We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What service - what a hotel”
Review of Casa Aliso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Aliso
Ranked #15 of 236 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This little hotel was one of the best places I have stayed in the world. Not fancy but with the most incredible service and kindness. We had two nights before we went to the Galapagos and arrived late at night and were immediately offered tea or coffee. When I came in from touring around I was asked if I would like my clothes dried! We were offered a guide book to take with us on our travels as long as we returned it on our return. We arrived back on New Year's Eve and our plans had been cancelled and it turned out that the hotel had laid on a New Year's Eve dinner which was absolutely lovely and they even had a Annos Viejo which they burned in the street at about 10 p.m. instead of midnight. It was one of the nicest New Year's Eves that I have spent. We were dreading New Year's day and the following day as our tour guide had told us everything would be closed. The receptionist rang around to check what was open on both days and we found lots to do and had a great time.

The breakfasts were fantastic - very hospitable and loads of fruit, cereal, yoghurt, breads, cheese, ham and also eggs cooked freshly if you wanted them. The staff were always friendly and charming. They do not usually do evening meals as there is a restaurant which they own next door (Clancy's) which is very good and there were loads of others in the neighbourhood but they all close over New Year so we could not try them .

You do need a taxi to get you to the Old Town and other places of interest but the hotel always calls one for you and negotiates the price - the most we paid was about $7 which was for about a 20 minute ride!

You might get a larger room in a 5 star hotel and a few more facilities but I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough because of the joy I felt when I returned to it after being out and the warm welcome and service from all the staff without exception. Just wish it was closer to home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Casa Aliso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

Casa Aliso is slightly out of the town centre adn better for that. It's great to escape the noise and bustle and at the same time be within easy reach of all the attractions.
The hotel describes itself as a small, luxury home and this is exactly what it is.
The staff are wonderful. They are friendly and helpful and prepared to go the extra mile for you. The rooms are spacious and beautiffuly equipped. We returned each night to find that the room heating had been switched on. Quito is a city that is hot during the day and chilly at night, because of the altitude. Speaking of altitude, we were always given Mate tea to counteract the effects. Breakfast was huge and healthy and evening meals could be ordered from the restaurant next door and served in the hotel in front of a blazing log fire. Nothing was too much trouble. I was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cannylass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We recently returned from Ecuador and spent 6 nights at Casa Aliso over a two-week period and we agree whole heartedly with other travelers that highly rated this B & B/ Guest House. By the time we returned for our last 2 night stay, we felt as if we were returning to our home away from home in Quito. The staff made sure all our needs were met - from calling taxis and making sure the drivers knew where we wanted to go, to storing luggage, to answering questions about attractions to insuring that all the guests were fed dinner on September 30th during the "police manifestation" that took place and closed down much of Quito for a day during our stay.

Some things to keep in mind when considering a stay here
- the location in New Town is in a generally quiet neighborhood but be warned that it is located on the flight path to the airport so jets fly almost directly overhead. However, we found that most of the flights stopped by 10PM and we never seemed to be woken up during the night by jet noise. Only a few local dogs occasionally broke the quiet atmosphere.
- there are a number of restaurants that are located in close proximity Casa Aliso (we dined at La Gloria) so you don't need to travel far for dinner if you chose to stay close at "home" for meals
- Old Town Quito is a $5 USD taxi ride from the Casa and takes 10-15 minutes during the morning commute
- we were lucky enough to stay in room "7" on the second floor all 6 nights (even though they were spread out over 4 stays) and found the accommodations spacious, well appointed, quiet (away from the kitchen) while overlooking a small garden courtyard in the back of the house. During our stays, we were able to pop our heads into other rooms that were unoccupied and while all were nicely appointed, their sizes and proximity to the kitchen and common areas differed greatly.
- the Casa (named for a tree in the front courtyard) is relatively new (about 4 years old) and away from other hotels/guest houses so some of the taxi drivers were a little unsure of it's location when we tried to return after dinner or sightseeing. Be sure to take a business card with you when you leave, as the street location on their card was almost always the key to making the drivers aware of where we wanted to go.

All in all , we would have no qualms in highly recommending Casa Aliso to anyone looking for a place to stay in Quito – whether you will be there for a few nights while you explore the city or only one before you head out to the Galapagos.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonPetvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Casa Aliso is a beautiful home in the New Town area of Quito near embassies and many good restaurants. The rooms are beautifully decorated and having several sitting areas made Casa Aliso feel like home. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoMoColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed in Casa Aliso for just 2 nights in May 2010--the first and last nights of our honeymoon visiting the Ecuador highlands and the Galapagos. And we were not disappointed! Casa Aliso is a thoroughly charming inn with a lot of character. And the staff is as warm and friendly as you'll find anywhere, if not more so. The first night we arrived close to midnight and they greeted us, asked us if there was anything we needed and took us to our nicely-appointed 2nd floor room with 4-poster bed. The next morning, I wanted to surprise my wife with breakfast in bed so they got me a tray, made a delicious omelet and provided all the fruits and rolls I wanted. We were headed for a long drive and I wanted a bunch of bottles of water so they just asked how many I wanted.--We ended up taking 6 bottles of water with us at no charge. During the mid-point of our trip, we swung by Casa Aliso to drop off a suitcase and bag early in the morn on the way to Quito airport where we would fly to the Galapagos. They took our large extra suitcase + bag and stored them for 8 days at no charge. When we returned to Casa Aliso for our final night, we let them know that we needed to leave for the airport at 4:30am so they packed us a breakfast with everything we asked for to take with us. Best of all, all the help and service was delivered in the most natural and friendly manner. They must screen staff for sheer "niceness." The breakfasts were excellent and, as I mentioned above, the decor is very charming. There's also free internet (connection is a little slow, but better than a lot of places in Ecuador.) And the room was quiet and comfortable with a great garden outside. In short, we could not have asked for a nicer place to stay on the way to and from the highlands and the Galapagos. Thanks, Casa Aliso, for a great start and end to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkregen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed in this quiet small hotel in Quito for a three nights, the hotel is in a quiet part of Quito and was very comfortable - the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and there is a very good restaurant next door owned by the same people. Taxis are very cheap in Quito so it was very easy to get into the old town for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandnona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We had a delightful stay at Casa Aliso. The staff were very nice. We had a split stay at the hotel. We stayed three nights then went to the Galapagos then returned for one more night before coming home. They stored some of our bags for us while we were away. Breakfast was lovely and the setting is very nice. It is located in the Floresta area.
There are several very nice restaurants with in a block or two. We had a lovely meal at the mediterranean restaurant next door. We would come back here and also recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destinationexpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 111 in Quito
1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#13 of 111 in Quito
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.6 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 111 in Quito
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Aliso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Aliso

Address: Francisco Salazar E 12-137 and Toledo, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £51 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Aliso 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Aliso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Aliso Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing