the first moment to the last the younger members of staff were all very friendly and tried their best to help. One older (not old, perhaps mid-30s) guy was a little gruff, but certainly not unfriendly.

Location - Concepcion is a great place. Two of the best restaurants in town on your doorstep (Concepcion and Pasta e Vino). Short walk down the hill to town and some good clubs/bars. We had an harbour view room which was lovely during the day, but you could hear the Piedra Feliz nightclub until 4am....take earplugs.

Value for Money? - yes and no....to be honest, it's not the most expensive and Chile is not a cheap place, so all in all I was happy to pay for the Hotel....it's a beautiful place. However for the money you'd also expect simple things, like complimentary water or ventilation/air conditioning. Ventilation is only possible if you open your window, which can be noisy at night. Extra water is $4 for a 500ml (small) bottle! Come on Hotel 17....be serious....they cost $1.50 for a bottle 3 times the size in the local store. Otherwise it's fine. Off-street parking will cost extra, ask at time of booking.

General Comments:
Breakfast is truly "when you want it to be"....we tested it. That makes a huge difference in the overall trip, being able to relax and live without schedule. Again, we found the staff to all be very friendly, especially Carolina and Nicolas.
We like our beds firm, theirs was soft (room 9). Not a negative, just a point to note.
Some hotels will charge you for their sauna/jacuzzi/steam room after the first use (which is free)....Hotel 17 was always free, though you had to reserve your place.
Internet connection was very good and free....a must in the 21st Century.

Room Tip: Bay view can be noisy from bars/nightclubs.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sa-moorei-blogspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose n, Gerente at Hotel 17, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments, they are required to constantly improve the quality of our hotel.

Regards,

Hotel Boutique 17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews