We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homelike with great views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valparaiso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Terra Alegre
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Homelike with great views”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were lucky to find this hostel (actually Alexandra found us!) in the high part of Valparaiso city with great views over the town. Despite the hostels high location, there are plenty of local buses passing by.
We enjoyed our time in a cozy atmosphere and Alexandra, the cheerfull owner, baked a cake every morning and squized us a fresh juice :)
This is definately the place to stay in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I actually switched hostals after seeing Hostal Terra Alegre and how warm and cozy the atmosphere was. Alex was the perfect hostess. She helped me practice my Spanish, cooked beautiful, full breakfasts (avocado included!), and was extremely helpful in helping me find a place to stay at my next destination (Maitencillo) where hostal accommodation is non-existent. The hostal could have easily been a deal on airbnb. The decor including a very inviting living room makes it an easy place to lounge around too. After traveling for months on end, this truly felt like staying at a friend's home vs. the sterility sometimes found in other hostal environments. Very clean, nice high ceilings typical of Valparaiso, good location and friendly, knowledgeable hostess!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Do not be fooled by the exterior of this hostel, the interior more than makes up for it. Alexandra, the owner, has done an excellent job of decorating the place. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well. We spent two nights there at the end of our trip and we were grateful for the attention and care that Alexandra gave us. She went out of her way to describe must-visit sites and restaurants. We're sad we missed New years because the view from the living room would have been spectacular. You can see most of Valparaiso. Getting around from her hostel was convenient by foot and by bus. We had a wonderful time staying at Terra Alegre and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozambique Island, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in the hostal Terra Alegre for three nights shortly after it had opened. Alexandra, the owner of the hostel is very forthcoming and friendly and prepared to fulfil any wishes expressed by her guests. The stay included a delicious breakfast. In addition there was Wifi in each of the spacious rooms and the bathrooms were always clean. We would definitely recommend Hostal Terra Alegre for backpackers as well as families of people of all ages.

Leslie and Sophia
-Austria and Germany

Room Tip: All rooms are very agreeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal La Colombina de Valparaiso
0.6 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#15 of 34 in Valparaiso
1,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecomusic Hotel
Ecomusic Hotel
#22 of 34 in Valparaiso
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#2 of 183 in Valparaiso
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Acuarela
Hostal Acuarela
#16 of 183 in Valparaiso
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Terra Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Terra Alegre

Property: Hostal Terra Alegre
Address: Avenida Alemania 4765 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2380112, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 183 Speciality Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home in the safe and beautiful Cerro Alegre, close to restaurants and shops. The room are spacious, clean and comfortable. The view from the living room looks out at the city of Valparaiso. A friendly hostal with accents of Valparaiso culture and a helpful multilingual host. Breakfast includes real coffee, freshly squeezed juice, local jams and bread. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing