We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Cafe del Pintor

Cafe del Pintor
Ranked #4 of 431 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$13
Cuisines: Chilean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stumbled on this little gem when looking for somewhere to eat. Selected the three course menu. Beef stew was very flavoursome. Chicken was tasty but a tad overlooked but would definitely eat there again. Loved the artwork.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-Tourist-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    182
    38
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Randomly entered, and loved it!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great service, nice decoration and good food!
We each got a basic 3 course menu - both very good. We both had a delicious salad to start, followed by a meat dish - I had pork (a tad bit overcooked, but a DELICIOUS mushroom sauce to go with it) and my partner had beef stew (delicious) - and a caramel mousse to finish, which was also very good.
The prices were reasonable and the service was very nice and attentive.

I would go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krogill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Happy waiter and happy price”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We ordered the 3 course set menu and we were not disappointed, the food was great and the wine was good too.The price is very good for this area of town and the staff were just a pleasure and spoke English.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaPartridge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
479 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Plain jane”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This review is based on cost/value and level of expectations.

I'm giving this a place only a 3/5 because it was merely pedestrian and somewhat ordinary. I expected more, given it's high TA ranking at the time of our visit (3rd in Valpo as of last week). The menu is a simple prix fix format with a salad, main, and mousse dessert for about 7000 CLP. They did feature a few Chilean craft beers.

The meal was not bad in any way, not expensive, but kind of boring. Still go here but there is no awe or wow factor at the restaurant, given it's high ranking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fantom_Gormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Friendly and Unique”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were looking for somewhere special in the Cerro Alegre area of Valparaiso and we found it really by chance. The outside few tables on the sidewalk don't do justice to the effect of the murals that cover every available wall space inside. It is very aptly named and the murals are excellent portrayals of the vistas of Valparaiso. Our table was at the extreme interior of the restaurant beside the serving hatch from the kitchen. Here there is a very eclectic mural that is somewhat spiritual in nature and I suppose portrays the painter's state of mind at the time rather than a touristic homage to his port city. It certainly created a talking point for our group throughout our late lunch. The plates which included reineta and pork loin with was very tasty and the service was friendly and helpful throughout despite the raucous nature of our group. All in all the kind of place that is well worth another visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spike1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe del Pintor also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Cafe del Pintor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing