We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morgan Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 97 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The building is spacious and elegant. The lady was very welcoming and friendly and the room was large and clean and the bathroom actually had plugs in the bath and basin, not something we found often in Chile. However, no TV in the room and no tea or coffee on offer, which we did usually find, made this poor value at 50,000 pesos. Valparaiso, however, we found a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

The B&B is located on a nice spot in Valparaiso's "cerros". Lots of atmosphere around with nicely decorated pubs, good restaurants and interesting design shops.
The house is nicely arranged, with antique furniture and wonderful wooden floors. The landlady and her daughter are helpful and knowledgeable; they were ready to give reliable information about safe ways to move around town.
Very clean and good quality linen and furniture. Breakfasts are hearthy and with homemade jam. I will recommend it to my girl friends

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pazjimeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

It´s a really nice place, really clean... The hand made breakfast was jummy and the people there were helpful.

Thank you very much for the really great experience there!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacarenaOteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Visité Valparaiso con un grupo de amigas Santiaguinas el mes pasado, el Hostal Morgan, una casona del siglo pasado, nos recibió con una sensación de hogar maravilloso.
Recorrí las callecitas de Valparaíso y el puerto, lugar de ensueño. Por la noche, después de cenar fuera, volvimos al Hostal, estaba temperado y disfrutamos de su maravillosa hospitalidad. Desayuno delicioso, casero !!!!

Room Tip: Excelente calidad e infraestructura de Hostal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianitaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The house is located on a beautiful spot in Cerro Alegre, Valparaíso. The good quality and excellent condition of the linen, the antique furniture and the good taste of the rooms' decor, are appealing. It was a bonus being able to listen to the owner and her daughter sing and play guitar!
The owners were able to provide me with reliable information and willing to help me enjoy the best of Valparaiso and Viña del Mar safely. I strongly recommend the Morgan B&B, particularly for women travelling alone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorenna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our vacation and loved it. Maria, our manager, was very accomodating and helpful. She helped us with parking, finding restaurants, and navigating the windy streets of Valparaiso. She even consoled and empathized with us when we returned from our evening out and informed her that our camera had been stolen.

The rooms were clean and roomy (for Valparaiso), and we had a great view of the city. Breakfast was served promptly each morning when we were ready, and the hotel is located in Cerro Alegre, which is the trendiest part of Valpo.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluestreak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This hostel is an absolute gem. It is run by the loveliest lady, Maria, who could not be more welcoming or more helpful. She bows to your every whim! The Hostal is charming, all the rooms have lovely wooden floors, high ceilings and are really comfortable and clean. There are only 5 rooms so it is a very personal service. Breakfast is freshly made for you every morning. It is perfectly placed for lots of lovely small intimate restaurants and the Ascensor Concepcion down to the main part of the town. It has free WIFI. Just a slight warning - it is situated on a bit of a hill so may be unsuitable for disabled visitors or those who are infirm.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dramatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 97 in Valparaiso
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 97 in Valparaiso
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#8 of 97 in Valparaiso
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puerto Natura
Puerto Natura
#15 of 97 in Valparaiso
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cerro Alegre Capilla 784, Valparaiso 2380054, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range: £15 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan Bed & Breakfast is located in Cerro Alegre, center of the gastronomic, cultural and bohemian neighborhood of Valparaiso. It offers you a warm welcome in a beautiful house built at the beginning of the XXth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Morgan Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing