We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet place to stay in Quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Casapaxi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casapaxi
Ranked #60 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great quiet place to stay in Quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have stayed here every time we come through Quito, now about 7 or so times over the past 7 years. This is an amazing price for a clean safe place in Quito. The neighborhood is not dangerous (surprised by the other review) but is a little walk down the hill to get to town. It's not horribly far, but if you want to be "in the middle of things" this is not the place for you. The owner is wonderful, she will help you in any way possible!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

our recent stay at casapaxi in quito was wonderful. the hostal is owned by the most friendly and helpful woman who really takes care of her guests. it is also in a great location; not sure what the situation was with the other reviewer as it was easy to get to old town via the trole. we have no trouble with walking to reach buses and public transport and were fine with the downhill walk to reach the closest trole stop and then the quick ride into old town. we stayed in the suite and felt like we had our own little home-away-from-home and loved the kitchen. we cooked every night after shopping at a supermarket down the main road (that is a tough hill to walk, but was good for exercise!). we prefer to stay outside of the busy city center and found this the perfect spot for our time in quito! we just spent two months in Latin America and this was the best and most comfortable place we stayed during the entire trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajtarzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
456 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hostel is not close to anything. You have to take 2 or 3 busses to get to old town. It is over an hour from either of the main bus stations as you have to change buses 3 times. The area is so unsafe, you can not go to t he corner store after dark. The owner is very nice and friendly. The kitchen does not have hot water. No wi-fi

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We loved this quiet, safe place, with nice and clean rooms and ducks in the garden. It is owned by an Italian lady, who is very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MonikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
10.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
8.0 mi away
Villa Ilalo
Villa Ilalo
#2 of 4 in Cumbaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casapaxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casapaxi

Property: Hostal Casapaxi
Address: Pasaje Navarro 364 (N 24-70) y La Gasca, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Casapaxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing