We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in a very special place”
Review of Hacienda Rumiloma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Rumiloma
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Although it is a bit of a climb, a visit to Rumiloma is worth it. Each room or suite is unique and lavishly appointed. Beauty and comfort everywhere. Before you go down to breakfast, someone will bring a tray of Ecuadorean chocolate and coffee with muffins just you get you started. The chocolate is heavenly. The common rooms are equally impressive and inviting. Finally, the staff at Rumiloma is attentive and attuned to guests needs and desires. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so pleasant. By the way, where can we get a recipe for Ecuadorean potato soup? Delicious.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Hidden on the Pichincha mountain in Quito, Rumiloma is an amazing place that seems out of a story! The ambient is European but the scenery is Andean....but best of all is the food that made our lunch just perfect! Delicioso!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Very very nice restaurant - excellent kitchen - try the bbq-lamb which is marinated during three days in Sangria - excellente! The view is a real killer! They have a b&b in this truly amazing place. And btw peacocks and lama's all over the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen-Gent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A beautifully appointed rustic boutique hotel with a fabulous view of all of Quito from almost every spot on the property. We only stayed for one night and ended up being upgraded to their best suite which was stunning and quite a lovely surprise. The staff picked us up from the airport, drove us up to the hotel which was an adventure in and of itself as we basically drove straight up at least half way. It was a pretty bumpy, rough ride so be warned...

Once there we were brought to the main lobby to be checked in while our bags carried on to our rooms. The main lobby also doubles as their dining room and is adorned with antiques, beautiful treasures and of course many bouquets of roses. The decorating put us into a relaxing state immediately which was good because the walk up to our room had us stopping to catch our breath more then once due to the even higher altitude then the rest of Quito. We were personally brought to our room by one of the staff. Our free upgrade,the Presidential Suite was truly devine. It had its own custom made hot tub, two bedrooms each with its own bathroom and a living room all of which had a view of Quito.

We had a wonderful time including enjoying three meals at the hotel - lunch when we arrived which was fantastic, dinner that night in the main dining room which had a very romantic feel to it and breakfast the following morning which was very nice complete with fruit platters, special freshly squeezed juices and full meals - we were set for the day.

The only thing we would mention is that the hotel is under staffed as it appeared only a few people were doing everything from serving meals to checking people in to possibly readying the rooms which is likely why our room was not completely cleaned after the prior guests left. It wasn't a big deal as it was only that the garbages were not emptied which was easy to over look given how beautiful our room was (plus it was an upgrade) but I believe if there was a few more staff everything would have been perfect. I would definitely recommend the hotel as it was truly beautiful and enjoyable just to walk around and look at all the treasures throughout.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OffTheBeatenPath_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The drive from Quito airport took just over an hour and once we left the town of Quito, we were then heading steeply up, approximately another 2000 metres higher, over increasingly rough and unmade roads. The beauty of this place is breathtaking, not just because of the altitude and we were met on our arrival in the car park, by a group of alpacas and three peacocks.
Our room was stunningly unusual, furnished in a very individual style by the owner in a most colourful and artful way, each lamp and artefact carefully chosen. The shower in our mosaic bathroom required a little agility, being about 80 cms deep and very large.
The dining room, which is separate from the guest rooms, is also beautifully appointed with a wonderful view. The food was very good and plentiful, elegantly served by willing and helpful staff. There is also a lounge, with day bed and deep, comfortable couches with the same picturesque view as the dining room, as well as a bar, where they serve a mean Caipirinha! Every room is a delight and one could spend hours admiring the decor and detail.
The all year temperature of Quito is quite cool, particularly where the hotel is situated and the rooms are heated by wood burners, which are lit in the bedrooms in early evening and hot water bottles are placed in the beds, a very welcome gesture!
Be aware of the altitude, it can cause headache and breathlessness but drinking plenty of water and coca leaf tea can alleviate this.
We spent a heavenly, peaceful three days and loved every minute

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

From the first moment you step onto the property you are transported! You drive up, up, up into the hills to a little slice of heaven. The grounds complete with alpacas, peacocks, and horses, are beyond beautiful. The rooms decorated with eclectic bohemian chic are colorful, unique, perfect, and wonderfully comfortable. The staff are efficient, helpful, friendly, and the owner, Amber, is amazing. The food is also outstanding. What more can I say, go there! It's pricey but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sundaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We didn't stay at Hacienda Rumiloma but did eat dinner there. We had prebooked through our agent and so were served the "tourist menu". The menu provided great options and we enjoyed the meal. We looked at the regular menu and though it may be a little high based on regular Ecuador prices we did not find it out of line with a higher end restaurant in Canada, even small town Canada. In no way does it compare to any prices we have paid in places like New York City. It was fun. Only comment was that my husband had the Grilled Filet Mignon and found the steak a little tough, which was pretty much the way he found the steak throughout Ecuador. One person we met who had moved there from the UK believed the reason for that was that being a butcher is not considered a profession there. My husband agreed as he felt many of the steaks appeared to have been "cross-cut". Nonetheless we loved the meal and the service and the location. Would recommend for a special night out in Quito.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
14.4 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#41 of 113 in Quito
209 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
3 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 113 in Quito
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
715 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#31 of 113 in Quito
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Rumiloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Rumiloma

Address: Obispo Diaz de la Madrid, Quito 3130, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Quito
#17 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £130 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Rumiloma 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumiloma is one the largest private properties in the capital of Quito and has earned an international reputation as one of South America's finest properties, with nearly 100 acres of primary and secondary high Andean cloud forest. Rumiloma overlooks Quito and the sights extend toward the Amazon jungle. The hacienda offers the best of both worlds! Enjoy a life of rustic luxury in an Andean Hacienda and at the same time, feel free to pop down into the historical center, financial district or tourist areas of Quito that are only 10 short minutes away. Rumiloma features 7 generous guest suites with 9 bedrooms and 11 bathrooms in total. The hacienda can accommodate groups of up to 18 people, making it the perfect spot for a destination wedding, family reunion, executive retreat, or just a few days of relaxing in the Andes after adventuring in the Galapagos. The main house has several cozy sitting rooms that are perfect for relaxing after a long day of touring ithe city, hiking in the surrounding hills, or just enjoying an after-dinner drink, while gazing out over the lights of the city to the Amazon jungle beyond. The bottom floor has been converted into an intimate Irish Ecuadorian pub, complete with a walk-in fireplace. The grounds offer beautiful gardens, terraced patios- all with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. The Hacienda comes fully staffed with a breakfast cook, a professional kitchen, groundskeeper and housekeeper. Specialty chefs with a variety of gastronomical specialties can be arranged as well as chauffeur, tour and Butler services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Rumiloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Rumiloma Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing