We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Casapaxi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casapaxi
Ranked #58 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Quito
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Much more of a homestay-style place than a hostel but actually worked quite well for us - we were 4 and it wasn't busy so we sort of had the place to ourselves. It has lovely hot showers and good wifi. A very attentive Italian lady runs the place and she was very careful about looking after us for which we grateful. It was rather cold and no heater available and the beds weren't all very comfortable but it is great value so no complaints.

Recommend getting good directions before arriving. It is not very easy to find.

Room Tip: Just a few rooms - double room more comfortable bed than twin. Also option of seperate building with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our room was double booked by hostelbookers, and Luigina emailed us quickly to explain what had happened. She put us up in a lovely hotel of our choosing, for our duration in Quito and even paid for it!! Everything was done quickly and efficiently so we never felt stressed. We did go inside the accommodation and it looked spacious and clean with a lovely view outside. No one should hesitate to stay here when visiting Quito!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grainne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I just finished our stay at Casapaxi. We were originally due to stay for four nights but wanted more time in Quito so we stayed an extra night.

We had a private room with private bathroom and to add to the luxury, we had our own private kitchen! Amazingly good for such a small price we paid.

We absolutely loved our stay here and couldn't recommend it enough. Luigina is an amazing host and did everything to assist us whenever we needed. She thankfully even drove us to the Teleferiqo one day. Anytime we go back to Quito we will be staying at Casapaxi!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after spending two weeks in the Galápagos. This was a great place to relax and rest up after going all day long for the previous two weeks. The hostel used to be a home and has only 4 rooms so you are not having to wait for the bathroom or bring kept up all night by loud guests. The wifi works great and the neighborhood is safe. We spent 5 days all around and never felt unsafe. There are a few little shops within 100 meters of the front door where you can get inexpensive food/snacks/drinks/fresh bread. There is also a Supermaxi grocery store about 1.5 kilometers down the hill. The Supermaxi is just like a Safeway.

If you are going to Quito and looking for a great value, kind host and relaxing place to stay then you've found it.

As for the location you are not that far from anything. The attractions in Quito are spread out around town so you are going to do some walking. Cabs are not very pricey and the blue buses are dirt cheap.



On a side note if you are going to the Galápagos after Quito get your sunscreen at a smaller shop in new town. We paid $7 a bottle vs 12-20 which you see in the chain stores in Quito.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Corolla5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perreira
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have asked for more from Marian when we stayed in her hostel, from the first moment she made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and comfortable with an ensuite bathroom (we shared a shower with other rooms). Its like staying with family, she was very eager to help with anything but didn't intrude upon us at all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianJB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

we stayed here two different times while in Ecuador. it was a great choice. the facilities are fantastic and the owner was very knowledgeable and willing to help us navigate the city. it is a safe area and was a great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in Casapaxi for five nights. The guesthouse is beautiful and well-maintained. We had access to the kitchen and the garden which was very relaxing. The owner of the guesthouse was really nice and very helpful. We had questions about getting around Quito and the owner helped us with good recommendations. It was fun interacting with her. Through her, we were able to get ride from a trusted taxi. He was also very honest and helpful too. The neighborhood is quiet. We slept very well. If I come back to Quito again, I will definitely stay in Casapaxi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 765masi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
10.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
1.9 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casapaxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casapaxi

Property: Hostal Casapaxi
Address: Pasaje Navarro 364 (N 24-70) y La Gasca, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Casapaxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing