We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of a monthlong backpacking trip!”
Review of Restaurant Alegre

Restaurant Alegre
Ranked #124 of 428 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Cuisines: Chilean, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy the best gastronomy together with high quality wines, following our philosophy: benefit of the local products with a particular emphasis on sea products, with the idea of transforming them according the mood of the chef. Whether for a romantic or family diner, or a company event, in our Alegre restaurant you will find a perfect place to enjoy our cuisine, both in the interior of the restaurant and our terrace, always with sea views. We offer you the possibility to go down to the hotel's wine cellar to choose your own bottle to accompany your meal
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal of a monthlong backpacking trip!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I spent a month backpacking through Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia and Chile before ending in Valparaiso.

This meal was FANTASTIC. Everything was impeccably prepared and the chef was incredibly friendly, talking to us after finishing up in the kitchen.

Delicious. Just go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sliterrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    27
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food in Valparaiso”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We've been to a few restaurants in Valparaiso (the best known ones) and this is really the only one where we've left truly satisfied with the food and service. If you are coming from Europe it is also great value. The only reason why I don't give it 5 stars is because we had the tasting menu and the mero was rather cold when it arrived at the table.

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best food experience I've had.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

By far, the best food experience I've had. The chef is amazing!
Every plate was different and original and full of flavor.
I'd say it's a complete experience: awesome service, awesome food and awesome place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rleonvelasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent, but....”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We met two friends at the restaurant and began the tasting menu that took well over two hours. There were a significant number of courses: a pisco sour of lemon foam, then small puff pastries with mint sauce, skin of salmon deep fried, a small urn of caramelized tomatoes with chopped chicken, smoked salmon with beet foam and pickled celery, wagyu beef, chopped and rolled in a potato pancake and served with seafood fried wonton, pastries for dessert—macaroons, maple sugar cubes, mint sugars, and then a digestif that is local to Chile. We enjoyed the food immensely but found the wines designed to go with the courses a bit off track. We did not enjoy the espumante, and felt that timing of the chardonnay before the sauvignon blanc was out of place. No reds to go with the wagyu beef. Fun, but as one of our friends, a chef, said, Sergio Barroso, age 28, who apprenticed under Ferran Adrià at El Bulli in Spain is cooking like Adrià when he cooked 10 years ago. The artistic plating and textures were gorgeous. Both of us think that it was not as grand a meal as we had at Attica two years ago in Melbourne, Australia, though even that tasting menu had a couple of rough edges too, (That meal was significantly more expensive than Al Alegre, about twice the price.)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
913 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
“Great space, mediocre food, horrific service”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We wanted to have an upscale dining experience in Valparaiso. Alegre was a tempting choice, set in a gorgeous hotel overlooking the bay. We booked ahead; the confirmation email stated that we could enjoy a drink on the patio prior to dinner. When we arrived and checked in with the host, we headed to the terrace for a drink. We were there for thirty minutes and no one came to clean our table or take our order. We had to clean the dirty glasses off our table ourselves. I had to seek out the waiter to take our drink order. There was an extensive drink list, but only two out of 15-20 drinks were available. I was aghast, and this is was to be the beginning of a great meal? Clearly it was going to be an odd experience.
When we left the patio and entered the restaurant I informed the host of the horrific lack of service upstairs on the patio. He apologized and offered us two glasses of champagne which was a nice touch. The menu looked inventive and we were excited that things may improve. Unfortunately, the poor service continued. We were not offered water at all thought the meal. The dishes from the amuses bouches were not cleared until well past the appetizers. The inventive menu missed on the basics while focusing on molecular gastronomy. We informed the waiter that one of us was a vegetarian yet nearly every dish served had either some chicken in it or some form of chicken flavored foam.
The blue egg appetizer was just a regular egg. When one describes a hard to come by blue egg, the customer imagines either a blue yolk or a blue shell. This was not the case; just a regular egg that costs US$20 as an appetizer. Our entrees were both fish, the conger eel and cod. Neither tasted fresh; both were very fishy. The dessert, churros, were soggy.
This is one of the priciest restaurants in Valparaiso, but you are only paying for the setting. The service will leave you aghast as it did us, and the food will make you wonder why the chef does not focus more on getting the basic quality of food correct, instead focusing on jellies and foams. I hardly rant when I review; and I am an avid foodie. Believe me, avoid this place and have wonderful meals elsewhere in Valpa, at a fraction of the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Alegre also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Restaurant Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing