We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, grubby rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Ranked #47 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Colorado
Level Contributor
260 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Poor service, grubby rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We booked this hostal based on very good reviews and could not have been more wrong.

The good:
-the breakfast, although they advertise to serve it from 8am till 10am, they are never ready and start serving at 8:30.
The breakfast is quite filling, fruit, eggs, bread, jam, coffee, tea, juice.

But if you can not make it in this time frame, do not expect you can get anything. Our plane was very early and we asked the old woman if we can have hard boiled eggs in the evening before so that we can eat it at the airport, since we will miss the breakfast, I was given a lecture how she will not do anything just because her guest has to leave early, that's what I call "service".

- the luggage storage if you need to leave a bag behind while you travel let's say to Galapagos

- help with taxi- they have some taxi drivers who charge reasonable rates and if you need to be picked up early in the morning, the owners will arrange a reliable transport

The negative:
-the rooms are grubby, uninviting, bed covers were stained, the shower was in such state that we actually skipped it.
We stayed at two different rooms between the trips, one of them was on the back yard, pleasantly away from the noise of the main building (room 11).
The second one was, unfortunately on the ground floor of the hostal, not only we heard every word spoken in the area, but our door knob did not work, so either we had to leave the doors opened or had to lock it every single time one of us went out to organize something.

- access- this is annoying arrangement as every time you are returning to the hostal, you have to ring a bell for them to open the main gate. The bell is very loud, so that they can hear it, but it means if someone is out till 2am, they still ring this piercing bell and wake up not only the owners but the travelers, too.

- main gate - they do not allow visitors in the hostal at all, hence the gate access, however during the day you can bypass this "security" by using the wide opened gate of the hairdresser next door, who shares the same yard as the hostal.

- the location, it would be good, not too far from the main area, on quieter street, but it is right next to the school, so at 7 am we were woken up by the kids screaming

very negative:
- the service. Luz, the old woman seems to pick and choose her favorites and since our Spanish was not so fluent, we were out of luck. Her daughter promised me to make a call to the local airlines to confirm our reservation, when I could not find her, I asked Luz to help. Her reply was that this is not something they do, if I want to make the call, I need to go to the phone booth.

Wy to stay in hostal where both the rooms and the service are inferior.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    21
    18
    8
    15
See reviews for
5
24
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very nice hostel! Good value for money. Good beds. tasty big breakfast included. And very friendly family! Plaza foch (restaurants, bars etc) around the corner, but the hostel is quit at night. I really would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanne_Amsterdam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is a family run place, conveniently located within a stones throw of La Mariscal. We chose this place due to its close proximity to an abundance of tour agencies so we could compare last minute deals to the Galápagos Islands. The hostel also has a tour agency run by the Son next door (galapagoslastminute.net). The prices quoted by the son for a cruise were good but we found a better deal at ecomontestour.com up the road (ask for Javier if your Spanish is poco). We stayed for 2 nights at this hostel. It is very basic, the rooms are quite bland and generally contain 4 beds, which were comfortable. We were able to get wifi in our room. To my knowledge there are no private showers. The share bathrooms were clean. It can be a little noisy from the street at night, I wore ear plugs. There is an area containing armchairs and a TV upstairs with a vacant kind of atmosphere. Breakfast is a solemn affair. The older man serves it while his ?wife/daughter cooks. It is a strange atmosphere in the dining room, lacking joy or lightheartedness. I don't think he enjoys serving breakfast? We moved to La Casa Sol Bed & Breakfast a couple of streets away until our cruise departed, double the price but a gorgeous place with cosy rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed in this Hostel for 2 nights with limited Spanish. Family owned Hostel, V safe and secure, clean and quiet. Well located with lots of restaurants and bars close by. Breakfast is great. The family are really friendly, super helpful. Great price!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An_Can802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed one night at the hostal, which was included with our last minute cruise that we booked through Galapagos Natural Life. Fabricio at the agency is awesome and he can get incredible deals on last minute bookings. Our "last minute" was really 3 weeks in advance.

The hostal is clean, comfortable with great shower - hot with good pressure.

The hostal host (mother type figure) was very welcoming and she made sure we knew the safe areas before we would venture out at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Very nice place to stay, very clean, staff was very nice, always worried about providing information, and amazing breakfast
Highly recommended if you are visiting Ecuador,
Also there are some tours that can be arranged for the guests

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BACKPACKERYOHOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas City, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

simply beautiful and excellent service, thank you for your kindness and affection in the service. I remember forever. Luz Vivivana Rodrigo Fabricio and Jess thanks for your attention and Unblocking in rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#13 of 254 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#41 of 254 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Color House Petite
Color House Petite
#22 of 254 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Del Piamonte 2
Hostel Del Piamonte 2
#127 of 254 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galapagos Natural Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galapagos Natural Life

Property: Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Address: Pinto E8-64 y 6 de diciembre, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Galapagos Natural Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing