We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hacienda Rumiloma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Rumiloma
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I first discovered this retreat online but let me tell you, the photo's do not do it justice! It was even more breathtaking than I imagined. We first pulled up to gorgeous peacocks and adorable Llamas lounging around the property. We were greeted with the warmest welcome and the environment itself was filled with warmth....from the huge fireplace in the bar room, to your own private wood stove which they lit on our arrival. The room had the most amazing view of the city and the rest of the property(including the lounging Llamas at our room entrance) and the details were magical.....a brass tub surrounded by rock, a jar filled with cookies, a basket filled with local fruits, to fresh flowers daily delivered to our room.
Carolina was wonderful with helping us plan our days excursion and making sure we were comfortable.
I only wish we had more time to stay at this enchanting whimsical destination!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    18
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
51
79
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Even though we arrived at the property at 3:00 am, Christian was waiting for us with a big smile for check-in. The room was so beautiful on 2 levels with fresh flowers next to the bed with cookies and on the main room. The view is gorgeous with 9 llamas on the property. There is a wood burning fireplace in the room for chilly afternoons and evenings. The included breakfast is a delight with a nice menu. The blackberry juice and breads are so fresh and delicious. The attached restaurant is stunning with the best food in Quito. A couple nice things would be to have luggage racks in bedroom and maybe afternoon tea with cookies or brownies. Such a special, secluded spot in the mountains but very close to town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What a wonderful place. Rumiloma is hidden away high in the hills overlooking Quito, but only a short drive from the city centre. Friendly llamas in the garden and cinnamon tea greeted us, just two of the many unique and endearing features of this stylish bolt hole. The rooms are individually designed and charming. Beautiful Ecuadorean artefacts and soft furnishings abound. Our wood burner, lit for us each evening by the quietly efficient and friendly staff, was one of the many personal touches that make this place so special. The food is superb. The breakfasts a delight, especially the fresh fruit juices and warm pancakes. The atmospheric bar downstairs, with its inviting sofas, great for a pre or post dinner aperitif. It is a family run hotel and the owners are on hand with all the information you need, from shopping,through wildlife watching to climbing, Whether you are looking for a romantic break or a place to unwind after climbing volcanoes, Rumiloma is perfect.

Room Tip: Amberleigh has it's own balcony and view of Quito.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived after five 'full-on' days in the Galapagos to find a very calm, easy-going, reflective atmosphere that made all the difference in the world to our overall enjoyment of our 16 days in Ecuador. We were given time to unwind in wonderful surroundings, with extraordinary artefacts, some quirky, some exquisite. All the small touches - candles, wood-burners, hot-water bottles, fabulous flowers, discreet service etc - contributed to a sense of being gently pampered. And various things made us smile, too, like the peacocks and llamas "courting"! We happened to arrive during rehearsals for an alternative wedding ceremony, so benefited from the liberal use of rose petals to enhance the decor inside and out. Our room - or should we say 'suite' - was split level, with big, comfortable bed, a separate small lounge and a delightfully decadent bathroom with a beaten copper bath/shower. Breakfasts were amazing. The beautifully ripe, fresh fruit was like a work of art with all the colours and textures. We ate dinner there twice: the generously-sized tournedos, in particular, were cooked just as requested. They were complemented perfectly by good Chilean wine which was not cheap, but less expensive than we feared, given experience elsewhere and the remoteness of the hacienda. We could have stayed there happily for days, to read books, walk on the hillside and soak up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpharetta
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Took a taxi from the Marriott ($15) for a wonderful dinner.We went at 7p.m and were the first people there but filled up as the night went on. We had the stone crabs,the lamb ad sea bass. I had the most wonderful dessert of 3 mini creme brulees - mint, lemongrass and rosemary. The waiter was so friendly and showed my grandson and I around the lovely property. Would love to stay here when I come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Although it is a bit of a climb, a visit to Rumiloma is worth it. Each room or suite is unique and lavishly appointed. Beauty and comfort everywhere. Before you go down to breakfast, someone will bring a tray of Ecuadorean chocolate and coffee with muffins just you get you started. The chocolate is heavenly. The common rooms are equally impressive and inviting. Finally, the staff at Rumiloma is attentive and attuned to guests needs and desires. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so pleasant. By the way, where can we get a recipe for Ecuadorean potato soup? Delicious.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Hidden on the Pichincha mountain in Quito, Rumiloma is an amazing place that seems out of a story! The ambient is European but the scenery is Andean....but best of all is the food that made our lunch just perfect! Delicioso!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
14.3 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#44 of 111 in Quito
196 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#27 of 111 in Quito
289 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Rumiloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Rumiloma

Property: Hacienda Rumiloma
Address: Obispo Diaz de la Madrid, Quito 3130, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Quito
#14 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Rumiloma 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumiloma is one the largest private properties in the capital of Quito and has earned an international reputation as one of South America's finest properties. With nearly 100 acres of primary and secondary high Andean cloudforest overlooking Quito out toward the Amazon jungle in the distance, Rumiloma offers the best of two worlds! Enjoy a life of rustic luxury in an Andean Hacienda and at the same time feel free to pop down into the historical center, financial district or tourist areas of Quito only 10 short minutes away. Rumiloma features 7 generous guest suites with 9 bedrooms and 11 bathrooms in total. The hacienda can accommodate groups of up to 18 people making it the perfect spot for a destination wedding, family reunion, executive retreat, or just a few days of relaxing in the Andes after adventuring in the Galapagos. The main house has several cozy sitting rooms perfect for relaxing after a long day touring in the historic center, hiking in the surrounding hills, or just enjoying an after-dinner drink while gazing out over the lights of the city to the Amazon jungle beyond.The bottom floor has been converted into an intimate Irish Ecuadorian pub, complete with a walk-in fireplace.The grounds offer beautiful gardens, terraced patios all with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. The Hacienda comes staffed with a breakfast cook,a professional kitchen. groundskeeper and housekeeper. Specialty chefs with a variety of gastronomical specialties can be arranged as well as chauffeur, tour and Butler services. T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Rumiloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Rumiloma Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing