We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unprofessional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 98 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I had booked a Polanco room in Garivalpo on June 23rd for one day. I had planned to be there on August 24th afternoon. I had sent many e-mails requesting details of my reservation and to confirm my trip to Valparaiso city. All my requests were answered on that ocassion and I was very confident that everything was fine. However, on August 23rd I sent an e-mail informing that I would arrive on the next day, but I didn't have any reply about that. When I arrived on Valparaiso, Garivalpo was closed and there was nobody to give us any information. My wife and I had to find any place around to stay in Valaparaiso, paying a high value for the room.
I don't know what's happened, but it is an unprofessional behaviour of the Garivalpo with guest. They should send an email cancelling my booking at least and they should give some reasons for that.
I don't recomend this place to stay in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    17
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
41
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
371 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Greeted by the owner and her friendly and positve attitude was my first indication that this would be a very positve stay. The Bed and Breakfast is located not to far from the central business area, about a 15 minute walk, and about a 25 minute walk to the seaside and port area. My accommodation was in a very small bedroom, enough for a double bed wardrobe, and a small TV, it also included a bathroom. The floors are hardwood and are kept in beautiful condition even though they are very very old.The funishings in the dinning room and living area are of a by gone era, with real wooden chairs at the dinning table, real wood, something you don't see very often these days. A beautiful old wooden glass cabinet sits in the reception area with many items of interest including some souveners. At night it is pretty quiet and one can get a good nights sleep. Be prepared however to do this without heat. Breakfast in the morning was great. Fruit, juice, rolls, cheese, ham, salami, coffee, enough food to certainly fill you up for the start of the morning. Maps are available and so is free wifi. The personel and warm welcome makes one feel right at home.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Two things stand out in this B&B - really good decor of the common area, dining room and of the large family room downstairs; the other being exceptionally friendly and helpful owner.

It is not in a typical tourist area (ie Cerro Concepcion/ Alegre), but it is only ten minutes to the bus station and same distance to Valparaiso metro stop (Francia), which takes you in ten minutes to Vina del Mar. Walk to the Puerto area takes roughly 25 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Komarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

From the moment we went in Garivalpo, Ube (its owner) made it feel like we were entering a home. The house is nicely decorated with a mix of old and new with many personal items, everything with style and well kept. Was exactly what we saw in the pictures. Breakfast was lovely (fresh tasty fruits, bread, cheese, coffee, etc). Located on a quiet street, It's near to the center.
We really enjoyed our stay, we would even say was better than most hotels we have stayed in and definitely would recommend it to others. Good value!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enj0ytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Garivalpo and its owner, Uvelinda, were a warm and welcoming oasis in the city. Up in the hills in a comparatively nice part of town, it was still within walk of public transit, restaurants and the old city (about 25 minutes). It is a well-run operation and is good value. Uve even made us feel extra welcome (as it was Christmas) by inviting us to share Christmas with her family and getting us gifts. It was extremely kind and we were grateful for the personal touch!

Our room was large, clean, and comfortable, with one of the most comfortable beds I’ve slept in. The B&B would also be good for anyone wanting to make their own meals, as there is a kitchen. The breakfasts were very good – coffee, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses and Chilean bread (which is fantastic) with jams.

I can’t say we enjoyed the city itself, as it was incredibly dirty, loud, and generally unpleasant, but this B&B was a high point of our stay there. Keep in mind that (like all Valparaiso) it is located on a steep hill so anyone with mobility problems may struggle!
Also note that while some staff members speak English, many don’t speak any at all. You may struggle here if you do not know any Spanish.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prodigalfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed in Garivalpo for two nights in September 2010. The place is amazing!
The owner of the bed and breakfast is the most valuable asset - she and the whole of her family would go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. In addition, they are always keen to assist you with tips about places to visit in Valparaiso as well as retaurants, pubs, etc., so do not hesitate to ask. If you are interested, staying in Garivalpo provides an opportunity to understand the Chilean culture and way of life better - it is a pleasure to speak to the owner and other members of her family who always seem to be there for you, whatever the question may be.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable - we stayed in the larger room with an amazing view on the city. The other rooms, although slightly smaller, seemed to be of the same high standard. The breakfast was very good and filled us up until dinner.
Garivalpo is located on a hill overlooking Valparaiso. The trolley-bus stop is located just five minutes walk away, and it takes just ten minutes on the trolley-bus to get to the main attactions of Valparaiso. You cannot get lost when taking the trolley-bus. And, although they look a bit old, taking a trolley-bus in Valparaiso is a very enjoyable experience in itself.
The bed and breakfast is also offering spa services. If you are interested, make sure that you use this opportunity as the prices are considerably lower than what you would normally expect. The family providing the services would come to Garivalpo at suitable times for guests (even late in the evening).
Staying at Garivalpo is more than just staying at a hotel or bed and breakfast - it is an excellent experience!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bancroft, Ont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

We arrived from a cruise ship and the 4 who were staying checked in before touring the city. Uve the owner and hostess let the others store the luggage. She is very warm and charming. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, and with a private bath. Beds had beautiful linens, and hand towels were also monogrammed. We had a great breakfast each morning and the coffee was fantastic. Open access to WiFi. Uve called a very friendly and knowledgable drivere both nights for us. We spent both days touring with Michael and felt very safe with him and on our own in the neighbourhood. I would stay again if I were to return to the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gubbyBancroft_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 98 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hostal Cerro Alegre
Hostal Cerro Alegre
#15 of 98 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 98 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 98 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast
Address: Garibaldi 191 | Cerro la Cruz, Valparaiso, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging in House of Chilean Family Location in Garibaldi street Nº191 of the Hill "the Cross" of the city of Valparaiso, Chile.House, built in the century XIX with its own architectonic characteristics of the port of Valparaiso, is only three minutes away from the centre of Valparaiso.. Furthermore the museum house "La Sebastiana" (former house of Pablo Neruda), the "Mole Baron" where the big cruises lie at anchor, the elevators "Monjas" and "Polanco", and the National Congress are only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing