We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, central, comfortable with helpful staff”
Review of Travellers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travellers Inn
Ranked #18 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Safe, central, comfortable with helpful staff”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for a couple of weeks while learning Spanish and looking for an apartment. As we only booked a couple of days in advance we ended up changing rooms a few times (our fault and we were pleased they could accommodate us). Recommend the treble with the big bath. WiFi works in most rooms but do check if important (If you want super fast Internet do go to Crepes and Waffles nearby, I uploads several Gb of photos in a few hours!).

Location is a less than 5 minutes from the Mariscal and we walked most of the time but do watch out at night walking home and take taxis if possible. They have a large wall and electric fence on top and it feels really secure and safe with someone always on duty to let you in.

You can use the kitchen to prepare meals and one of he rooms even has a private fridge. There is a big Super Maxi only a few minutes walk away as well.

They do very good value drinks and have a happy hour which is easy to take advantage of. The lounge has comfy sofas and plenty of movies to view. Great place to meet other travellers, most of whom seem to have done some research to find the place.

It is a family run operation and owned as a co-operative by Carlos, his wife and two sons. They also offer tours, mainly led by Carlos senior in their own bus. We did Spanish lessons at $4/hour with them for adults and $2/each for kids lessons (good value) with two of the teachers being the wives of the brothers. Maybe not as structured as other schools we looked at but one on one it worked for us with flexibility and no travel! Book a trial lesson and see what you think before booking elsewhere.

One of the rooms had a temperamental shower that probably needed a new thermostat but not the end of the world otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    81
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
77
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

After spending a week and change with family traveling around Quito and the Galapagos, I decided to spend an extra night and enjoy the New Years Eve festivities. This hostel was the perfect fit for my solo-needs.

The bed/room was comfortable and clean. The staff and other guests that I met was very friendly and welcoming. I spent a few hours in the lounge catching up on email before going out to find some New Years festivities.

There's tons to eat and drink within walking distance and it's only a $6 cab ride to/from the airport.

I'd stay here again, well worth the very affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexknowshtml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This hostel seems like a hotel and is great value for money, breakfast is included in the price as well.
The staff helped us order some sushi as our Spanish is very little, they had little homemade treats at reception being sold as well which was nice.
The living room area was comfortable and had cable TV.
All the staff seemed nice and most could talk English for our comfort.
Only thing was that at the time we were there most people staying there were around 30 years old plus, which wasn't problem for us but if your looking to swap stories with other young travelers this may not be the place they also didn't have any communal areas but the TV room.

Room Tip: We had room in a garden - rooms 001 - 006 but the two shared bathrooms are outside in the cold as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarfairy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed at the Travellers Inn twice during our recent trip to Ecuador. We stayed in the upstairs, third floor room inside the main hotel. It had a large balcony which was a great place to hang out in the morning and at night with the city lights twinkling. The Spanish embassy was across the street. The beds were extremely comfortable and I slept well each night. The atmosphere was fantastic. Colonial decor, lots of sunshine and lots of lovely fauna outside. The water was hot and the staff extremely friendly. Breakfast was excellent, fresh ingredients, yummy fruit and I wish I could find the yogurt drink for sale in the U.S. It was a great time to meet other travelers. Carlos and his wife, son, grandson and small dog all seemed eager to make us part of their family. We booked a double tour through Carlos' travel agency on our second day. It was an all day affair and a bit much for our second day at 8,000 ft but thoroughly enjoyable. Carlos was a great tour guide. The hotel was surprisingly quiet for being located only 12 blocks from Quito's party central square. The hotel is centrally located in Quito and a bus or trolley comes by every few minutes on the nearby Ave Amazonas. My only suggestion would be to put a table and chairs on the balcony. There was one chair in the room that we took out to the balcony to sit on. Walked home several nights after dark. Felt completely safe. Just need to keep your wits about you like any big city in the world. We arranged several pickups and drop offs through the hotel at the airport as we traveled to other parts of Ecuador. They were always on time and very helpful and friendly. I read where others in these reviews complained because they didn't feel they could be boisterous and party at the hotel after hours. My comment is that there are plenty of places to party just a few blocks away from the hotel. Once you step into the lobby it's time to curb your enthusiasm and not rudely wake up your neighbors. Get a clue. Overall the price, atmosphere, friendliness and centrality of the hotel made it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at Travellers twice last month and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and cozy. Within easy walking distance there are dozens and dozens of interesting restaurants. A very international area.

Only complaint is that that our wake-up call to head to the airport never called but we were already up. The WIFI is kind of slow.

Yes, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrabbyFatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here for our last two nights in a month long trip to Ecuador. In the new town, it's pretty close to both the aiport and the old town. The hotel was built in the early 20th Century and is charming. We stayed in the loft on the third floor (was two rooms with an adjoining bathroom) and for $43 dollars it was great value, including a full breakfast that included eggs, bread and cheese, yoghurt, delicious coffee, and a fruit platter. They have a travel agent, great happy hour prices and run a service to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshuasmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We only stayed one night at the Travellers Inn and it was a refreshing change after staying in a typical hostels. We had a private annex room and a shared bathroom. The room was clean and we had access to the wifi. The staff were all very friendly and were happy to order us a cab when we left Quito. The rest of the guesthouse was pleasant and we enjoyed a very big, well-rounded breakfast that was included. In a good location near all the restaurants and bars but just far enough not to be noisy at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 110 in Quito
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#103 of 110 in Quito
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 110 in Quito
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#36 of 110 in Quito
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Property: Travellers Inn
Address: La Pinta St. E 4-55 & Amazonas Ave., La Mariscal District, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an antique Mansion, part of the city's heritage. It used to be owned by the Quitea aristocracy of the first years in the 20th Century. Run by Pilar, even she speaks 'poquito' English, you will always have a smiling face trying to suit your needs. Anyway, there is always someone around who speaks English. We have first quality bedrooms, with private/shared bathrooms and 24 hours hot water, TV, phone, wireless Internet, security boxes, wake up call and daily room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing