We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hearty, Chilean food!”
Review of Cafe Vinilo

Cafe Vinilo
Ranked #26 of 428 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hearty, Chilean food!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We had one of our loveliest meals at Cafe Vinilo, and would highly recommend it to people wanting to experience some hearty, Chilean food. We've never had such an inventive experience with potatoes-adding orange and mint, even blood pudding for completely inspired flavours! Would highly recommend Cafe Vinilo for its food, as well as a lovely, friendly atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlyfromNorthcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    221
    71
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chilean at it's best!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Our local friend recommended Vinilo for Chilean food and we were so pleased he did! We over ordered - the small plate tapas and entradas are really quite large. The Ensalada chilina, loaded with fresh red tomatoes was enough for 3-4 to share. Also ordered the Nam (outstanding and rich), palta reina con camarones, and ostiones a la parmsana. All were perfectly seasoned and delicious! The service, too, was outstanding with helpful English translation and visits from chef Gonzalo, who indicated he is a trained cook but really learned from his grandmother. Pay this charming local eatery a visit - it's well worth it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathsch120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“off-night, but could be good!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Although the food was very good here, the service was a little strange. The main waiter was kind of a know-it-all, and answered me in English even when I spoke some Spanish, and then just seemed super rushed. Another waiter, not the main one, tried to help out, but he had his own tables to deal with...Then I asked for another glass of wine that never came, so I decided I didn't really want it, but then when the bill came, the glass of wine was on it! I think that the place has potential and is worth checking out, but it just didn't work for us that night. We probably should have sat at the bar as it looked like random people sat across from one another and ended up partying together! (They got their wine) :-)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shallot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good restaurant which serves Chilean food, Staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful, and took the time to explain the menu and also to go through the excellent wine list and make recommendations (which we couldn't fault). They also were happy to keep talking to us about food, Chile, Valparaiso, England - anything! The food was delicious and service great. Great relaxed atmosphere helped by the music - on vinyl LPs, hence the name!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The is where the locals eat!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This little family run café serves very good local fish and meat dishes and is very good value. Our hotel recommended it. Must book though especially on the weekends.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Vinilo also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Cafe Vinilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing