We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lugano Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
95
48
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
48
6
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarolina parkbedroom suitesmall kitchengreat hotelstayed for nightsminute walkwithin walking distancesitting areasafe areaairportirontaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was just wonderful. We have been touring South America for a month, and what a treat to get home comforts in your suite. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk away for the city tour start point. There is also a large mall at the start point. The hotel is within 3 minutes of a lovely park which has a bit of everything. The breakfast is very good and staff are very friendly and can't do enough to make your stay trouble free. A parting comment - the body lotion in the bathroom was really good. The bathroom is a bit small but everything else makes up for that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place was very good. The room was comfortable and suitable for travelers who are staying a few days, as there is a refrigerator and kitchen. The breakfast was excellent, with a nice selection of hot and cold entrees, and two rooms for eating, one with local Spanish-language TV, and one with English-speaking channels. The lobby is a very tiny but most guests will take advantage of the extra room in their suite. There was only one TV in the room, located in the bedroom. The price is very reasonable.
The staff is excellent, very helpful, and offer the service of an excellent personal guide for those wishing to take day trips. Our was Fabien, and he was great.
Good restaurants are in easy walking distance in this upscale and safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were looking for a place for two couples for a few nights in between trips to Galapagos and Amazon, and before flying back home. Two bedroom suites have central living area with small kitchenette (fridge, microwave) and dining area. Like all places in Quito, noise coming up from the street can be loud. But fortunately Lugano is on a fairly quiet street.

The taxi driver had a hard time finding the location. But once we were there we were very happy with the locale. Some good restaurants within walking distance.

Breakfast was included and was a huge spread. Hot and cold food. Many different types of local juices and fruits.

A very nice bonus - when we asked for a taxi to the airport they arranged a car service for the same price as a cab. The morning we left for the Amazon was clear and our driver was so excited to point out the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel - for less street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

First of all, Quito is a big city; so, no matter where you stay, you'll have to take a taxi to go anywhere, and the whole town is an hour taxi ride from the airport.

Having said that, location wise, we couldn't have picked a better place than Lugano Suites, as it's located in a quieter and more residential neighborhood across from Parque La Carolina. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance, and having a park so close to the hotel was a big bonus for us as we were traveling with a young child.

The hotel and its amenities were nice, new and met all our needs, and the breakfast, although not extensive, was acceptable.

However, what made Lugano Suites exceptional was the excellent service, especially a concierge (door man, porter, and an all-around go to person) named Luizao, who worked tirelessly to make sure our stay in Quito was enjoyable. Every time we called a cab, he took the time to make sure that the driver knew exactly where we were going, and if/when we ran into a problem, he was always helpful and worked to find a solution. We wouldn’t have had such a wonderful stay in Quito without Luizao’s help, and the great staff at Lugano Suites!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gl0betrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel is a true gem in Quito! We stayed in this hotel for a few nights and would recommend this hotel to everyone. The value of the hotel is great. We had a suite with a kitchenette, living room, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The price was very reasonable. The hotel is modern with all amenities you might need (TV, stereo, iron, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, etc.). It's clean and spotless. Compared to the Sheraton hotel next door, this hotel is newer and nicer.

The service is extremely helpful and friendly. The staff certainly knows how to make their guests feel welcome. There is a business center on the 2nd floor. The complimentary breakfast is basic but plentiful. The hotel will arrange airport pickups for you, if needed.

The location is excellent in the La Carolina part of town. It's easy to get into the historical district by bus or taxi. Close by (walking distance) are two shopping centers: Quicentro (big mall), Megamaxi (smaller shopping center with huge grocery store). The staff recommended "Mi Cocina" restaurant in Megamaxi. It had great tasting and affordable food. The shrimp in coconut is excellent!

In case you want to do laundry while in Quito, the hotel can arrange it for you. Also, there are several "lavanderias" in La Carolina. Prices are cheap. If you're in a hurry, behind Quicentro mall, there is an express "lavanderia" on the corner of Av. 6 de diciembre and El Mercurio. They will wash and iron your clothes in 2 hours. It is very affordable. The lady in charge speaks English well and service is great.

We would recommend Lugano Suites to everyone - we would certainly stay in this place again if we travel to Quito.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews