We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in Valparaiso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best boutique hotel in Valparaiso”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

To start, the arquitecture and interior design of this hotel is beautiful and totally in accordance to Valparaiso's bohemian soul.
Located right next to two beautiful museums and a historical elevator.
Breakfast is a delight, partially self-service.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danibonvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your words, we are happy to hear you had a good time in our hotel, looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    84
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
38
208
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were on a quest - an expedition to discover the quality and purity of chilean wines right from the source... pretty soon we discover we were in the right place and our stay in Palacio Astoreca made it all the best. Fantastic wine, fantastic food, great accommodation, beautiful views and all packed in 12 unforgettable days. We would certainly be coming back to the Astoreca in the vine capital.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your comment, and yes, we are lucky to be so close from the beautiful vineyards, it is so good to hear you enjoyed the whole experience, our warmest regards from Valparaíso. Diego Cárdenas - Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We can only recommend this hotel who has the budget and wants to visit this indulging city Valparaiso Chile. We have stayed their with our two kids and the staff was so helpful to manage extra beds on the same suite. The suite was very comfortable, modern and was equipped with all luxury needed. Also the decoration of the room and the view to the old city were awesome. The staff was so service orientated that they even helped us with ordering Tele-pizza for the kids in the room. The swimming pool, outdoor wood fire heated hot tub and turkish steam bath were very relaxing. The breakfast is soo special, that I can only recommend; try it yourself! I gave Barista Latte Art training, so from now on also nice cappuccino's at breakfast
If you like to go for a private tour ask at the desk for Ines! See can take you to the nice wineries in area or other nice interesting places in the area. She speak very good English and has lot's of knowhow in area. Also for airport transport. Contact: startingpointour@gmail.com and ask for Ines Wiegand Turner.
Overall a great experience and only can give a 5 out of 5!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jankees R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We remeber you perfectly and the staff was happy to read your lines, looking forward to see you again, Diego Cárdenas, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a gem if a hotel, in a beautiful building, beautifully furnished and decorated. The location is perfect. The restaurant serves gourmet food of a very high standard. The spa area is also very stylish. If I didn't live in Europe I would visit this hotel regularly!

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Milly1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you very much for your words, we appreciate the time you took to share your experience with other visitors. Our best regards from Valparaiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

No doubt one of the prettiest hotels in Chile, built and furnished with very high quality materials and very tasteful, a real palace as its name says. Rooms are of a good size, most have great views and are very comfy.

The only flaw is in service, as is very common in Chile, everything was SLOW, checking in and out, ordering drinks, etc. The first approach when we arrived was the classic hypocritical and inquisitive "How can I help you?" (looking like get the hell out of here) instead of a Welcome...

On food, we didn't experience breakfast at the restaurant because it's only until 10:30 and we were in the mood for sleeping in, which was quite a feat since a crew of very chatty chambermaids were making a lot of noise since 9 am... not a place for late risers...

We had plenty of hour d'oeuvres and drinks in the awesome deck, which although expensive, were excelent. The restaurant Alegre was nothing to write home about, the typical ultra modern El Bulli imitations with ununderstandable descriptions in the menu, tiny servings and disappointing experience overall. Service here had the worst flaw: I was poked twice by two waiters!!! That hadn't happened in any restaurant anywhere (and I've traveled...) Haven't these people read the first commandment of waiters: NEVER TOUCH THE COSTUMER?!?!?! Sad but true, I also have to speak out that despite an interesting wine list, no waiter knew anything about wine, not even dream of a sommelier...

Overall, the hotel is a gem, don't be put off by comments on service, I'm only putting those because managers read these posts and can help improving. We had a great time and would happily go back, if I can still afford it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FishInTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario, desde ya los leemos y nos interesa mucho conocer todas las opiniones, si bien tenemos una alta tasa de satisfacción no nos detenemos y trabajamos para que todos nuestros servicios mejoren día a día, tomaremos muy en cuenta su opinión y esperamos sinceramente nos visite nuevamente.
Mis sinceros saludos, Diego Cárdenas, Gerente Palacio Astoreca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I am often one to try a newer hotel in a city I have never visited before. Having another couple with us.....and being out first stop in Chile, I was a bit worried. Just pulling up to this renovated mansion, we knew we had made the right decision with Palacio Astoreca. And it proved to be so again and again on this wonderful short visit. Other than the fact it was early in the morning and it was hard to find anyone to even let us into the gate. That is often the problem with these flights from the states......an arrival much earlier than would normally be the case. And our rooms wouldn't be ready for a quite a few hours. But once things were settled......everything ran as smoothly as possible.

The restoration is top notch. Our taste runs toward the more modern and its a perfect mix of traditional building with a modern/almost minimalist approach to design. We just loved it. You turned a corner from the charming old staircase and there was a glass enclosed elevator to whisk you upstairs. We were in the new section which seamlessly flows from the old, that we didn't even realize it at first. Other than lower ceilings, the newer windows (along with the wonderful bed) gave us a very good night sleep. We had chose one of the larger rooms and the layout and views to the harbor was a spectacular welcome to Chile. From wine delivered on arrival to treats in the evening....and a delicious buffet the next morning: and most of all.... a staff who only wanted to help with everything, each minute was a delight. The only negative was that we hadn't planned on staying longer. I am already dreaming of going back and exploring this charming town. We might go back just for the Hotel Palacio Astoreca.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our Junior suite in the new wing (3rd floor) for its views, space, large ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego_Hotel, Gerente at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your words, we really work everyday to make our guest experiences the best as possible, so we are happy to read these lines.
Our best regards from our staff and we hope to see you again, Diego Cárdenas, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arriving late at night from Santiago, nothing was too much trouble for the willing and enthusiastic staff. I was shown to a beautiful and individual room with a view over the town and sea. Although the kitchen was nearly closed, I was made welcome in the dining room and was presented with a full menu and a glass of Merlot that was on the house. The chef presents an interesting selection and I had only an entree and a dessert because it was late. It was accompanied by two unexpected appetisers. It was a wonderful experience and, traveling alone, I was thoughtfully looked after. In the room, everything was considered, including sensible lights and uncomplicated switches, curtains that kept out the light, luxurious towels that were heavy and of a quality that hardly exists anymore and toiletries that were original. My greatest disappointment was that my stay was short and that I was due elsewhere for breakfast, so missed out on what I am sure would have been another wonderful dining occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the sea - I had 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego_Hotel, Manager at Palacio Astoreca Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Mr Myers, we really appreciate you took the time to pass by and review your experience, thank you very much for your words, we hope to have you again in our Palacio Astoreca, our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
#9 of 35 in Valparaiso
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#10 of 35 in Valparaiso
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Astoreca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Astoreca Hotel

Property: Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Address: Montealegre 149 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Astoreca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique hotel Palacio Astoreca opened in September 2012 and since then our hotel and restaurant have been positioned as one of the best in the country, praised by national and international critics, but especially, the more we care, for our loyal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palacio Astoreca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing