We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 95 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Was a wonderful place to stay. A very gracious hostess and lovely rooms.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    17
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
41
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Garivalpo was a great b&b, the owner Uberlinda and her friend Anita were fantastic. The b&b was in the center of valparaiso, although not in the prime tourist area of cerro concepcion,
it was just a 15 minute walk to just about anywhere. The neighborhood in which the b&b was located was a real barrio and interesting to be in. As for the b&b it was great, but try to get a room with a view, all the rooms are clean and comfortable but a view makes it that much better. By the way the breakfast was incredible. All the food who could possibly eat. Garivalpo is a true family
experience, a great find for my first days in chile and valpariso. Ray from new york city

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Fl
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My Mom, 2 sisters and I stayed at the Garivalpo for three nights. We were a bit dubious when we arrived as the B and B is on a very steep hill in a non-tourist section of Valpo. My Mom is elderly and has a difficult time walking. We were greeted by Uve, the owner. She is wonderful. Spanish is her primary language and English is our but she was able to figure out what we needed. Her assistant, Anita speaks English fairly well. Her husband, Ramon (very sweet) will take you around in his private car for a fee.
The place was very clean and the beds comfortable. Some rooms share a bathroom with other guests. There did not appear to be an AC but in mid March the weather did not require it. Hotter months may be an issue. My mom and sister stayed in the front room on the street side. Nice room but the barking dogs (a problem all over the city) woke them early in the morning. Recommend a back room with a nice view.
They had great free wi-fi and one land liine computer that could be used as well.
It's a 15 minute walk to a shopping area and restaurants. We required a taxi because of my Mom. If you're not a walker this is not the place for you unlcess you take a taxi.
Breakfast consisted of a European spread of cold cuts, bed, cheese and fruits. All served very nicely. Tang substituted for orange juice.
If you are renting a car there is NO place to park. Uve mentioned a parking garage but I don't know the location. Streets are winding and very narrow.
The place was very safe and overly hospitable. Uve went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. We meet some great traveller's there and had a party one night. Everyone was so friendly! Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pho2Freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, ON Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2009

My husband and I started our trip here, and we liked it so much we returned to finish off our month of travels, and spent our last three days here. Ube, the owner is awesome. Very warm and friendly. Breakfast each morning was excellent, and she allows her guests to use the kitchen to cook meals.
The B&B is downtown so you do hear some traffic noise and barking dogs. However this seems to be a problem no matter where you stay in Valparaiso.
We truly felt comfortable here, very much at home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatewaydesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALGARY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2009

My wife and I (both in our late 50´s) stayed in this lovely bed & breakfast for 10 days. The owner and host, Uberlinda Valencia, was unfailingly kind and helpful for our entire stay. She keeps the B & B spotlessly clean. Two rooms at the back of the house have a nice view of the bay and a cerro opposite. Breakfast of sliced fruit, buns, meat, cheese and real coffee was always fresh. As most sights are within easy walking distance of her home, part way up a hill (but only a dozen blocks from the bus station), her location just about perfect. Make sure to take a walking tour with "The German Pirate", without doubt the most interesting & uncommercial tour we´ve ever experienced.

  • Liked — Clean and well run
  • Disliked — hot water showers a bit of a gamble
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katie_MCalgaryAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We stayed here for three nights. Our hostess was very friendly and welcoming and provided us with a yummy breakfast each morning (fresh fruit, breads, cheese/meats and REAL coffee). Our room was very clean and the linens were soft and the bed comfy. Bathroom was spotless. Valparaiso is a kind of hectic and eccelectic town, so it is nice to come back to a calm, clean and cozy space. Garivalpo provided just that. Easy trolley bus ride to get to the main part of town and about 10 blocks from the central bus terminal. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — great breafkast and spotless rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CailTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My name is Cecilia and I stayed with my family at Garivalpo B&B for 4 unforgettable nights. I felt like at home...no, even better than at home. With comfortable rooms, a delicious breakfast, and a great hostess in a warm place.
Mrs. Ube and and her family were of great help when giving us information to visit the best tourists' places in the port of Valparaiso.
If I went back to that city, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was really nice
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chechib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand House
Grand House
#28 of 95 in Valparaiso
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
B&B Carino Porteno
B&B Carino Porteno
#15 of 95 in Valparaiso
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 95 in Valparaiso
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
Camila 109 Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 95 in Valparaiso
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast
Address: Garibaldi 191 | Cerro la Cruz, Valparaiso, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging in House of Chilean Family Location in Garibaldi street Nº191 of the Hill "the Cross" of the city of Valparaiso, Chile.House, built in the century XIX with its own architectonic characteristics of the port of Valparaiso, is only three minutes away from the centre of Valparaiso.. Furthermore the museum house "La Sebastiana" (former house of Pablo Neruda), the "Mole Baron" where the big cruises lie at anchor, the elevators "Monjas" and "Polanco", and the National Congress are only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garivalpo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing