We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish, great food but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NU House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very stylish, great food but very noisy”
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed here one night. We were very impressed with the room- they have used lovely decor. There are TVs and room service (the food is yummy) and the hotel is slap bang in the middle of the tourist district. This does, however, mean it is very noisy. We stayed on a Tuesday night and I don't think the noise outside stopped until around 3am- but having said this our room was overlooking the main square so maybe if you asked for a room away from the street then it would be more quiet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryLovelyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    166
    76
    21
    15
See reviews for
57
178
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Paid $80/night for a small/medium sized room in a brand new hotel right in the middle of the tourist area of Quito. Only downside is on Fri/Sat night there's a mass of people in the square with live music. If you get a room facing away from the square it's not so bad but definitely not the place for light sleepers on the weekend. We live in a city (DC) with city noises so didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Just returned from a 6 night stay at the Nu House for business. In terms of amenities, the room and hotel were great and exceeded my expectations for a large Latin American city. The rooms were decorated in a modern style and were small but sufficient and very clean. There was no desk but a pull down "platform" which made most of my computer time spent either curled up on the bed or perched on the bed corner and ottoman trying to simulate a desk space (there was no chair in the room). The bathroom was luxurious with a great shower and beautiful natural tiles.

The main issue was the noise - the hotel is located right on a small square that is filled with bars, clubs, and restaurants. The techno music is blaring until 2-3am every night and since there is no AC, the windows needed to be open. One night someone was doing construction and banging on metal pipes all night long outside the window! Without a sleep aid, I would have been in trouble, and I am not the kind of person who ever has trouble sleeping. This was by far the loudest place I have ever stayed.

Overall, the location was great (lots of food nearby and a cab to Old Town is only about $4-5) and the hotel is comfortable and clean. However, some of the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful, and the lack of desk space and the noise made this less than ideal for the business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Pros:
Great location
Modern looking hotel/rooms

Cons:
**NO A/C** This is huge, because the location is very loud...so if you have to open your window to cool down, you can't sleep because of the noise. Add to it the fact that they only have comforters - no sheets - and you could have a very sleepless night.

Bathroom modernity - I understand still having to throw TP in the trash (but don't like it)...but not even having a fan in the bathroom? Come on - this is a modern hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank public13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Hotel was very accomodating, very clean. Excellent location. The good thing about the hotel is the same as the bad. The nightlife nearby is great; tons of restaurants and bars and a very lively area where you can walk around safely at night. However, my room was facing the street and between very thin windows and restaurants/bars not closing until 3am, it was extremely loud and difficult to sleep. I had just come to Quito from 7 days of an outdoor adventure and dying for a good shower and a good night's sleep. I never got that sleep.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lml630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A., CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Nu House features gorgeous modern design, a friendly staff, and a location in the heart of it all in Plaza Foch. If your idea of fun is bar-hopping through the Mariscal, look no further.

Pros: elegant, sleek modern design with natural components like wood and lava rock bathrooms, double-paned windows to keep the noise out. Q restaurant, adjacent to the hotel, has excellent food at reasonable international prices (a bit high for Quito), although the included breakfast buffet is tepid at best. In-house taxi drivers are friendly and helpful, along with the rest of the staff. Bonus: two welcome drink coupons given upon arrival.

Cons: Amenities are lacking: no pool, gym, small business center. Plaza Foch can still get very noisy at night: even with the windows closed, the bass shook the hotel until after 3 am. Included breakfast is mediocre and repetitive. Basic rooms are quite small.

Tip: Look for discounted rates. Nu House quoted us $133 a night, but we were able to find it via 1800hotels for just $73, which is a great bargain. At the higher price point, though, it’s time to start looking at hotels like Le Parc or the JW Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kels246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We only stayed one night, as we departed Quito for home- but I wish we had stayed there on our way into Ecuador too! The hotel is very modern in design, inside and out. It owns 2 restaurands/cafes in the square where it sits, Q and Azucar. The hotel gave us free drink coupons to use at either place, and also breakfast was included at Q the next morning. The square, called Place Foch, is ringed with restaurants of all types. When we arrived Sunday evening a salsa band was playing. A very safe area to wander and enjoy the cool evening. Reasonable price and a great location!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#15 of 114 in Quito
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.3 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU House Boutique Hotel

Property: NU House Boutique Hotel
Address: Foch E6-12 y Reina Victoria, Quito 593, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Quito
#22 Business Hotel in Quito
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU House Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nu house is the only hotel in Quito situated inside the Plaza Foch. Located in the heart of Quito's tourist and entertainment district, La Mariscal. The location is important because Quito's best and most frequented restaurants, bars, lounges and discos are at the footsteps of the Nu House Hotel. Nu House's design, with its beautiful wood facade, stands out as the most chic structure in Quito. Our guests will be immediately transported to pleasantly relaxing rooms that incorporate wood, stone, in an ambiance that is both natural and modern. Nu House boutique hotel prides itself on providing its guests with a unique experience. With its modern design, attentive staff, and incomparable location, Nu House boutique hotel is the perfect destination for both the leisure and business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NU House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing