We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbilled for the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
In-Town Atlanta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Overbilled for the room”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a nice hotel, but the experience was marred by us being overbilled for rooms, followed by poor customer service when my husband tried to resolve the matter.

First, let me say that the showers are great and the rooms modern. It was a bit pricey, but we wanted a no-hassle situation as we were visiting the cloud forest and the Galapagos on tight schedules. It seemed a good fit.

The first night, we arrived around midnight and checked into our room. We were being picked up at 6:35 the next morning to go the cloud forest and the gentleman behind the front desk assured us that, although the breakfast technically did not start until 6:30 a.m., there was no need for a box breakfast or restaurant take-out as there would be food available by 6:20 a.m.. At 6:20 no food was available. A little after 6:30, some items were ready, but most wasn't. We grabbed what we could as we ran out the door.

My husband had tried to check out when we got downstairs, but the front desk staff told him that they were busy and could not do it then. In the confusion, he forgot to check out and the staff ran and got my husband off the van as we were trying to leave. The staff informed my husband that the rate was about $40 more than the rate stated in our email confirmation. He did not have time to argue, did not have a print out of the email, and we were returning in a couple of days, so my husband figured he would deal with it then. He paid.

When we returned two days later they let us check in a little early, which was nice. They also provided a free toothbrush and deodorant for one of our kids, so my husband decided to let the earlier overcharge slide.

The next morning we had to leave at 6:00 a.m. to get to the airport in time for our flight. Wouldn't you know it, they overcharged us again! And again, we did not have time to argue, as our cab was waiting. My husband paid and vowed to follow up with the main business unit.

He went on line to file a complaint with Holiday Inn Express, which sent an automatic response saying they would contact him within 48 hours. Four days later, he got an email saying that they could not see our billing, but they had contacted the Quito hotel and my husband should hear within 48 hours. It has been more than three days, and he has heard nothing.

Given the overbilling, the aggravation and the associated poor customer service, I cannot recommend what should be a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that your stay was not what you expected. Regarding your comments I would like to comment the following:

In both reservations you carried 2 people , at check in we explained that the reservation was made for two people and not for 4 people, for helping we allowed 4 people in the same room with a fee of $ 20 for the two additional personal because the maximun capacity in our rooms are two people.

We are very sorry, maybe the information was not clear.

As always the comments for our guest are highly appreciate.

Best Regards,
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    154
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
64
38
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

It was a nice stay, very easy check-in (even though I arrived at 1 am).

The hotel room has everything you need, the only problem was the outside noise. There was 1 or 2 dogs barking until midnight.

The breakfast was fine and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms that look to the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dea Guest,

Thanks for your time.
You are right, we have the situation of noise.
We went to local authorities so they can help us to solve the problem of the dogs.

I hope this could be solved soon.

Have a great day.

Best Regards,
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

From the front desk check in til when it was time to check out-everything was smooth and friendly. Thanks for arranging transportation. The food was delicious and the coffee was the best I've ever tasted. The hotel, lobby, and rooms are updated and impressive. The free wifi and the views from the gorgeous fitness room was perfect. Thanks for a good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlynPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Is really nice to receive your warm message.
I appreciate your words and is nice to know that our service made your stay more comfortable.
I am going to transfer your words to tne entire staff.

Have a great day.

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My bandmates and I stayed here last week while on a trip/tour while we gave music masterclasses at a University. The hotel staff were courteous and lovely, my room was spotless, and had all the amenities I needed to make my stay comfortable. Bottled water, comfortable bed, safe in the closet. The place was a delight!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bette1stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for take few minutes to write this lovely message.
I appreciate your kind words, is nice to receive your notes. This only compromise our staff each day to improve our service and give our best effort for our guests.

Have a great day

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoa fl
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were shuttled to the HI Express after our LAN flight out of Quito was "reprogrammed"...We arrived at 5:45 AM after a long delay at the airport and the long bus ride back to town. Although they had not been forewarned, the staff treated us so nicely...accommodated about 30 of us in a timely fashion. The rooms are clean, well equipped with wifi, cable, bottled water. The breakfast is excellent and there are nearby restaurants as well.

While LAN dropped the ball in dealing with the flight delay, the staff at the Holiday Inn went above and beyond to take care of us and keep us informed of further delays and schedule changes.
So a big thumbs down for LAN Airlines and a HUGE thumbs up to this HI...

Room Tip: Some of the rooms look out over the city which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We always tried to give the best service.
I appreciate your kind words, is nice to see that our service helps you during your stay.

Today is a cloudy day, but your comment make our day shine.

Best Regards,
Lorena Suarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usersav
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Michelle the front desk manager was so helpful with my booking, a delight.
She helped me so much and is an asset to the holiday Inn
Melisa is also really professional and pleasant
The room is spacious I am here with my son. The free wifi and free breakfast a bonus .
I really can't recommend this Hotel more the staff speak English they are pleasant helpful and accomadating. My check in at midnight was really smooth and the receptionist male forgot to note his name was genuine and warm a lovely surprise after a 20 hour journey .
It's safe it's clean and the staff amazing . I am coming back after Galapodos trip for a further 4 nights . Thank you to the team . I leave tomorrow but look forward to my return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usersav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Is nice to see that our staff help you during your stay.
We are very glad to know that you will come back soon, I am sure that your stay in Galapagos will be wonderfull, is a magic place.

We work every day for our gue
Have a great day.

Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Quick and efficient check-in, good-sized room, big and modern bathroom with awesome shower, everything incredibly clean, and the most amazing view from the roof-top gym/exercise area.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Quito, and wanting a clean, quiet, nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRS3_Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your kind words, your comment makes sense of our work. Is nice to know that you like your stay.

Have a great day
Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Quito

Property: Holiday Inn Express Quito
Address: Avenida Orellana E 6-54 | y Calle Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Quito
#21 Family Hotel in Quito
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel is located at Francisco de Orellana Avenue, one of the most important in the Ecuador's capital city. It is situated in the financial and commercial area, surrounded by state-of-the-art shopping, cultural and tourism centers. 45 Minutes away from new Mariscal Sucre Airport in Tababela. Its location offers immediate access to the trendy area of the city with local bars and restaurants and the wonderful Old City of Quito, Cultural World Heritage Site. Its modern architecture is aesthetically and functionally integrated to a house built in the 50s, considered to be City Heritage. In an environment of great hospitality and excellent service. Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel welcomes you to Quito and Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing