We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really friendly place near the airport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Isla Isabela

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hostal Isla Isabela
Ranked #50 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Oudega, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really friendly place near the airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We've stayed several times in this hostel during our stay in Ecuador. What strikes most is the friendliness of the staff in this hostel. They will always give you a smile and help you with wathever they can. Therefore this place is highly recommended by us.

The location is close to the airport and if you don't mind taking a cab reasonably close to the old town (say about 20 minutes). Due to the proximity of the airport you will hear planes coming over, but probably this will not be the only neighbourhood having to face this and a new airport is being build and will solve this problem. Just use earplugs and you will be sound asleep in the meantime..

The rooms are kept spotless clean but do show some wear and tear from the years of service. The free shuttle service is great!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsantema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    9
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
27
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

I stayed with my daughter (aged 20) for 3 nights at the beginning and end of our travels in Ecuador. We were extremely well looked after by everyone, and made to feel very much at home. The owners (everyone seems to be family) even provided 2 free airport transfers each way (my daughter and I arrived from different destinations) including a departure at 4.45 am! Rooms are simple but comfortable, and the hotel is perfect for arriving and departing Quito, being close to the airport. It's a bit out of the centre but taxis are cheap so no problems. Thoroughly recommended and thanks again to everyone (Monica, Charlie the guys and of course Olga).

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandpParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed in Hostal Isla Isabella for 4 separate nights in beginning of May 2010. Very "homey" feel. Everyone who works there are either a child or grand child of the owner - gracious old lady that will give you hugs at any occasion.
Location - close to the airport ($2 - taxi), a bit noisy during the day - you are constantly under the impression that plane is about to land on the roof of the hostal, but I guess you cant' have your cake and eat it. Also because its on the side street - its very quiet during the night and thats when you need it most. None of your regular - "karaoke all night long" that you get in Mariscal or other touristy areas. Saying that - its only $3-4 a taxi to old town and La Ronda and only takes 10 min, so you are close to action , but still get a good night sleep away from it.
Rooms - nothing to write home about, but very clean, as well as bathrooms. Bonus - Foxtel TV in every room - for those who spent most of the time in South Amreica pursuing outdoor activities and in need of "TV fix". Watching "Simpson' in Spanish?!!! Ay Caramba!
Breakfast - included in the room price and is FANTASTIC! Home made "Guayava" Jam is a must to try ( looks like catchup, but it ain't catchup). Tropical goodness!. You also get a plate of fruit or eggs ( your choice). Coffee, and fresh croissants.
Staff - FRIENDLIEST I HAVE EVER SEEN. Free airport pick up is a bonus.
Thanks a lot . See you next time.
Sondra & Alex, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangarusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

Hi everybody, I stayed there two nights in my route to Galapagos islands. They have airport transfer service and it is affordable.
I surely recommend it, it is next to the airport and it is really easy to get a bus to the city center.
Airplanes can be noisy, but quickly you will get use to them. Breakfast has fresh fruit. And you can always talk to Francisco or Juan to give you some advise about the places you can visit.
If you want to stay in the downtown, you have to have much more money in your pocket.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseCasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Do not stay here. Under any circumstances. We booked a night here on our last night in Quito because it was near to the airport and got great reviews on TripAdvisor. When we arrived, we actually thought we had the wrong place; but no such luck.

First, it's in a completely random, residential section of Quito, not near anything. The guy at the front desk didn't seem to know what he was doing at any time. Our room door lock didn't work very well. The bathroom was disgusting -- mold in the cracks, a toilet that didn't really flush (which we knew because there was detritus from the last person), cracked countertops, and broken light fixtures.

The beds were actually comfortable but we both spent the next day scratching the flea bites that were all over us from laying in them. You'll note I didn't say "sleeping" because we didn't sleep.

We knew we were near to the airport, but the noise was akin to being on the runway. The planes flew directly overhead with deafening sound.

And the bar across the street? It goes until 3 am. Loudly.

The whole place smelled a little musty. We both flew home dirty, to avoid stepping foot into the shower and having to use the threadbare, kind of yellowish towels.

Just don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monicafe1, Director de Recepción at Hostal Isla Isabela, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
We are extremely sorry for your bad experience and deeply apologize for it. Unlike many of our guest’s opinions, we think that our little hostel is far from being ideal, but we try hard to keep it clean and comfortable for our guests. We are paying close attention to your claims in order to fix any fault on our side. Give us the opportunity to make it up for you at our expense so you can appreciate our services and location better: one block away from Amazonas Ave, close to all kinds of little businesses and big malls at the financial center. You have our email, if you would like to contact us anytime, to help us achieve better quality in our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Our by the hostal confirmed E-Mail reservation didn't run, so that they changed us at 1 a.m. in another terrible place just around the corner.
The room in Isla Isabela was, compared with other hotels in Ecuador, lousy and and in fact much to expensiv for what you get. Forthermore it's a very loud place in the house itself and from the airplanes, which flew just over the house.
For us just the breakfast and Francisco were okay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monicafe1, Relacionadora Pública at Hostal Isla Isabela, responded to this review, 21 April 2010
We are so very sorry for your discomfort. This is what in aviation is called "human error" and it is all MY fault. I must say in my defense that the cancellation of your flight didn´t help either. We will make sure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

I had an amazing time at this cozy little place. The owners were lovely and very helpful.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travellerymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#53 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mayu Yellow
Le Mayu Yellow
#105 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sandmelis
Hotel Sandmelis
#73 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Terra 4
#115 of 226 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Los Cibeles
#117 of 226 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoy Inn
Savoy Inn
#121 of 226 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Isla Isabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Isla Isabela

Property: Hostal Isla Isabela
Address: Calle Isla Isabela N41-21 y Calle Isla Floreana | Bullfights Area, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Isla Isabela 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an establishment with more than 19 years of experience. Our goal is to make you feel at home !! We offer the services that you will only find in a hotel. We are located in a safe place, close to banks, parks, C.Comercials, sites of historical interest, access to transport and gastronomic places.We will provide information on all this! Our rooms are some very spacious to accommodate families and others for 1 or 2 people. All have private bathroom- wifi- hot water- cable TV- laundry- garage and facilities in the with the kitchen. We normally only serve under reservations. Our staff is very friendly and we want you to feel good, to talk and talk about our cultures ... Come, meet and enjoy !! Your home in Quito ...Comfort and excellent localization. You will enjoy staying with us. We are looking forward to receiving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Isla Isabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Isla Isabela Hotel Quito
Hostal Isla Isabela Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing