We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an ok hotel but............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NU House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed 16 March 2013

its an ok hotel, its decor is modern and interesting. but the service was not very pleasant, the desk staff were busy text on their cell phones than to help the guests. when we spoke to the "manager" which we beleive was not we just got excuses and stories how the service will be improved. it may have happened but not while we were there.
the food at its "q" resturant was not very good, it had bee sitting around and it was mushie. the drinks were bladly made and the bar staff could not get the "frozen" ice in the margarita that we returned 3 times. finally we just had a beer.

Room Tip: good to another hotel aways from the noise, drugs, prostitues and screaming young drunks on fridays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate them. We would like to send our apologies for the major inconvenience that you had. I must say that we´ve been having rotating staff and that was why we´ve experienced some troubles but luckily we overcome them. About the restaurant I must say that we thank your honesty and for sure tit will serve us to improve our service in order to achieve the desired excelence. Regarding what you said at the last part, It was unfortunate that during your stay in Quito these randoms events occured, but luckily the area has been declared a turistic zone which will decrease these problem in the future by increasing police and private security presence in the area.. Like in all touristict destinations of the world, it is always sound advise to be careful in new sorroundings to avoid any incidents. If you ever decide to come vist our amazing city, we would love for you to stay at the NU HOUSE HOTEL again.

We are looking forward to hear soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Excellent place to stay in Quito. You can't ask for a better location in Plaza Foch. The rooms were clean and very cost effective. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant adjacent to hotel is great (you get breakfast coupons each morning). Some front desk staff didn't seem that friendly, but that was a minor concern. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind comments, these ones make us work really hard in order to achieve our desired service. Nu House Boutique Hotel is located in a strategic place where you can find everything nearby. I would like to inform you that the Q Restaurant belongs to the Nu House Boutique Hotel. I would like to send our apologies to you, if you feel something wrong about one of our front desk´s staff, we thank you again that way we can constantly improve our service.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Nu House hotel is very well located, right in Plaza Foch, surrounded by informal restaurants and bars. It is also very close to other restaurant areas such as Isabel la Católica Street, when you can fine much better restaurants.
The first room that they gave me was in the 4th floor, it was extremely small, and with no air conditioning, so it was really, really hot, and by the way, it was January.
I asked for a change of room and they gave me a new room facing the street, which was bigger (however still small) and with a/c, really different from the first one.
Rooms where very clean and with basic stuff, but it was very unconfortable for working, since it has a folding table and a bench with no back support, which is not confortable after sometime.
Internet was included and worked very good everywhere in the hotel. Breakfast was included and was very limited buffet. I asked for an expresso and it was not included.
In general is a decent place and a good value for money if you only want to sleep there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the streer or plaza Foch, those are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. Nu House Boutique Hotel is located in a strategic place where you are near from everything you might look for, such as restaurants, bars and so on. Our rooms are quite comfortable and very well equipped with all componets you might need when you are a traveller either for business or tourism. We are going to take in consideration all suggestions you´ve done, in order to give our guests the best lodgment.experience in our city.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Felt like a small boutique hotel. Location is great - right in the mariscal square.
Rooms were clean and modern. Airport transfers were not free and were actually quite expensive. 12$/person plus a 22% tax. I found this to be a lot considering many hotels provide the service for free. We had arranged for a boxed breakfast due to early departure for a tour. Staff indicated this would be no problem. When we were ready to leave the next morning the kitchen staff had not prepared anything. So we were forced to leave without breakfast. Overall a nice hotel but there certainly is room for improvement

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Diego_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments, that make us work even harder to give the best service to you. We know every day we must improve in order to achieve our desire goal, which is give our guests and excellent service and help you with any requirement you might need, make you feel as you were home. Your feedback really help us that is why we appreciate it. About the transfer let me kind inform you that most of the 5 and 4 start hotels of Quito charge you this cost, in fact we are going to have a new airport which is going to be located in the sourrondings of the city, therefore the price of the transfer will increase due to the distance and this procedure is going to take all hotels in Quito.

About your breakfast issue, we are really sorry about what happened, we had a problem with coordination between the front desk and the kitchen but anyway this is something that we must take in consideration and I assure this kind of troubles won´t happen again, we are really sorry for it and we hope to see you again, and I will assure you won´t regret it.

Looking forward to hear soon from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We arrived in Nu House and stayed for one night during a 24 hour layover in Quito on our way to Santiago. Upon our arrive we were bumped up to a suite! The service was excellent, they arranged our transportation to and from the airport, and the views of the city were fantastic. The neighborhood is a bit loud, but that means plenty of nightlife for those who are interested as well as plenty of police presence in order to keep things safe. I highly recommend Nu House.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are highly honored by your words because that give us the strength to go on with our work. We want to make our guest feel as they were home and that is why we focus on service a lot to give you the best experience ever. Our staff is well trained and they can help you with any requirement you might need. Besides this area is a very startegic place where you can find everything to have fun and of course to rest as well.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

If you are young and love to feel like you are in the middle of Quito's social zone, then this is your hotel. We loved the service from the Front Desk, but we found the room very noisy. I can not remember when I have stayed in a hotel this noisy. (I think the nightstand even supplied ear-plugs.) Outside was the Quito version of Times Square. Very convenient for a quick drink at midnight. The hotel had very nicely designed rooms and from our window we felt like we had THE best view of the local action. Again, staff was absolutely perfect. They helped us with all of our day trips and local advice. We saw alot of Quito and this hotel seemed to be in one of the safest locations of the City. I would stay again in this hotel and would recommend this hotel to a friend under the age of 50 mas or menos.
One more thing: the airport we flew into was about 15 minutes and the new airport they were building in 2012 is going to be about a 90 minute trip!

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room. Our room faced the Plaza Foch and was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ocean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. We are located in a very strategic place where you can find both resting and fun. We would to give our guest the best experience ever that is why our staff is qualified and well trained, do not hesitate to ask for help, they can do it at anytime with any requierement you might need. In fact, it´s very pleasant to realize that you felt it, when you were stayinmg with us. As far as the noise created by such a popular area, we are proud to have installed soundproof windows that reduce outside noise by 97%.

We hope to see you soon.

Thank you for choosing us

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is a very nice bootlick hotel in a very nice and safe(day and night) neighborhood with lot of restaurants bars and good shops around
Nice and specious rooms a very helpful staff
you can go out in the middle of the night and still fill safe

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thnak you so much for your valuables comments, we really appreciate them. We are located in a very startegic place where you can find lots of things to do, after that you can have a beautiful night in our specious room. Besides we have very friendly staff which can help you with your requirements anytime.

We hope to see you again.

Thank you so much for choosing us.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#31 of 112 in Quito
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#10 of 112 in Quito
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#32 of 112 in Quito
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#17 of 112 in Quito
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU House Boutique Hotel

Address: Foch E6-12 y Reina Victoria, Quito 593, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Quito
#22 Business Hotel in Quito
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £55 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU House Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nu house is the only hotel in Quito situated inside the Plaza Foch. Located in the heart of Quito's tourist and entertainment district, La Mariscal. The location is important because Quito's best and most frequented restaurants, bars, lounges and discos are at the footsteps of the Nu House Hotel. Nu House's design, with its beautiful wood facade, stands out as the most chic structure in Quito. Our guests will be immediately transported to pleasantly relaxing rooms that incorporate wood, stone, in an ambiance that is both natural and modern. Nu House boutique hotel prides itself on providing its guests with a unique experience. With its modern design, attentive staff, and incomparable location, Nu House boutique hotel is the perfect destination for both the leisure and business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NU House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing