We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and overrated”
Review of Astrid y Gaston - CLOSED

Astrid y Gaston
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Food is just OK, and is definitely not the best peruvian food you can find.
I ate some peruvian ceviche and it was very mediocre. Then I had the Pollo cholo.... Just OK.
My wife tried the duck and she was very dissapointed.
Without desserts, the total invoice was USD 80. Way too expensive for Quito and for the food we had

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    12
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A perfect way to end a fabulous trip”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Astrid y Gaston is a pretty, airy and comfortable restaurant in Quito, Ecuador. Visitors to Quito should be aware that Quito has a crime problem evidenced by the armed guard at the door of this special restaurant. The service was very nice and luckily for us the menu was in English as a lot of the staff speaks Spanish only. A great mojito and several "pisco" drinks were enjoyed as was the grilled octopus appetizer. The main courses were beautifully prepared and very tasty. Even after an 8 day cruise where we were served terrific meals 3 x a day, Astrid y Gaston was a treat. Price was reasonable with gratuity included in the prices. I would highly recommend taking a cab to and from the restaurant for safety's sake.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food/great service”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We were visiting from Los Angeles, California and just had a couple of nights in Quito. We met a young man on the plane from Galapagos who suggested we try Astrid y Gaston for a "nice night out." We were really hoping to have something that was regional to South America, and also not touristy. Astrid y Gaston was really a wonderful experience. We walked into the restaurant and felt very comfortable. This place could compete with anything in Hollywood. Great decor, and wonderful staff. But it also had a relaxed atmosphere with a sophisticated vibe. It's not stuffy at all. You do NOT need a suit and tie. The food was amazing and unique for us. Our waiter was patient and helpful because we really weren't familiar with Peruvian food. Also, he helped us pick a great wine that wasn't expensive. We liked it so much that we went back again. I highly recommend it. They didn't have the Prix fixe menu when we went, but I was still very happy with my pork dish. My advice to Americans is be adventurous. It's all good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacobPinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not close to what we expected”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We were looking forward to this place. Good TA reviews, a friend who had lived in Quito telling us it was great, and rave reviews on the Astrid y Gaston in BA which we couldn't make it to.

Venue
Very nice. A large room with only a few people in it when we were there (Monday).

Food
I had been told there was a degustation but this wasn't featured; there was a smallish tasting menu but this didn't include many things we were after. The initial breads were tasty. We had the mixed entree and another scallop dish; these were all quite nice.

The mains were where much of the disappointment came in - the pork dish was hard going and not what either of us had expected - most of it was not eaten. It certainly was large though. The fish dish (snapper) was better but not exceptional. The prices were quite reasonable though - the pork was US$31 but steaks were only about $20 and fish was less also. It worked out about $55 per head including wines.

Wine/Service
We tried two wines, each of which was nice - but we ordered Argentinean rather than Ecuadorian wines, of which they had only one per category. Our travel partners were surprised to find that their request for bottled still water got changed to 'water from the (hopefully filtered!) jug' at some random point in the night; luckily we were having the sparkling version and were ok.

It was a Monday and only a couple of tables were dining, perhaps the chefs are different during the quiet part of the week. Go if you have already enjoyed a branch of this restaurant, otherwise it could be worth trying somewhere different.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glinkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We made a reservation via email before arriving in Quito and were thrilled that we did. We started with a ceviche appetizer, which was not part of the prix fixe, but then also had the tasting menu and loved every bite. We were given a variety of breads to start, which were all delicious and were accompanied by three different spreads. Our ceviche included shrimp, squid and extremely tender octopus, topped off with some plantain strips, in a lime-y sauce.
Our appetizers, which were part of the tasting menu, came out too quickly, but after that service was perfect. The menu changes seasonally (or monthly) but we had a braised pig's foot, a fried spring roll, and a delicious stack of mashed potatoes, crab salad, and tempura mushroom cap and shrimp. We then had the vegetable course, which was a curry with a few cubes of vegetables and quinoa on the side. The meat course was chicken with a variety of potatoes, asparagus, and mushrooms in a rich sauce. Dessert was two different dishes on one plate: one pineapple and coconutty, the other coffee and vanilla.
We had a bottle of wine, which was poured for us throughout our meal.
Service was attentive without being intrusive. They even offered to call a taxi for us at the end of our meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Astrid y Gaston also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Cumbaya, Quito
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing