We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Galapagos Natural Life

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Ranked #48 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was my first experience of Ecuador - and well a little scary :)

No english spoken here - except by the daughter. The older couple definitely tried to be nice, but not exactly party people...

You have to be buzzed in and out every time, which I guess is good for security, but to be honest is a bit of a pain. The room was small (very), never cleaned, the hot water capricious, and no real outdoor area to speak of.

However, it was cheap. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    20
    17
    8
    15
See reviews for
4
23
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

No lockers! Comfy beds, not bunk so you wont hit your head. Showers were good aand warm. Wifi is ok, only reaches in the dining room downstairs. Breakfast was great, hostel was clean enough. There was a huge issue with leaving our bags at the hostel and hanging out until 8pm, but eventually the old couple let us do it, behind their daughters back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Serious faces if you check the rooms before booking, after you say yes you get a smile. Breakfast is perfect!! The 'mom' of the house is very kind, but when you meet the daughter, then things are too difficult! Please find a job somewhere else and let your parents run the business!!
Rooms are ok, not very special and the shower gave us cold water.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arozema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed there in July for 5 nights, 4 before my galapagos trip and 1 after. This hostel is very clean and well equiped with cosy beds, wifi, hot showers.
The family that run the place is really nice and is doing everything they could to help you and to make you feel as at home.
The breakfast is really good and served by them, with a special mention to the awesome fruits salad.
Even if it's a cosy, home sweet home, hostel, it's located really near to the party neighbourhood of Quito, wthout beeing noisy, and also really close to public transport making easy and fast to visit the other parts of Quito.

I will definitely recommend spending some time in this hostel.

Anthony

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8_Anthony_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived at 1am and there was surprisingly a half an hour of traffic just in the surrounding 3 blocks due to it being party central for locals and Gringos. The immediate area was not too threatening like people seemed to hint at. The hostel itself is safe and only open by buzzer once they confirm your identity and room number.

The room we had was warm enough although heating or hot water (via the electric shower) would have been nice in 60 degree weather. We were provided with plenty of fresh blankets and were warm all night. Not a huge deal really. For $12, we were happy, especially since we booked our Galapagos sailing trip through Galapagos Natural Life / Fabricio.

Breakfast was great! fruits, juice, fresh French bread and butter, and eggs. The other people staying there were from all over the world. Lots of DVDs are available for the TVs and friendly people to watch with in the hallway upstairs

All in all, I think its a great value with nice local owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asaduddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

this hostel was like home away from home!
lovely staff, no bunk beds, close to loads of bars,restaurants and cafes.
very reasonably priced ($8 per night in a 4 bed dorm)
luz was so lovely to us, when we were sick she made us soup, taught the whole hostel how to make empanadas and organized transport for us!
we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stay there for two weeks ! Sonia luz is an ANGEL!! We love you !!!!!!!! The rooms are well cleaned and have the best breakfest in south america! Good tourist information!
Free wifi , internet , and kitchen.
Lovely family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dvirb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#13 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#40 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Color House Petite
Color House Petite
#19 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Casa Aliso
Casa Aliso
#14 of 226 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
BoutiQuito Design Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galapagos Natural Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galapagos Natural Life

Property: Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Address: Pinto E8-64 y 6 de diciembre, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Galapagos Natural Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing