We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NU House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Toronto
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The Nu House is located in the middle of Quito's disco district...very noisy to all hours of the night.
Rooms are somewhat spartan and maintenance is poor...our toilet didn't work, sink drain was clogged and bathroom light was burned out (latter took 2 days to fix).
One of the worst buffet breakfasts we have ever encountered, and the coffee was really bad, particularly in coffee-famous Ecuador. Our airplane breakfast was even better!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for your comments, it helps us improve the quality of service we can provide in the future. I will personally look into your particulary issues and I will assure you these inconvenients will never happen again.

Looking forward to hear soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    169
    77
    22
    15
See reviews for
59
181
67
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Nu House for a couple of nights in May. Overall, a very good experience.

The rooms themselves are comfortable and clean. Great showers, luxurious bed linen, nice touches all over the place. And the staff were particularly helpful when I ran into a couple of issues unrelated to my stay.

The only two downsides are the noise - it's on a busy nightlife street that goes on into the early hours, so if you're looking for a restful sleep this might not be right for you - and the breakfast, which was poor (homed in the partner bar, it extends to some fruit and hot food, but the coffee wasn't great and not a pastry in sight).

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossFarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your kind comments. The Nü House Boutique Hotel is located in a very strategic place where you can find everything nearby. As the noise caused by a such a popular area, we are proud to have installed sound proof windows which reduce the noise up to 97%. Acoording to your comments regarding the breakfast, we´ll take them into consideration in order to provide well rounded breakfast.

We´ll invite you once again to come and visit us.

Looking forward to hear soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel earlier this year. It's very clean and very nice. I don't speak a lot of Spanish. The staff was great helping me find interesting sites to see. Highly recommend this hotel. Great place to stay. Great prices.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlesdavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. As you mentioned, the Nu House Boutique Hotel is proud about the quality and service we provide to our guest. We focus on service in order to give best experience ever during your stay.

We would like to invite you once again to come and visit us,

Looking forward to hear very soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel is located right at the heart of the entertainment area of Quito, plaza Foch, with lots of restaurants and bars footsteps away. Although the rooms are right at the top of the bars, the windows are sound-proof, so the noise doesn't bother you. The room was large and stylish, and the beds were really comfortable. The AC was a bit loud at first, but we managed to find a good setting. The bathroom was stylish as well with an amazing rain shower.
We got tickets for a welcome drink in any bar at the square, which was a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even sent a bellboy to accompany me to the pharmacy, not only to show where it is but to also translate to make sure I get what I needed.
We had to leave really early for the airport, before breakfast was available, but the staff packed our breakfasts to go, so that we could munch in the taxi during the long ride to the airport.
Overall, we loved our stay at Nu House and wish it was longer...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. The Nu House Boutique Hotel is located in a very strategic place where you can find everything nearby. We have focused on every detail to make your room as good as possible in order to make you feel as you were home. Our staff is very friendly and helpful as you mentioned. We will be more than happy to help you with any requirement you might need.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, they make us feel really special. Besides it is very please to realize that all effort we are making is really worth it.

We are lloking forward to hear very soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I had the opportunity to visit for first time Quito. I got a good suggestion to stay at this Hotel. It couldn't have had a better experience to visit this wonderful city. The the experience received from the Hotel it made it perfect. They have a great Staff, at my arrival at the Front Desk, they were very kind, with two of us, providing excellent information about the hotel as well the surroundings and points of interest of Quito. I strongly will recommend this Hotel, who added such a wonderful charm to our trip.

Room Tip: Make your reservations in advance, their Staff will be kind to recommend the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. It is very pleasant to know that you liked our service. It is very comfortable that all effort we are making has its results. We try to make you feel as you were home because that´s what a boutique hotel is all about.
We will invite you once again to come and visit us.

Looking forward to hear very soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel the last week in March arriving on a Sunday night. We checked in and found the whole process protracted and confusing even though we had an advanced booking. The reception member appeared to be distracted and disinterested. We were allocated a room that overlooked Plaza Foch. A party area with bars lounges and revellers. We could either have the noisy air conditioner running all night or open the window and feel like we were sleeping in the middle of a music festival. Even over the sound of the air conditioning we found the partying to be very audible. As we arrived on a Sunday night we were advised that no liquor at all was served anywhere in Quito due to the Sabbath. We decided to go and get Subway which was quite scary in itself as there were some locals that ran at us ranting and pushing at us.

Breakfast the next morning was served in a restaurant next to the hotel. A help yourself affair with a choice of freshly cooked eggs of your choice.

We stayed another night awaiting our flight to the Amazon jungle and stored our luggage while we were away. We arrived back and had to go through the whole process of checking and retrieving our luggage re submitting our passports and the now usual disinterested service at reception. We waited at the counter for over 10 minutes while the lone receptionist talked about room amenities to a prospective guest. This was very frustrating and disappointing.

The rooms themselves were comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Any room that is not adjacent to Plaza Foch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandshelley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. The Nu House Boutique Hotel is located in a very strategic place where you can find everything nearby. Due to this is such a popular area, we are proud of the soundproof windows system we´ve installed which reduce the noise up to 97%. According to what you´ve said, I´m very surprised about comments you are telling me. However, we´ll take them in consideration because as a boutique hotel we are focus on providing a personalized service in order to make our guests feel as they were home.

We would like to invite once again and I´m sure you won´t regret the Nu House Boutique Hotel experience.

Looking forward to hear very soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of “zona rosa” in Quito, which is Plaza Foch. Is very close to old town Quito and not far away from the nicers malls, such as Quicentro.

The hotel has very nice rooms, we'll served with wifi, cable tv, room service. The bathrooms are clean, we'll illuminated.

A highlight is the rooms are well isolated of the outside noise.

Rooms are small, as well are the beds.

The zone might be dangerous, you must be careful with your belongings and yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOSEEGAS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you comments. The Nu House Boutique Hotel is located at a very popular area where you can find everything near by. Because it´s a very popular touristic destination we advise all our guest to be careful with their surrondings. We are happy that you had a positive experience during your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel is very well equipped in order to give our guest a confortable experience.

Looking forward to hear soon from you.

Best Regads,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 112 in Quito
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#30 of 112 in Quito
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Zen
Best Western Hotel Zen
#24 of 112 in Quito
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#40 of 112 in Quito
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#18 of 112 in Quito
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU House Boutique Hotel

Property: NU House Boutique Hotel
Address: Foch E6-12 y Reina Victoria, Quito 593, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Quito
#22 Business Hotel in Quito
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU House Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nu house is the only hotel in Quito situated inside the Plaza Foch. Located in the heart of Quito's tourist and entertainment district, La Mariscal. The location is important because Quito's best and most frequented restaurants, bars, lounges and discos are at the footsteps of the Nu House Hotel. Nu House's design, with its beautiful wood facade, stands out as the most chic structure in Quito. Our guests will be immediately transported to pleasantly relaxing rooms that incorporate wood, stone, in an ambiance that is both natural and modern. Nu House boutique hotel prides itself on providing its guests with a unique experience. With its modern design, attentive staff, and incomparable location, Nu House boutique hotel is the perfect destination for both the leisure and business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NU House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing