We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fine stay in Quito” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NU House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NU House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshires
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a fine stay in Quito”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the NU House Boutique Hotel bookending a multi-day trip to Galapagos. As many of the other reviewers have said, the hotel is right off of Plaza Foch, in a part of Quito with many restaurants and clubs. The area was largely geared towards tourists (and there were many of them), which isn't always a bad thing and for us this was a nice change of pace from spending time in the old town areas of Quito and Cuenca.

The service at the hotel was attentive and our room was clean and well appointed. They provided two bottles of water and also had coffee and filtered water available for guests, free of charge, in the lobby. The one criticism of the room itself is that the bathroom, which was internal in the building had poor lighting. Otherwise, thm was an affordable, if not unique, room for a large city. For both stays, the room we were in had twin beds. I don't know if they have many rooms with larger beds. So, it wasn't ideal traveling as a couple, but we dealt with it. Otherwise, the room was an affordable, if not unique, room for a large city.

We were there on Thursday and Friday nights and the noise and music coming from the main square was indeed loud. It didn't bother us too much, but I can see where some might not like it. If this is an issue for someone, they should consider requesting a room not facing the plaza.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chas2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Alejandro Bonilla, Gerente de Operaciones at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments. The Nu House Boutique Hotel is located in a very strategic place where you can find everything nearby, either for business or pleasure, we are the best lodgment option. Our main purpose is to provide an excellence service and our staff is well trained to help you in any requirement you might need during your stay, for example if you need a bigger room, depending on how you´ve made your reservation, we can help you by changing you into another room. Our rooms are fully equipped and you will have everything you might need during your stay. We are going to take in consideration all your suggestion to achieve the desired excellence.

On behalf of the Nu House Boutique Hotel staff, we would like to invite you to come and visit us again, it will a pleasure to assist you again.

Best Regards,
NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    165
    76
    21
    15
See reviews for
56
175
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four nights. My room was massive and spotlessly clean - you could have eaten off the floor, and the staff were courteous and helpful. It's in a great location and very safe. Other people had problems with the noise level but my room was facing the piazza with all the restaurants, bars etc and I didn't even notice the noise.

But I did have two problems with this hotel. The first was that my airport transfer, which I had booked one month in advance and reconfirmed two days before my arrival, was not waiting for me and, as I was a female arriving in Quito at 1am this was an enormous problem that caused a high amount of stress. When I rang the hotel to ask where it was the male night receptionist told me to "take a taxi". Not a very intelligent reply and completely lacking empathy for the fact I was ALONE AT 1AM IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY. Obviously this man has never read a newspaper in his life - otherwise he would know what can happen to female tourists who take taxis alone at 1am in foreign cities. Had a I wanted to take a taxi alone at 1am I would have just done so and not even bothered to organise a transfer. The next day the hotel told me they wouldn't charge me for the transfer - thinking this would just erase the stress I had been faced with. It didn't. But at least the lovely female manager I spoke with understood my situation and apologised for her colleague's lack of understanding.

The other problem I had with this hotel was that I was quoted one price for a private guide and upon arrival the guide for that price "wasn't available" - even though I had booked him a month earlier, so I had to use another guide that cost more. On top of this the hotel gave themselves a tip on my final bill without my authorisation to do so. I normally do tip hotels that give great service - but as my budget had already been stretched by the extra money I had to pay the guide I felt that this was a bit rich.

The hotel itself was very nice but I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Alejandro Bonilla, Gerente de Operaciones at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments, we really appreciate them. I was reading your problem I would like to express my apologies for the major inconvenience you had, we are going to analyze your case in order to avoid future inconvenience. Unfortunately, we depend on external transportation companies that provide the transfer service for us, and of course it´s out of our hands and we cannot do anything about it when this company did not accomplish its tasks, but I will defintely complain about it. However I personally talk to the transportation company and they were there, waiting for you but due to a mistyping of the transportation´s staff, you experienced a problem. It´s very important to mention that we do have some special arrangements with secure taxis that work inside the airport that is why the front desk clerk told you to take a cab but maybe it was not the subtle way, we are going to work harder in order to achieve the desire excellence in customer service.

On the other hand, our hotel staff provide you all facilities to make your trip unforgettable, but as we don´t provide tours as ourselves we have to hire third parties to give that service, regrettable it seems to be a misunderstanding on the trip cost. According to your suggestions we are going to take them in consideration.

Despite this issues, on behalf of the Nu House Boutique Hotel Staff, we would like to invite you to come and visit us again, you won´t regret it and we expect to surpass your expectations.

Looking forward to hear soon from you.

Best Regards,
NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I travel to Quito often to a point where I finally decided to rent an apartment. However for the past 6 months I always stayed at the Nu House hotel. I always had a suite on the top flow with a fantastic view of Plaza Foch and a nice terrace.
The suites are very modern and well equipped.
The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel is associated with the Q Bar right around the corner where you get your breakfast and stop on your way home for a beer or cocktail.
The only downside is the noise - but that is expected when you stay in the middle of the nightlife - bring ear plugs :)
Plaza Foch is lively and has many good bars around.

Room Tip: Go for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sguelpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Alejandro Bonilla, Gerente de Operaciones at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and of course for your loyalty with the Nu House Boutique Hotel. Our rooms are very well equipped and they have everything you might need during your stay therefore you´ll have a comfortable stay. Our hotel is well located and you can find everything you´re looking for just a few steps from us, either for business or pleasure we are the lodgment option.

The Nu House Boutique Hotel is very please to inform you that we´ve installed sound proof windows in order to minimize the noise caused by the area, in case you need assistance with this issue, our well trained staff will help you at any time. Our main purpose is make you fell as you were home.

On behalf of the Nu House Boutique Hotel staff, we would like to invite you to come and visit us again.

Looking forward to hear soon from you.

Best Regards,
NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

It is located in Plaza Foch, in the middle of Quito's nightlife. The hotel was clean and the staff very polite. They don't have parking but offer valet service. We had a nice experience.
The view from our room was not nice, we saw the restaurant's kitchen in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Alejandro Bonilla, Gerente de Operaciones at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. As you mentioned, the Nu House Boutique Hotel is located in a very strategic place where you can find everything nearby, either for business or pleasure we are the best lodgment option. We are sorry for your view inconvenience, but our staff is ready to assist and help you in any requirement you might need during your stay.

On behalf of the Nu House Boutique Hotel staff, we would like to invite to come and visit us again.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Right off the main square in the entertainment area. Got a bad room, with no thermostat, they then gave me a better room with one. Friendly staff, great laundry across the street. Bkfast was ok. Wifi in lobby good, in the room was fair. Fiber was being pulled one road away, Hotel should invest.

No gym, drink passes were nice, bathroom a bit small.

Cycling Dutchman great
El Fogon Manabita, great for lunch reach cheap
Santa Roas market

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jasper867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Alejandro Bonilla, Gerente de Operaciones at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments. As you mentioned the Nu House Boutique Hotel is located in a very strategic place where you can find everything nearby, either for business or pleasure we are the best option. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay, however we´ll take in consideration your experience in order to achieve the excellence.

On behalf of the Nu House Boutique Hotel staff, we would like to invite you to come and visit us again, it would be a pleasure to serve you again.

Best Regads,
NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL002E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a really good hotel, we enjoyed the service and the staff very polite and cheerful. The room was also very good and bed was really confotable and clean. Also we enjoyed the breakfast and a welcome drinkfor free!
For sure we recommend this hotel!!! We love this amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Alejandro Bonilla, Gerente de Operaciones at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments. The Nu House Boutique Hotel staff is very please for your amazing experience. Our main purpose is to make you feel as you were home, and of course surpass your lodgment expectative.

We would like to invite to come and visit us again; it would be a pleasure to attend you.

Looking forward to hear soon from you.

Best Regards,
NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great boutique hotel! It is located in Plaza Foch, the heart of Quito's nightlife and there are great restaurants around too. The hotel was always clean and the staff very polite. Breakfast is good, too. The only thing that is not so nice is that you have to park your car in a public parking lot one block away (but it's free of charge). I strongly recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelsmartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Alejandro Bonilla, Gerente de Operaciones at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments. As you mentioned, the Nu House Boutique Hotel is located in a very strategic place where you can find everything a few steps from our hotel, either for business or pleasure we are the best option in lodgment. Our staff is very kind, friendly and well trained therefore we can help you with any requirement you might need during your stay. We would like to apologize for this parking issue but is just a few steps from our hotel and if you need help we can provide you valet parking, which is one of our services too.

On behalf of the Nu House Boutique Hotel staff, we would like to invite you once again to come and visit us.

Best Regards,
NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#15 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Art Hotel Silberstein
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU House Boutique Hotel

Property: NU House Boutique Hotel
Address: Foch E6-12 y Reina Victoria, Quito 593, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Quito
#22 Business Hotel in Quito
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU House Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nu house is the only hotel in Quito situated inside the Plaza Foch. Located in the heart of Quito's tourist and entertainment district, La Mariscal. The location is important because Quito's best and most frequented restaurants, bars, lounges and discos are at the footsteps of the Nu House Hotel. Nu House's design, with its beautiful wood facade, stands out as the most chic structure in Quito. Our guests will be immediately transported to pleasantly relaxing rooms that incorporate wood, stone, in an ambiance that is both natural and modern. Nu House boutique hotel prides itself on providing its guests with a unique experience. With its modern design, attentive staff, and incomparable location, Nu House boutique hotel is the perfect destination for both the leisure and business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your NU House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing