We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STILL GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“STILL GOOD”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my 2nd time staying here and I enjoyed it just like the 1st time.
Hotel staff are very friendly, efficient and courteous. Rooms are well maintained and very comfortable. Only this time, I could here talking from the room next door.
My business associate stayed at this hotel for the 1st time and they really liked it.
Now, if only I could get this exact property in many of the other countries that I travel to, my life would be much easier!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front side of the hotel offer a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valveguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

What a beautiful comment, thanks for your kind words.
We work every day to give the best service to our guests.

We are working on the connecting rooms so you can enjoy your next stay.
Is nice to know that your colleague enjoyned his stay too.

Best Regards,
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    154
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
64
38
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
265 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Quite honestly, I have been to a few Intercontinentals with rooms nowhere as nice as in this hotel. Modern, airy, spacious; excellent soundproof windows, so even in the rooms facing the main avenue the outside noise is not an issue whatsoever. Location is good as per access to the airport, also the touristy district of La Mariscal is within walking distance, and so is an array of places to eat out. Breakfast is also plentiful, well varied and the orange squeezer is a nice, not-so-common plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Gracias por sus comentarios, hizo que nuestro día sea especial.
Experiencias como la suya nos impulsa a cada día entregar más a nuestros huéspedes.

Un excelente día.

Saludos desde Quito
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel was one of the biggest surprises ever for me. This hotel is a Holiday Inn Express?
The level of service, the decoration, the bed, the bathroom, the breakfast are way way above what you would normally get from a Holiday Inn Express at the United States.

Pros:
- Bed comfort. Not too hard, not too soft, great pillows
- Spotless clean
- Service is amazing and polished. Reminds me of a Conrad (see below example)
- Seems like it is a newly built modern hotel
- Everything else is great

Cons:
- Perhaps the location could be better and I assume that plays into the branding decision. However taxis are cheap and safe.

Example of the amazing service I received:
- I got to the hotel at around 1:30AM and mentioned the gentleman at the front desk that I would like to tour the city the following day. He briefly gave me an overview of the touring option and by 2AM I had a confirmed car and guide ready at a cheaper price than what I was able to find on the Internet. Wow! IF management reads this can someone get this guy a bonus or something?
- We had a fridge in our room, but no freezer, so the day before I checked out I asked the front desk if they have a freezer somewhere in the room for my ice-pack. They actually took the ice-pack to the nearby restaurant and picked it up the following morning at check-out. Wow!

I would like to congratulate for the management and the staff for running probably the best Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ucipass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Is nice to know that our Staff helped you during your stay and is lovely to know that our facilities impressed you.

That is our challenge that our guest feels our effort in service and facilities.

You shine my day and the day of our staff.
Best Regards

Lorena Suárez
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Being "just" Holiday inn Express Brand this hotel just exceeded all of our expectations. Starting from the location - it is in the new part of town just at the end of touristy Mariscal. It is opposite Marriott hotel. It is easy approachable when coming from airport (approx. 40 minutes after midnight and leaving at 6.30 a.m. @ 25 USD) avoiding city center traffic jams. Plenty of good restaurants around, f.e. must try excellent Zazu being less than five minutes and 2USD taxi ride away.

Hotel itself is new and still in excellent condition. Has inviting lobby with nicely appointed bar and breakfast room, all on the ground floor. Fitness is on the top floor with excellent views and good equipment.

Rooms are very well equipped and spacious. No traffic noise heard even though our room faced main road. Wonderful city and mountain views. Rooms on the opposite side must be super quiet and also with city view toward old town.

Breakfast also very satysfying. From daily changing hot items to the regular fresh fruit choices as well as cold cuts, excellent guava filled croissants and fresh orange juice.

Service, well, excellent to say, they all were super efficient and helpfull. Though no concierge at this level of hotel all the front desk staff helped us with explanation about the city, directions, recommendations. They even escorted us to the taxi driver in front of the hotel just to make sure we will go to the right place.

We felt very safe around the hotel at any time. As mentioned there is Marriott opposite, Banks, some Ministery building just one block from the hotel...

We were very glad we have chosen this hotel at this Price opposite to more pricy chain options in the city. This hotel is the newest from them and as of very high level.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for share your kind words.
You made that our day become special.
I am going to share your review to entire staff.

We work every day to mantain a high quality service.

Have a great day

Best Regards,
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
312 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

First this hotel is expensive, even by U.S. standards. However the staff are the best anywhere. Everyone is so polite and helpful. They go above and beyond to make your stay the best. To all the front desk staff, the service staff and to Vinicio, you make us feel so welcome. The rooms are always clean, after a few days of me, they still manage to keep them clean! Also thank you for bringing back the coffee in the rooms, made my day! I love it!

Room Tip: the higher the room the less noise, but I have not had a "bad" room. Your in the city you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommysmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for share your experience.
As you mentioned, our staff always make their best effort for our guest.
I am going to transmit your comment to them.

Have a great day

Best Regards,
Lorena Suarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a good hotel a Little expensive for HIE, but has great location near city center and shopping malls. The breakfast is good with an excellent fresh orange juice machine, you can also print your boarding pass as usual, will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind words.
Is glad to know that you have a great stay with us.

Have a great day
Best Regards
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In-Town Atlanta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a nice hotel, but the experience was marred by us being overbilled for rooms, followed by poor customer service when my husband tried to resolve the matter.

First, let me say that the showers are great and the rooms modern. It was a bit pricey, but we wanted a no-hassle situation as we were visiting the cloud forest and the Galapagos on tight schedules. It seemed a good fit.

The first night, we arrived around midnight and checked into our room. We were being picked up at 6:35 the next morning to go the cloud forest and the gentleman behind the front desk assured us that, although the breakfast technically did not start until 6:30 a.m., there was no need for a box breakfast or restaurant take-out as there would be food available by 6:20 a.m.. At 6:20 no food was available. A little after 6:30, some items were ready, but most wasn't. We grabbed what we could as we ran out the door.

My husband had tried to check out when we got downstairs, but the front desk staff told him that they were busy and could not do it then. In the confusion, he forgot to check out and the staff ran and got my husband off the van as we were trying to leave. The staff informed my husband that the rate was about $40 more than the rate stated in our email confirmation. He did not have time to argue, did not have a print out of the email, and we were returning in a couple of days, so my husband figured he would deal with it then. He paid.

When we returned two days later they let us check in a little early, which was nice. They also provided a free toothbrush and deodorant for one of our kids, so my husband decided to let the earlier overcharge slide.

The next morning we had to leave at 6:00 a.m. to get to the airport in time for our flight. Wouldn't you know it, they overcharged us again! And again, we did not have time to argue, as our cab was waiting. My husband paid and vowed to follow up with the main business unit.

He went on line to file a complaint with Holiday Inn Express, which sent an automatic response saying they would contact him within 48 hours. Four days later, he got an email saying that they could not see our billing, but they had contacted the Quito hotel and my husband should hear within 48 hours. It has been more than three days, and he has heard nothing.

Given the overbilling, the aggravation and the associated poor customer service, I cannot recommend what should be a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXQuito, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Quito, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that your stay was not what you expected. Regarding your comments I would like to comment the following:

In both reservations you carried 2 people , at check in we explained that the reservation was made for two people and not for 4 people, for helping we allowed 4 people in the same room with a fee of $ 20 for the two additional personal because the maximun capacity in our rooms are two people.

We are very sorry, maybe the information was not clear.

As always the comments for our guest are highly appreciate.

Best Regards,
Lorena Suárez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.9 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Quito

Property: Holiday Inn Express Quito
Address: Avenida Orellana E 6-54 | y Calle Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Quito
#21 Family Hotel in Quito
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel is located at Francisco de Orellana Avenue, one of the most important in the Ecuador's capital city. It is situated in the financial and commercial area, surrounded by state-of-the-art shopping, cultural and tourism centers. 45 Minutes away from new Mariscal Sucre Airport in Tababela. Its location offers immediate access to the trendy area of the city with local bars and restaurants and the wonderful Old City of Quito, Cultural World Heritage Site. Its modern architecture is aesthetically and functionally integrated to a house built in the 50s, considered to be City Heritage. In an environment of great hospitality and excellent service. Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel welcomes you to Quito and Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Quito Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing