We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful apartment hotel!”
Review of Lugano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lugano Hotel
Ranked #56 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Really nice and spacy apartment hotel in Quito.

Not close to the tourist areas (old town and Mariscal square). But, very modern and convenient location and I thought that it was ideal.
Unfortunately, I stayed at Lugano Suites for only two nights and I was too sick to enjoy the neighborhood while there, I was very happy to choose their accommodations for the duration of my Ecuador trip.

The taxi ride to the new airport early in the morning was an easy 30 minutes drive and cost me $25.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTRABBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here. Staff was friendly and helpful. Driver available for trips away from the hotel. I was happy to have a bathtub in Ecuador with plenty of hot water to fill it. The room is very nice and comfortable, kitchenette was handy. Breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from. Easy to get around Quito from the hotel as it is very close to the main trolley line.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHOtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is a great place to stay if you need a clean, quiet, modern hotel close to the airport. We stayed just one night on our way to Mindo. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. The breakfast is included and pretty good though not fancy. The room included a kitchenette with fridge, stovetop, but we didn’t need it. The bed was comfortable, and bathroom decent. Don’t be surprised if a cab ride cost you $10 for a late night arrival as the taxis seem to hike up the fares for late night versus daytime fares.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Very comfortable suites. Travelled with my girlfriend and rooms were very comfortable and clean. They have a small kitchenette as wll as a dinette. All the people that work at the hotel are very kind and helpful. Definitively worth what you pay for the suite! Well located in the north section of Quito, close walk to restaurants and Quicentro, a very good shopping mall.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Juan Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for four nights as part of a business trip. The rooms are a really good size, with everything you would need to make your stay comfortable. Felt very safe and secure here. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is a way out from the centre, put there are a few restaurants within walking distance.Free shuttles to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Loved staying here, the block was well located in a nice residential area with a shopping centre and supermarket not far away. The communal areas were very modern and clean. The suite itself was fantastic, very well appointed and nicely decorated. It was good to be able to cook for ourselves but there is only a hob and an microwave.

The breakfast was very good with a nice variety of food. The business centre had printing facilities which we found useful. The staff were all very helpful. The wifi was excellent the whole time.

The only downsides is the location - it is quite a long way from the new area and even further from the old town. However there is a good bus service that takes you straight there.

You are also in a flight path so occasionally you have a plane going overhead, but it wasn't too distracting.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We chose Lugano Suites as it seemed a good value, quality accommodation option close to Quito Airport - and it was. We arrived after midnight from our flight and it was about a 10 minute and US$5 cab ride to Lugano. Friendly welcome, 24 hour reception, good security, etc. upon arrival.

Our room was great: good size kitchen/lounge, bedroom, and bathroom. Being serviced apartments they didn't have room service so it wasn't possible to get any food at that hour which was the only downside. The buffet breakfast was good quality and adequate however. Proximity to the airport and value make this a great option in Quito - especially if you're on a fleeting visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro_Gonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#9 of 112 in Quito
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#30 of 112 in Quito
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ventanal de Bellavista
0.6 mi away
Casa Q Hotel
Casa Q Hotel
#28 of 112 in Quito
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#39 of 112 in Quito
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Hotel

Address: Suiza N33 132 y Checoeslovaquia, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lugano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lugano Suites Hotel has 23 suites, each one equipped with living and dining rooms, kitchenette, and one or two bedrooms. Each suite has all necessary amenities for a short or long stay that will contribute to make you feel right at home. All areas are decorated with a minimalist style, generating a harmonious atmosphere which invites you to relax. Likewise, the hotel has a cafeteria–conference room, a business center and BBQ Terrace. All these social areas and 23 suites are connected to high speed wireless Internet. This service is free of charge for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lugano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing