We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful ambient hotel”
Review of Zerohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zerohotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A beautiful ambient hotel”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This hotel reminded me of an oasis. After an action packed 2 week trip through Chile, we decided to add on a stay at this delightful hotel. The welcome we got was first class with 'Anna' giving us a tour and explaining everything with such pride. The room was perect with two large windows which gave us a marvellous view of the bay. The staff were genuine and so very helpful wanting us tio get the best out of our stay. Two fantastic restaurants were booked by the hotel which ensured us a table as this was a holiday weekend. Everything was of such high quality including the first class breakfast. The outside terrace and gardens were delightful. Thank you to the staff for a truly wonderful stay.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth having a room which looks over the bay. Fantastic to wake up to that view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    42
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
169
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed just one night on a lightning overnight trip to Valparaiso, with friends (they chose and we didn't pay, so I don't know the cost: if it's really £148 a night, as one bit of T.A. info. suggests, that's pretty steep, even by Chilean standards, which are on the high side. I would not pay over £100). That said, it's a very nice hotel, with sea-views, a quaint/historical character, old-style (but functional) rooms, and very friendly and obliging staff. Good breakfast, and a pleasant small lounge/bar where drinks can be purchased (on a honour system).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is a great hotel. It was my first time to Valparaiso and the staff was incredibly accommodating. The house is over a hundred years old but the amenities are all new and first class. The bathrooms are amazing and huge. The floors do squeak occasionally when you walk but it doesn't ruin your experience. The location is on what everyone calls "the hill" and the area is filled with small restaurants and art shops. It is a very safe area and far away from the traffic, congestion, commercial areas, and "ugly" places. It is a very good place if you are traveling with a companion as it is quiet and has many different lounge areas. There are only a few rooms so request #3 to get the large room with the bay windows that open up to the harbor. It is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philedw1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

While I only had time to spend 1 night in Valparaiso during a recent trip to Chile, Zero Hotel made this fantastic destination even more special! My room felt like a paradise away from home! A beautiful view, high ceilings, an extravagant bathroom, GREAT best-sleep-of-my-trip bed, and yes, I did take the option to eat breakfast in my super luxurious bed! Im definitely a vintage girl, and this hotel had the best of old-world and culture mixed with modern-renovated without taking away from the historical aspects of the building and surrounding city. It also has a pool and gorgeous deck with a truly spectacular view. The location was perfect, and close to everything I wanted to see and eat. And as hard as it is to pick a 'best part' of my hotel experience, the staff definitely win! They were so helpful to me (being a first time visitor and knowing nothing about the city) and so genuinely kind, I can't thank all the staff enough for making my stay that much more special! I would definitely return to Zero Hotel and highly recommend the hotel and the city!

Room Tip: Room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had 3 great nights at the Zerohotel with four other friends in March 2012 and we all loved it! The rooms were so stylish and beautifully decorated, as was the bathroom. All the amenities were first class - big fluffy towels, comfy bed & pillows and great views. Terrific breakfast room, with a lovely view over theharbour. Staff were very helpful and the honour system of drinks seemed to work very well. Great location, just a short walk to the most beautiful area of Valpairaiso. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTIAGO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Personally, if I do not want full hotel facilities, why go to a hotel and pay for services you don´t need. When is Valpariso you don´t need anything more that a stay at this wonderful B&B. (Hope I won´t offend the owners!). Good location on the "hip" hill. You can walk everywhere. A perfect nights sleep as it is so quiet.

In all honesty it is like staying "at home." Very comfortable and good sized rooms with spacious bathrooms. Limited public space but a very cosy conservatory,with great views. Very nice outdoor terrace with loungers and a plunge pool.

The staff are great and so so welcoming. Very clean ......perfect

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view. I stay in the room featured in the brochure at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOWITHTHEFLOW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at Zerohetel in late April 2012. The rooms in this 1890's building have huge windows overlooking the city and are have beautiful modern furnishings and baths. There are two levels of courtyards, a very nice morning breakfast area overlooking the harbor, and a convenient honor bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful and all speak fluent English. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
#9 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#7 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zerohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zerohotel

Property: Zerohotel
Address: Lautaro Rosas 343 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370719, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Valparaiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zerohotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaze yourself with the enchanting magic of Valparaiso, UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enjoy the warmth of the service in our Boutique Hotel with the best views over the Pacific Ocean and the Andes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zerohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zerohotel Hotel Valparaiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing