We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream”
Review of The Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brighton
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A dream”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is unique and not comparable with any other city-hotelif you love Valpo then you'll love this small hotel. By the way you can also have lunch on the terrace and enjoy the view over Valparaiso.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    75
    53
    36
    31
See reviews for
33
117
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Brighton is just in the right place for the most attractive barrios, galleries art & restaurants, and it has great views from the terrace. Although it feels a little tired, the rooms are comfortable & clean. It is friendly & there was live music in the bar/restaurant

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenHerefordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

What a quaint, friendly unique little hotel. Spent a few days in Santiago and then arrived here. Frederico was a charming, accommodating host and supplied us with a bottle of wine as soon as we arrived! The area was wonderful - full of arty graffiti and alluring side streets atop the mountain. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant which provides the best view you can have of the harbor and town below. My room had a little balcony as well. Very old hotel with cracks and warts but full of charm! Beware of the college kids who stay up all night partying at a plaza area down the hill - they can be noisy! But this just added to the ambiance of this adventure! (Brazilian drummers contribute as well!) All the staff were great and helpful!

Room Tip: Room X is the only one with its own balcony - very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Brighton is THE place to stay in Valparaíso. However, it is very typical Valparaíso style. If you prefer a new, modern, comforty and large-spaced place without noise, stay out. If you are a person with a romantic attitude towards life, who loves great views, music, a non conventional-but clean room and a unique experience - GO for the Brighton. You have a great bar/restaurant downstairs. We chose the top room under the roof. Absolutely fantastic, even though at some places it is difficult to stand for tall people. But sitting at the open window overlooking the bay of this great city with a bottle of whine, is absolutely unique - as is enojoying the great breakfast the next morning at the same place! Perfect for a one to three night stay as a couple.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soyporteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennistymon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Having looked on the web at various options on where to stay in Valparaiso we decided it had to be the Brighton because of its location on Atkinson Walk, its terrace & weekend music. We got the last available room for Sat/Sun night, room 3 I think it was downstairs, and from reading previous reviews on Trip Advisor we were prepared for it being a bit small and a bit noisy - how right they were! Bedroom v cosy but with good sized wardrobe space located in a little lobby between the bedroom & bathroom. The shower room had a very small shower & large wooden beam running diagonally through it supporting the upstairs terrace! Definitely one to watch when getting up through the night to use the loo! The waitress who showed us to our room was exceptionally nice and spoke some English. She recommended we booked a table in the restaurant if we wanted to attend the live jazz music which was on that night starting 11pm, which we duly did. We went off and found a great restaurant Vinilo on Almirante Montt (10 min walk fm hotel) again very friendly staff with good English the same owners also have a great Pisco bar a few doors up which was a relatively new concept and while I enjoyed a pisco cocktail my husband was introduced to some smooth pisco of a quality just for sipping. Having had a great night already we headed back to the Brighton to take up our table & order some postres, cafe & some wine - there is a min charge but is easily met if you are there awhile. The jazz performer, a lady of a certain age, finally got going after 11.30pm accompanied by a young guy on guitar. The place was full and it had a great buzz about it, which went on until almost 3am. We slipped out about 2am by which time it had turned into a poor karako however our room being directly below we still heard every song! After that it was the drummers in the plaza below played on until dawn, which was less enjoyable. Sunday night was very quiet!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPEnnistymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in one of the two attic rooms on a Quiet Sunday night. The exceptionally helpful staff, the storybook location, the incredible view, the music from the Plaza far below, and the budget rate more than made up for the quirkiness of the old building. If you want 5 stars, go to Vina del Mar. But for charm and historic atmosphere in an artsy area near the port, stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MesillaNMdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Charming, small B&B. Quirky best describes the Brighton. I stayed in the "X" room, the only room, I believe, with a balcony. My room key was a skeleton key and not very secure, however I had no issues with theft. Breakfast at the Brighton was very good. All in all a great place to stay while in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloSojouner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#20 of 35 in Valparaiso
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#17 of 35 in Valparaiso
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Manoir Atkinson
Hotel Manoir Atkinson
#12 of 35 in Valparaiso
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Sutherland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton

Property: The Brighton
Address: Paseo Atkinson No 151-153 cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brighton Hotel Valparaiso
Brighton Hotel Valparaiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing