We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable hostel in Quito”
Review of Travellers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travellers Inn
Ranked #17 of 289 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights here and it was a really nice hostel to stay in. The rooms are basic but clean. The staff is really nice and the hostel arranges really affordable day trips around the Quito area. The location is great and there are a lot of restaurants and bars around within a few minutes walk. The free breakfast was really, really good as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katrina1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

I booked via hostelworld and paid 25 USD for a single ensuite room. As i was arriving late in the evening I arranged a pickup at the airport which was arranged very quickly by email and all went to plan. The hostel is very secure and only a 10 minute walk to the restaurants. Facilities were great as were the included breakfasts and staff were always welcoming and helpful. I dont think it is the place to come for younger backpackers looking for a party scene but it suited me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were a little disappointed when we spent our last night in Ecuador here.
The location seems ok, the staff was very friendly, but our room left something to be desired.
It seemed to have been an old den or library of sorts, and didn't feel like a bedroom.
It was also quite musty. Not a good end to our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed here in Dec 2012 on the start of a trip through Ecuador and south. Everthing went exactly to plan. The transfer was waiting for our midnight flight into Quito. Straight to the hotel. Efficient checkin and even at that hour of the night/morning we were made to feel extremely welcome. We were hosted/guided by Carlos on a tour to the equator the next day, and a city tour the following. Carlos, one of the owners, was a superb guide and we were made to feel special. I cannot over-rate this place. Everything went exceptionally well. When we had difficulty booking a bus to continue our journey Carlos bundled us into his vehicle, took us to the bus depot, and sorted it out for us. What a fantastic service. I recommend this place without hesitation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonaldoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We've lost count on how many times we've stayed at this hotel. If never fails to live up its great reputation as a great place to stay while in Quito.
This time, we were on our way to Machu Pichu in Peru and we didn't want to take all of our luggage and inquired if it would be possible to leave most of it there for a week? NOT A PROBLEM was the instant answer. This allowed us to re-pack the essentials into small back-packs and leave all of our suitcases ( we're staying in S.America for several months) at the Travellers Inn.
Big Water bottles are still only $1, Beer in the large botttles is still only $1.25 and a good breakfast is still included.

Room Tip: The "best" room in the Inn is still by far ~ Room #301
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juergen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for a couple of weeks while learning Spanish and looking for an apartment. As we only booked a couple of days in advance we ended up changing rooms a few times (our fault and we were pleased they could accommodate us). Recommend the treble with the big bath. WiFi works in most rooms but do check if important (If you want super fast Internet do go to Crepes and Waffles nearby, I uploads several Gb of photos in a few hours!).

Location is a less than 5 minutes from the Mariscal and we walked most of the time but do watch out at night walking home and take taxis if possible. They have a large wall and electric fence on top and it feels really secure and safe with someone always on duty to let you in.

You can use the kitchen to prepare meals and one of he rooms even has a private fridge. There is a big Super Maxi only a few minutes walk away as well.

They do very good value drinks and have a happy hour which is easy to take advantage of. The lounge has comfy sofas and plenty of movies to view. Great place to meet other travellers, most of whom seem to have done some research to find the place.

It is a family run operation and owned as a co-operative by Carlos, his wife and two sons. They also offer tours, mainly led by Carlos senior in their own bus. We did Spanish lessons at $4/hour with them for adults and $2/each for kids lessons (good value) with two of the teachers being the wives of the brothers. Maybe not as structured as other schools we looked at but one on one it worked for us with flexibility and no travel! Book a trial lesson and see what you think before booking elsewhere.

One of the rooms had a temperamental shower that probably needed a new thermostat but not the end of the world otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

After spending a week and change with family traveling around Quito and the Galapagos, I decided to spend an extra night and enjoy the New Years Eve festivities. This hostel was the perfect fit for my solo-needs.

The bed/room was comfortable and clean. The staff and other guests that I met was very friendly and welcoming. I spent a few hours in the lounge catching up on email before going out to find some New Years festivities.

There's tons to eat and drink within walking distance and it's only a $6 cab ride to/from the airport.

I'd stay here again, well worth the very affordable price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexknowshtml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 113 in Quito
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#20 of 113 in Quito
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 113 in Quito
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
13.7 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#93 of 113 in Quito
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alcala
Hostal Alcala
#28 of 253 in Quito
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Address: La Pinta St. E 4-55 & Amazonas Ave., La Mariscal District, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 289 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £14 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an antique Mansion, part of the city's heritage. It used to be owned by the Quitea aristocracy of the first years in the 20th Century. Run by Pilar, even she speaks 'poquito' English, you will always have a smiling face trying to suit your needs. Anyway, there is always someone around who speaks English. We have first quality bedrooms, with private/shared bathrooms and 24 hours hot water, TV, phone, wireless Internet, security boxes, wake up call and daily room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing