We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family hotel”
Review of Hostal Sur

Hostal Sur
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Sur
Ranked #71 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2009

A wonderful hotel that I can highly recommend. A friend of mine and I went to Ecuador for 3 weeks for an adventure/jungle trip in December 2008. We stayed in the Hostal Sur for 5 nights total. The prices are excellent, the rooms large, quiet and most importantly clean. There is a shuttle service to pick hotel guests up from the near-by airport and to drop them.

The hotel is run by an Ecuadorian family that is absolutely wonderful. They were so kind and helpful at all times, it is beyond words. We had so many questions in order to organize our trip, and the family helped us with each and every question and problem with the greatest patience and support. The whole trip was different because we had that kind of (local) support. All in all it is a hotel I can recommend in the highest terms!

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank GermanyThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2009

I stayed here with a friend for three nights and we were expecting a hostel, but actually it is much better, like a small family run hotel. They just don't have enough rooms to call themselves a "Hotel". Don't expect hip backpackers hanging around though, but rather young and old, quiet couples. The family who runs the hotel is very helpfull and nice, they gave us great advices about restaurants and travel etc. and were very helpfull when I got my passport stolen. They are wery welcoming and openminded and will also pick you up at the airport for free if you tell them. They speak perfectly well english.

Rooms a big and very clean, nice small breakfast with fresh pressed juice and eggs. Beds are good too.

Area is good too, you walk 10 min to the busy restaurant/club-area in the new town, and 15 min to the esmeralda bus service, the best overland bus service to several towns around Ecuador and it feels like a very safe area - something between business and living area.

I especially appreciated the good atmosphere at this hotel, the nice family, who just opened that hotel some month ago.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank benve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Me aloje en la Habitación 11....muy buena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francisco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milo_scorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 113 in Quito
778 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
9.3 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.3 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#40 of 247 in Quito
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sur

Address: Francisco Salazar, Quito 134 E10, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Sur you will feel like in home come and enjoy with Salvador Family ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing