We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Lovely hotel, a little small, but the views couldn't be beat and the location is quite picturesque. I stayed on the top floor so nothing got too loud. The bed/closet space were totally fine and the bathroom was immaculate - looked like it had been recently redone. While the top floor was preferable, be careful of the staircase as it's REALLY narrow (I had to go down it sideways and was extra careful in heels!) But the very helpful staff will assist you with luggage, etc, so it all works out.

Location-wise, the Gervasoni is on one of the most picturesque overlooks in all of Valparaiso so there are always a lot of tourists during the day. They dissipate at night so it's not too loud. But it's in a very cute and very safe area - always felt comfortable venturing out alone at night as long as I stayed within a few blocks of the hotel. Other areas didn't feel as hospitable in the evening!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicabesack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

The rooms are fairly basic but sufficient for a city break. Lunch is served on the terrace overlooking the city and has a great selection of local cuisine. Make site you try the wild bore or the crevice. The restaurant also has an extensive, award winning, wine list.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennH266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is a fabulous old house with beautiful view of the water. It was difficult to find but after we did, we certainly enjoyed our two nights there. The breakfast buffet was fine, and we enjoyed a few neighborhood restaurants. It was a very enjoyable place to walk around and enjoy the sights. The girl at the front desk was very helpful in booking wine tours after our departure. It was a treat and definitely a departure from the American chain hotels. We awoke each morning to the sound of seagulls and boats in the harbor. Delightful experience! Do call for directions if you are driving!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3. It was small but had a view of the ya on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJM10S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Though the hotel is certainly old, I think Grand is too much praise and we'd give it about 2 stars based on our stay. The room we had was a little too original, with an old sagging bed and the bathroom on a lower floor. The room was across from the Kitchen and opened onto the main hallway so rather noisy, apart from the creaking floors above. The room safe was broken, hot water takes literally five minutes to get there, the shower is so short I couldn't stand straight. Iper their instructions I left our used towels on the floor to get them changed, but they just hung them back on the wall! the breakfast is free and it shows, not much choice here. Next time we'll stay at the new Ibis hotel, about a quarter of the price and though not in this prime location of the Gervasoni, a much better deal.

Room Tip: Go to a newer hotel unless you love character more than a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avcapobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Loved the port, the breeze off the bay, the big ships, the neighborhood. Very romantic. Though it is beautiful (& better wifi connection) staying on the bottom floor, (Room 4) be aware that if you enjoy leaving open the window & shades & tall french doors onto to the lovely small balcony open in summer, the tourists snapping photos of themselves along the passage can see you in the room. Loved it there though.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel is not recommended. The hotel is a fire trap with no escape routes from the first floor. Not suitable for disabled and families with children. Boring breakfast buffet. Lot of noise day and night. Untrustworthy and untruthful hotel manager, when he makes a mistake with our booking.
Only 1 or 2 stars for this bad hotel.
Mette + Kim/ Denmark

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gervasoni D, Director General at Grand Hotel Gervasoni, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013
Google Translation

Opinión mal intencionada y no ajustada a la realidad. Este señor se enfado por ser enviado por una noche a un hotel similar y distante solo 100 metros del nuestro por overbooking. Oportunidad en que le tuvimos que pagar a es hotel un valor superior a la tarifa cargada por su alojamiento ese día. Al otro día se alojo una noche con nosotros. Este inescrupuloso señor quiso aprovecharse de esta situación solicitándonos se le hiciera devolución del dinero cargado por esa noche, o sea, haberse alojado y tomado desayuno buffet gratis. En ningún hotel del mundo se le accede a lo solicitado por no corresponder. Por ello inventa una declaración negativa y absolutamente falsa de su estadía en nuestro hotel y que deseamos desvirtuar. Para que Uds. y cualquier cliente pueda corroborar esta situación basta que nos solicite los mails enviados por el solicitando la restitución de la estadía de una noche en ese hotel. paulobriceno@hotelgervasoni.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is definitely full of personality. It is gorgeous and sits up in the hills so it has a great view from the patio. The rooms are very cute, though a bit small. It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room for cold drinks. Service was very friendly. We ate there once for lunch and once for dinner - both times the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#19 of 35 in Valparaiso
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Sutherland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
#15 of 35 in Valparaiso
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gervasoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gervasoni

Address: Paseo Gervasoni no. 1 | Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso 2370623, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range: £77 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gervasoni 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is the fruit of lengthy restoration work to recover one of the homes of greatest cultural value in the hills of Valparaiso, measuring more than 11,000 square feet. This house was built by European immigrants circa 1870. The imposing building, now transformed into a boutique hotel, uniquely portrays, through its welcoming setting, the lifestyles of the generations of families that lived on the hill. The house’s architecture takes you back in time to the mode of life at the end of the 19th century. Luxury refurbishings concordant to the comforts of a five-star hotel interweave discreetly throughout the patrimonial air in the house, creating just the right cross between tradition and modernness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Gervasoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Valparaiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing