We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stubel Suites and Cafe
Ranked #23 of 272 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great location - wonderful view over Quito from the restaurant. We stayed here for two nights before heading to Galapagos.
Unfortunately we didn't have the gorgeous view from our room. Rooms were really clean (just dated - a bit 70's like and a little too dark but not bad).
Staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient. Good location in my opinion, very short taxi ride to historical centre and the marical sucre. Also we were surprised that the area around the hotel is extremely safe. A lot of amenities nearby and their restaurant food was good.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back of the hotel, overlooking the view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae_lovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Stubel Suites and Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days. Was in Quito to attend a family wedding. We booked several rooms at this hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Personalized service. Restaurant has an excellent view of the city. Daily breakfast had a wide range of items to choose from.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bbd313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

good location, great view of mountains and value behind. excellent service. hotel called cab for 3am, made to-go food for us and printed our boarding passes to help with early flight. rooms were very clean and nice on the inside.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor next to a children's playground. There were people out there when...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Do you ever travel somewhere and have one person ruin your experience? That is exactly what happened to my small family at Stubel Suites. Every day of our 5 night stay, after passing by the front desk to walk around the city, we were completely ignored by the women at the front desk. She would only speak to us if we had questions, and then we were treated like we were invading her hive, and she was the queen bee. She had a complete arrogant and flippant attitude about anything we tried to ask her for and we were hoping for the days when she was not working, so we did not have to deal with the uncomfortableness that she always gave us. In the end, after asking for a one hour delayed checkout (something that I have seen graciously given by hotels in almost 18 other countries and countless other hotels. She instead told us that we HAD to leave at 12:00, not even giving us an option to store our bags for a couple hours so we could walk around the city with our small child before heading to the airport. For anyone who is looking for a nice stay, sure, choose Stubel Suites. If you would like a good experience while spending YOUR money, and be treated as a GUEST, please choose any of the other countless good hotels in Quito. Thank you front desk Queen B, I only hope that the owner of the hotel realizes what you are doing to his/her business and that you are the sole reason for giving Stubel Suites a bad reputation.

Room Tip: No rooms have air conditioners, so you are left with leaving a window open all night. However the h...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whyaskwhytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

At first when we got to the hotel we were super impressed, really nice property for the money, but looks can be deceiving.
The rooms were nice and clean, staff was nice and restaurant food was good.
But none of that matters though when you are being charged for one nights stay TWICE so in reality this place is no bargain and good luck getting back your money.
In short we were suppose to receive a discount, we were told by the receptionist to cancel current res and rebook so we could get a lower one night rate so we did. When we returned home our credit card was charged twice, with the more expensive rate AND the discounted rate. I tried to rectify the situation with the manager several times but we could not get them to remove the extra charge for nothing.....This place is not worth the aggravation it has caused.....much nicer hotels in Quito for the same money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
3  Thank lamb919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Staff were friendly, good location, nice and quiet and a cheap taxi ride from downtown. One of the Desk attendees, Daniel, cannot be trusted to organize anything, including tours, taxis or even a wake up call, but the others were able to cover for him. Food is great there and the views impressive.....well worth staying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarlessfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Being our third stay in a city of many hotel choices should be sufficient to tell you we thoroughly enjoy the Stubel. From booking reservations over the internet from the USA, to arranging drivers and tours, to their restaurant, and especially staying in a suite overlooking the exceptional view, we could not be happier! There are many conveniently located restaurants and shops nearby. Certainly a very safe neighborhood to walk about. Just can't say enough about the courteous, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 112 in Quito
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#14 of 112 in Quito
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#13 of 112 in Quito
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 112 in Quito
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 112 in Quito
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stubel Suites and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stubel Suites and Cafe

Address: Pasaje Stubel Nro. 1 y Leon Larrea, Quito 2460, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 272 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stubel Suites and Cafe 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stubel Suites and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stubel Suites And Cafe Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing