We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay in Quito”
Review of Hostal El Arupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal El Arupo
Ranked #37 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

There are 2 Arupos a couple of streets apart so make sure you go to the right one. Our taxi dropped us at the wrong one but the staff came and collected us within minutes. They are very helpful but don't speak much English so communication can be tricky if you don't have much Spanish.

The room was clean and spacious, but the hot water was a little hit and miss.

There is a bar opposite some of the rooms which can be quite noisy quite late some nights. Other rooms on the other side would not be affected.

Breakfast is pretty good and there is a nice little garden to sit in.

Close to all the bars/restaurants/travel agents.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about arupo. It is exactly what I was looking for - great both rooms and bathrooms (and great showers), spotlessly clean, great location a minute walk from the lively la fosch where the tours leave from too, reasonable, with decent/simple breakfast and a kitchen for tea etc. The staff is really nice and kept my bags when I stayed a night away. They are always in the house which means its never isolated. The doorbell rings often at night but that didn't bother me. Breakfast is tea/coffee, toast, eggs, bananas - it's basic. I could have tea/coffee early though when I had tours which started at 7 am. The street is quiet. If I return to Quito I will stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radsque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great little hotel in an excellent location, hot shower with good pressure. Breakfast included toast, eggs, aromatic coffee, warm milk in a separate jug, tea, jam, butter, freshly made juice and fruit. Owners very helpful, always there for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here on two separate occasions in May and was pleasantly surprised about how clean and comfortable this hostal was for $30 a night. Owners could not be more friendlier, helpful, and welcoming. Hostal was a little oasis within the Mariscal District. Would highly recommend this hostal to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMP1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms in the old part are dark and small... They don't worth the price we paid. The rooms in the new part are nicer (ex.:12) with more light and more space. They cost the same price (we paid 45$/night). They accepted to switch room when we came back the second time for more nights.

The breakfast is very simple... Toasts, jam, eggs, juice, tea or coffee. The coffee isn't good! We didn't like the jam either which was always the same. Sometimes, you also have bananas.

The rooms are clean. You have wi-fi. It is relatively quiet, but at night you are close to bars, so you can hear the music sometimes. Also, when people get on late, they ring a bell that we can ear in the rooms.

You have to know that the airport is far from the city (25-30$ in taxi, 45min-1h45 depending of traffic). The hotel is situated in La Mariscal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliiiiiieeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

As a previous reviewer wrote, this small hotel is near the nightlife. The downside is that people ring the doorbell all night long and there is a lot of traffic noise. This is NOT the fault of the hotel, just a fact to take into consideration. There are a dozen other hostels nearby, and I expect that the noise level is the same. The service here is excellent and eggs, toast, coffee, and tea are prepared each morning. There is hot water, free wifi, and a computer in the common area that is available. I don't have much experience in Quito, but this hotel is two blocks from a major bus line that can get you to the city center for 25 cents.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have come here so many times since 2004 that I cannot count. El Arupo is on a quiet, tree-lined street in the Mariscal section of Quito. This means access to nightlife, varied cuisine and a good night's sleep. Pilar and Luis are the main caretakers and they are warm and friendly. They can point you towards the correct bus, tell you where and when to be cautious, and cook your eggs the way you like them. The rooms are subdued and clean, good mattresses and excellent hot water. Full breakfast included.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenzorlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 116 in Quito
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Urbana Hostal
Casa Urbana Hostal
#7 of 296 in Quito
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#15 of 296 in Quito
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Secret Garden Quito
The Secret Garden Quito
#21 of 296 in Quito
433 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hump Day Hostel
Hump Day Hostel
#2 of 296 in Quito
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Arupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Arupo

Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-22 y Reina Victoria, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £21 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal El Arupo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal El Arupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing