We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best hostel yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Ranked #46 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Quito
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our best hostel yet!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days.
Very friendly and family feeling! The owner is very nice, and will help you with anything you ask.
The breakfast is very big and good.
Only two problems is that the family speaks only Spanish, so if you don't know Spanish it's a problem.
The other problem is that you can't leave your bags in the hostel after you check out.
But apart from that, very recommended and very good hostel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    22
    18
    8
    15
See reviews for
5
24
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lago agrio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The family were unwelcoming and unhelpful. On the final day of our stay we were not allowed to leave our bags or shower. This is a wannabe guesthouse and unsuitable as a backpackers hostel. Stay in vibes instead!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zoe1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Been travelling for three months now, two in India, and this hostel may possibly be the only place where the owners don't let you leave your bags or shower after you check out. So you're basically screwed for any physical day trip you have planned for your final day in Quito. My room was basically a shed out back that was blighted by freezing night time temperatures and a colossal colony of ants. The Baltic shower and extra two dollars per night for said room didn't really add much either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebreaks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalapagosNaturalLif, Gerente at Hostel Galapagos Natural Life, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Much regret what happened
but I want to mention that our check in time is 12:00, after this time if they wish to continue in their room must pay an extra value.
You can use the bathroons but take a shower!
We store your luggage until 5pm, you came back and wanted to take showers.
we accept store your bags, but it is not permissible to use the showers.
You threatened us with very annoying to write a review on tripadvisor.
I am sorry, but you must review our reservation policies.
your room are priced at $ 15 and you made ​​a $ 3 discount, ants have not, but for $ 12 also offer a deluxe room rates include breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff at this hostel are the rudest I have ever encountered. They seemed to go out of their way to make our lives difficult, and despite having stayed at the hostel for 3 nights, refused to allow us to even use their toilet as soon as we checked out, making our final day in quito extremely difficult! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalapagosNaturalLif, Gerente at Hostel Galapagos Natural Life, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I am much regret what happened
but I want to mention that our check in time is 12:00, after this time if they wish to continue in their room must pay an extra value.
You can use the bathroon, but take a shower, you do think is correct take a shower after your check out without additional payment.
We store your luggage until 5pm, you came back and wanted to take showers.
we accept store your bags, but it is not permissible to use the showers.
to what you threatened us with very annoying to write a review on tripadvisor.
sorry I have not understand our reservation policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is by far the most unfriendly hostel I have been to so far! The location is good but don't be fooled into going here if Vibes or Blue house are full! The owners were unwilling to help us in any way and wouldn't even let us leave our bags for the day without kicking up a fuss. Quito is a great place but avoid this hostel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ellie1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalapagosNaturalLif, Gerente at Hostel Galapagos Natural Life, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I am much regret what happened
but I want to mention that our check in time is 12:00, after this time if they wish to continue in their room must pay an extra value.
you can use the batrhroon, it is possible, but It is not possible take a shower
We store your luggage until 5pm, you came back and wanted to take showers.
we accept store your bags, but it is not permissible to use the showers.
to what you threatened us with very annoying to write a review on tripadvisor.
I am sorry if you don´t review our reservation policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Rude and unfriendly owners. Wouldn't even let us use the bathroom after checking out when we had been staying there for 3 nights. The couple is very strict and mean. It's a shame because it could be a nice place if the owners weren't evil.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonierharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here before going to the Galapagos and for a few nights after. The elderly couple who run it are the loviest people we have met in Ecuador.

The breakfast was good (better than most) and the hostal is clean with hot showers and decent wifi. We found the beds super comfy which is not always the case in S. A.

They will hold your bags for you if need be and help you with taxis etc. They are strict with not letting strangers or friends of people staying there into the house which might annoy some people but given its location (close to plaza foch) i'm happy that they have this policy.

We felt so welcomed here we didn't want to leave. The lovely old lady even gave me a present when we left.

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#42 of 262 in Quito
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Color House Petite
Color House Petite
#23 of 262 in Quito
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alcala
Hostal Alcala
#34 of 233 in Quito
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Lafayette
Hotel Villa Lafayette
#70 of 233 in Quito
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Urban Inn
Urban Inn
#65 of 262 in Quito
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galapagos Natural Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galapagos Natural Life

Property: Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Address: Pinto E8-64 y 6 de diciembre, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Galapagos Natural Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing