We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like Fried Banana a lot!”

Fried Bananas Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 1,397 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Ecuadorean, Healthy, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fried Bananas is a cozy restaurant with a casual and relaxed atmosphere, right next to the main tourist plaza in La Mariscal. Our prices are much lower than one would expect given the quality of the food and service. We feature a variety of seafood, Ecuadorian specialties, grilled dishes, pasta, salads, vegetarian delights and more; all creatively prepared and as fresh as can be.You will want to be sure to save room for one of our signature desserts.I suggest checking out our website where you can browse the menu, read reviews and get more information about us.HOURS OF OPERATION: MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY 12:30-20:30 SATURDAY 12:30 16:30
Quito
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We like Fried Banana a lot!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We live in Quito, Ecuador and eat regularly at Fried Banana. We always come away pleased with the food (lovely apple desserts!!!!!), the ambience/decor and the service.
For quality ( wholesome food) and price, it would be hard to equal this restaurant.
I am amused at a review which mentioned high prices!!
Let them try getting a main dish of this quality in the US or Europe for 6 or 7 dollars!
Fried banana is not pretentious but you get a very good meal for very affordable prices. Try it for yourself!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TimoQuito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    144
    54
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice but Touristy”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The restaurant was nice--sort of out of the way--and was mostly filled with tourists--mostly English speaking. Food was good and there was value for money. The staff do not speak much English, but we managed to communicate. It is strange since there were so many English speaking customers in the restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MPW_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We had a simple but delicious meal here last night. The service was great, meals came out quickly and the food was homely and delicious. The only comment we had was that the T-bone steak was a little undercooked. This restaurant is a nice change from the touristy ones near the square.

Helpful?
Thank Tobesure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We loved the atmosphere of the restaurant and the main dishes we ordered were good. We were disappointed in their signature dish (fried bananas) however. It was over carmelized and had a rather burned taste.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“good food, good service which is rare in ecuador”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The place didn´t disappoint. The food was good and reasonably priced, the service was good and friendly (which is rare in ecuador) and the ambience was good (clean, nicely decorated, slightly upscale). I had rice with shrimp which was like a paella and it was delicious, slightly better than the paella at Casa Damian for almost half the price. Its close to mariscal foch but you wouldn´t know it since most tourists don´t walk this way but they definitely should.

A meal for 2 people and a beer cost $16 with tax and tip which was very reasonable for this quality of food and service. We left extra tip since the service was actually good and friendly. In most restaurants in ecuador, a 10% service is already added and most people never tip extra but we felt they deserved it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielagalarza, Propietario at Fried Bananas Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Google Translation
Para nosotros también fue un gusto atenderlos, espero que ahora que nos conocen y viven en Ecuador nos podamos ver más a menudo.
Saludos
Daniela Galarza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fried Bananas Restaurant also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Fried Bananas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing