We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hostal!”
Review of Hostal Casapaxi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casapaxi
Ranked #67 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect hostal!”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was the hostel with the absolute best cost-performance ratio during our 6 weeks in Peru and Equador! We had the "Suite garden view" which actually did not only have garden view but our own big private garden including hammock! The room was huge, including a very clean private bath, a couch and TV and one of the fully equiped kitchens is also only used by this room.
Service there is excelent. Our very symphatic host drove us several times with her car to the bus stop (to go to mitad del mundo) or to the gondola station "teleferico". This was included in the service.
Location is not in the heart of the city, but there are very regular busses to and from the city in just 2 min walking distance ... and we prefered a very quiete and well maintained location to beeing in the noisy central with all night disco next to our room ...

Room Tip: Go for the "Suite garden view" if available - its worth the few $ more! If occupied, the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_HD_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have stayed here every time we come through Quito, now about 7 or so times over the past 7 years. This is an amazing price for a clean safe place in Quito. The neighborhood is not dangerous (surprised by the other review) but is a little walk down the hill to get to town. It's not horribly far, but if you want to be "in the middle of things" this is not the place for you. The owner is wonderful, she will help you in any way possible!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

our recent stay at casapaxi in quito was wonderful. the hostal is owned by the most friendly and helpful woman who really takes care of her guests. it is also in a great location; not sure what the situation was with the other reviewer as it was easy to get to old town via the trole. we have no trouble with walking to reach buses and public transport and were fine with the downhill walk to reach the closest trole stop and then the quick ride into old town. we stayed in the suite and felt like we had our own little home-away-from-home and loved the kitchen. we cooked every night after shopping at a supermarket down the main road (that is a tough hill to walk, but was good for exercise!). we prefer to stay outside of the busy city center and found this the perfect spot for our time in quito! we just spent two months in Latin America and this was the best and most comfortable place we stayed during the entire trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajtarzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hostel is not close to anything. You have to take 2 or 3 busses to get to old town. It is over an hour from either of the main bus stations as you have to change buses 3 times. The area is so unsafe, you can not go to t he corner store after dark. The owner is very nice and friendly. The kitchen does not have hot water. No wi-fi

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We loved this quiet, safe place, with nice and clean rooms and ducks in the garden. It is owned by an Italian lady, who is very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MonikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
752 reviews
10.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.5 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#37 of 233 in Quito
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
6.8 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#101 of 233 in Quito
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Agua Canela
Casa Agua Canela
#27 of 263 in Quito
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casapaxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casapaxi

Property: Hostal Casapaxi
Address: Pasaje Navarro 364 (N 24-70) y La Gasca, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Casapaxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing