We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Bit of Paradise Near the Heart of Valparaiso, Chile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Paradise Near the Heart of Valparaiso, Chile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed five nights and the people at the desk helped us to plan exclusions, explained the transportation systems, and directed us to excellent restaurants, museums, and even the closest (excellent Lavanderia Jerusalem) laundry service. Breakfast was included, served (not a buffet), and facilities, while old, were excellent. The only caveat is the hotel, like most in the city, is located on a,steep hill up from the flat of the port area.

Room Tip: There are only eight rooms. Ours, on the top floor #8 has a balcony and a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    40
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
81
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We spent 3 nights in this historic hotel after a cruise. We had a room at the top of the house with a nice terrace and a great view of the harbor. Our taxi driver had no problem finding the hotel, which was hard to believe since it looks like a neighborhood home! The hotel is well located, within walking distance to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura_T_499092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Danmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at this nice hotel for 6 days. Very pleasant and lovely location in Cerro Alegre. Decoration and furniture in hotel and in room was so nice and beatifull that we felt like beeing in a private house. The owner was always very helpfull and gave us lot off advice for our trips around in the city and the region. Would give 6 "stars" if not the internet was so bad. It only worked 1 day out of 6, which for me was very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The home is located in Cerro Allegre, just around the corner from everything. The room and bathroom were decorated in tasteful boutique vintage style. We were always comfortable and felt right at home. In the morning, we were served a lovely breakfast on the front terrace. The sun was shining, fruit trees surrounding us, and we felt we could have stayed there the whole day.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomi_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We took a while to find the place given the one way systems, narrow streets and us not being familiar with the city, but once we got there we had a warm and friendly welcome, a really nice room with a discount (not for paying cash) and Hector was so friendly and helpful - not at all as decscried in the review elsewhere. The hotel is in the heart of the quaint bit of Valpropaiso - lots of excellent reatauraunts (e.g. Cafe Turri with delicious seafood black squid ink lasagna) and cafes in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJN970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

When we were planning our trip to Valparaiso, my Dad made a special request to stay in one of the old Victorian mansions that line the hillsides of the port-side city. Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales is barely distinguishable among the other houses in the neighborhood of Cerro Alegre (literally, "Happy Hill"). A boutique hotel with only about 10 rooms, it is actually an old restored mansion transformed into a guest house. As we arrived, the hotel staff quickly buzzed us into the gate from the sidewalk, where we were immediately impressed with the magnificient facade and beautifuly maintained garden terrace, but daunted by the ~20 stairs we were faced with climbing to arrive at the front door. This really is a magical place to stay - not unsimilar to the house portrayed in Isabel Allende's most famous book, The House of Spirits.

The lavishly decorated foyer was even more impressive than the facade- decked out in period furniture appropriate to the age of the house (likely early 1900's since the earthquake of 1906 destroyed most of the buildings in town). And even though we had arrived before check-in, we were pleasantly surpised to learn that our rooms were indeed ready and so we were able to settle into our rooms before setting out to find lunch. Breakfast is served in one of the elegant vaulted rooms downstairs, and included fresh orange juice, fruit, pastries, jam, cheese and of course cafe con leche.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DulceAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

In spite of a one night stay only, as my purpose was to see the pitturesque scenery of Valparaiso port and the charming hills and antique little cable cars, the Thomas Somerscale Boutique Hotel will most definetely remain as one of the most comfortable and unforgetable hotels I've ever been to.
It's location at Cerro Alegre makes most the sightseeing places available within walking distance or just a short bus drive away. The rooms are very large, comfortable, lot's of light, the top rooms have a beautiful view of the bay and the stylish furnishing with excelent choice of antiques and small details makes it into a cosy luxurious abode one never forgets.
It is perhaps expensive for a long stay, but I assure it is "THE PLACE" to stay in Valparaiso if you're going there for 1-2 nights.
Hats off to the owners, Christina and Max, they are a loving, caring and most professional couple.

Room Tip: Ask for the top rooms as not all the rooms have a full view of the Valparaiso Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migratorypalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#8 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
#9 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales

Property: Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
Address: San Enrique 446 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370832, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Valparaiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerscales Boutique Hotel, was once the home of nineteenth century English painter Thomas Somerscales and his family, who in 1874 built his house in the heart of Cerro Alegre, which dwell in their lives in Valparaiso and would house much of its inspiration . In the present and after 140 years, the former home of the family becomes Somerscales an innovative tourist accommodation, located in an area declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and their architecture, subject and environment they keep this concept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thomas Somerscales Valparaiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing