We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!.., but do not accept room in 4th floor...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stubel Suites and Cafe
Ranked #22 of 258 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice!.., but do not accept room in 4th floor...”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

They are directly below the dinning terrace and you will listen to every chair and table that is moved, every step of patrons, every glass that breaks, etc, etc. Really impossible to get any rest!

Otherwise, rooms are clean, a bit dated, but work great. Awesome views and great terraces. Location is great for Quito but a drive from the airport. No a/c in rooms should not be an issue in quito's climate, but it does make for a varying temp night and day.

Breakfast was cheap, but staff very friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    77
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
31
66
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at Stubel for our first three nights in Ecuador, and could not have been happier with it! We originally spent the extra $5/night to ensure we’d get a view, but to our surprise we were upgraded to the suite when we arrived for check-in. The suite was like a full condo, including a beautiful kitchen, huge deck, and even laundry facilities! The room was beautiful and very clean, and there was lots of storage in the bedroom and bathroom.
I’d definitely recommend Stubel for anyone doing a long term stay, as it has everything you need. Wifi and breakfast are also included which is great, and there is a taxi stand outside with a number of drivers on standby. Oh, and the views are phenomenal!
I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had booked our reservations in advance. Had we known what would happen, we would have never stayed here. When we got to our room housekeeping was doing hotel laundry in our room. They had to come back multiple times to retrieve their laundry! Money also stolen out of the safe. Money was never returned.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlieistraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia Beatric... C, Gerente at Stubel Suites and Cafe, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped,

Recibimos su comentario en la recepcion respecto al robo que usted manifiesta. Asi como le informamos ese día, el personal del hotel ingresa a las habitaciones unicamente para realizar la limpieza de las mismas. Nosotros tenemos varios controles y le comento que uno de ellos son las cerraduras electronicas. Las cuales mostraron el ingreso a su habitacion por su llave y la del camarero que limpió su cuarto. Para estar seguros de este tema revisamos y grabamos en un archivo que esta en el hotel todos los movimiento de quien entro a su cuarto. Como le escribí en el mail del 20 de febrero de 2014 unicamente usted con su familia ingresaron a la habitacion. El camarero unicamente ingresó para realizar la limpieza. Lamentamos la perdida que usted manifiesta y le invitamos a revisar y recordar que en su visita en Ecuador usted estuvo tambien en otros sitios adicionales al hotel. Esperamos esto le ayude a recordar el lugar en el que se pudo haber extraviado la perdida que usted manifiesta.

El video esta a las ordenes y podemos enviarselo cuando usted guste.

Saludo cordial,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights there and really enjoyed it. Spacious apartments and a outstanding breakfast! Service was generally good, but of course there are some South America specifics (very loud TV in restaurant, problems serving drinks to the rooms, etc.). Nothing to really worry about ...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Be sure you get a room with a view to the valley. It is fantastic. Otherwise, you will see from your window either Quito ugly garages, or lots of persons from the neighborhood will see directly to your room. Very good location.
I got no air condition in my room. Most of the times you might not need it in Quito, due to its cold weather. But I did perspire!
Hotel is very clean and neat. Well kept. However, the staff is not very efficient. I had to ask three times for a tooth paste, waiting for hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the valley. The rest of the rooms do not have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

While stubel is a nice hotel in a good location, their customer service is horrible. At the beginning of my stay I was not made aware that local calls were charged at over 1 usd per minute ( I was charged nothing at my previous hotel) and was then charged for a call I made and one that I did not make over 40 usd. The receptionist was not even polite about the ordeal nor was able to help me dispute the charges. I made the 40 usd to avoid being late to my next destination. I would not stay at this hotel again because of the lack of information I was provided regarding the additional charges (which were significant) and the fact that their is no sense of the importance of customer service, which I believe any great business strives for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myc1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights here, using two rooms for our family of 6. One of the rooms had a baby crib (pack'n'play) set up for us as requested when we finally arrived at 1:00 a.m. The staff could not have been any more helpful. We had 10 large suitcases, 4 carry-on's, and a stroller and they did not even blink an eye! (My daughter was moving to Ecuador, so brought everything she could.) They arranged for a driver to take us to many sights in Quito since we really only had one full day for sightseeing. The breakfast was delicious and very nicely arranged. There was something for everyone.....hard boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon (!), cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, breads and a toaster, coffee any way you wanted it. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. I felt it was a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carej50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quito
Hotel Quito
#26 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stubel Suites and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stubel Suites and Cafe

Property: Stubel Suites and Cafe
Address: Pasaje Stubel Nro. 1 y Leon Larrea, Quito 2460, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 258 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stubel Suites and Cafe 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stubel Suites and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stubel Suites And Cafe Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing