We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding value, lots of fun, great people”
Review of Blue House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue House
Ranked #17 of 278 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

WOW! Absolutely fantastic.

The Blue House was full when I arrived, so I had to stay next door for a few days before I could get in. That's really too bad - however, I was fortunate enough to get an awesome room here yesterday.

The Blue House is well kept, modern, has very reliable Wi-Fi, tons of hot water in the shower, excellent breakfast buffet every morning, several huge common areas with tables and chairs, pool table, tv, even a BBQ in the front yard you can use. They have cold, cold beverages for sale at cheap prices in the lobby, many useful travel maps and brochures, As with most places, it has a secured gate ... and a storage room for your luggage. They also have safety deposit boxes for your valuables. ALL AT A FABULOUS PRICE - dorm rooms start at $8.

But the absolute best attribute is Christian. Christian runs the place during the day ... his happy, smiling face is always ready and more than able to help you with anything you need. And, he speaks perfect English - which is great for me.

Christian really put the icing on the cake. I'd recommend this place to anyone and everyone - and I've taken some business cards with me to do just that.

You won't be disappointed.

Tracey from Canada

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFrugalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

we stayed here our last night in ecuador before an early flight home the next morning. it's right in the middle of Mariscal Sucre which is nice.

the rooms were nice, ours was a bit odd though - it's quite obvious there was some shoddy modifications made to add an extra bed. awkward things like the door to the bathroom doesnt open all the way because it hits the sink... funny stuff, i find. it was a bit noisy - the wall of part of the room doesnt go to the ceiling so i could hear people downstairs as well as people in the room next to us. but it got quiet later at night.

shower got hot - too hot actually, i almost got scalded a few times, so be careful. but at least it gets hot. wifi available. breakfast included but we left for the airport before it was served.

they will get you a private driver for the airport for $30, cheaper than the shuttle for 4 of us. much much faster as well. overall a decent stay. very helpful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at Blue house for about two weeks in all, always in the 8 bed dorm. The atmosphere is friendly and there are some good social areas. Large kitchens, pool room, lounge, TV room and outside seating areas. The staff will help in any way they can, booking taxis, arranging trips and they have an outstanding, cheap and speedy laundry service too. Breakfast is included and is as much as you can eat, although you may want to alternate with some of your own food as it is te same every day. There are two bathrooms and a toilet, which sometimes means queueing in the mornings, but as everyone has different timescales to worry about it rarely means for more than 15 minutes at a time. The cleaner was very thorough and lovely too! Thank you for a brilliant stay blue House! :)

Room Tip: if you stay in the 8 bed dorm then it can be more disruptive than the 4 bed dorms. I listen to music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KirriePocketWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. It was a cheap hostel but not more than that. When we arrived the bathroom was not cleaned at all. It was an used towel there. But a man cleaned it for us when we told him. But not very well. It is a very loudly place. The young guy in the reception did not speak a word english. When we came down to the breakfast in the morning everything was eaten up. But after maybe 20 minutes they gave us more bread. It was very dirty in the breakfast area. Not fresh at all. They have good taxi service. The location of the hostel is very good, near Mariscal.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, we were put in the sister hostel of the same name close by. Room was expensive at 30usd, and it was dirty with a bed that e did not want to get into! Breakfast was included but vile. Very disappointed, we booked as a result of positive review in Lonely Planet, and this place did not live up to it at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

i stayed at the blue house while i was in quito trying to get my work visa and they were very helpful and supportive.i was very very stressed. they lent me a good towel a fleece jacket and did my laundry extra quick for me. they also gave us lots of useful information.
you can eat unlimited breakfast of toast jam cereal tea coffee yogurt juice and bananas.
its 3 minutes from the zone Rosa but its nice and quiet.
it has a pool table sofas a fire sometimes and a barbi area with hammock etc.... outside.
the staff speak enough English and are happy to help you with your Spanish.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisajw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived early and despite notifying the hostel of our 5 AM arrival time, we were greeted rather rudely by the nightman who had clearly just woken up. There was a lot of confusion and at first we were told there wasn't room for us. After he realized we had made a reservation, we waited until check-in time and another (kinder) man who worked there let us change into a different room so we could check in earlier. It was much appreciated. As was the super fast internet. (It worked great!)

However, throughout the rest of our stay, a third "day" person was always there and was not the most helpful... When we tried to extend our stay, it seemed impossible and when we didn't understand what was going on in Spanish, we asked if he could help us understand in English- to which he simply kept speaking in Spanish. I don't expect everyone to speak English, but he could have simply told us that he didn't speak English... or said we should talk to someone else at a different, specific time...

Our private room (one double bed with one set of bunk beds) has a bathroom that clearly used to be a porch turned into a bathroom. Very cold. Water got hot only some of the time during our three nights stay. Lots of dust hanging from fabric covering up metal roof. And the wastebin was really disgusting. I don't mind at all throwing my tissue in the trash! I've been traveling around S. America for awhile now, but I don't want to touch a dirty and very unsanitary waste basket lid to do so! Gross!

The wiring in our room was spotty- the ceiling light went out, and then when a lamp was plugged in, it would flicker on and off we eventually turned everything off out of annoyance. Also, it seemed as though the cleaning staff entered our room, we think to get the trash (only?) but never made up the bed? (I found that strange...) or cleaned up our room? Even though the smell of chemical cleaning products was overwhelming at times in the hostel...

Lastly, when we left, we had a taxi arranged through the hostel. We thought it was great and really trustworthy, but we quickly realized our driver did not seem to care whether or not we made it to our bus on time or not. We left an hour early for what should have been a half hour ride. He was so nonchalant about how late we were, we wondered if he was going slow on purpose so we would pay him to drive us back into town from the bus station when we found out we missed our bus. Not cool. Luckily we ran and made our bus right before it left.

Room Tip: Don't get the room with the private bathroom/porch (one double and one set of bunk beds)... It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#35 of 113 in Quito
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BoutiQuito Design Hostel
1.6 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#4 of 278 in Quito
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House

Address: Joaquin Pinto E8-24 y Diego de Almagro, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 278 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £13 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue House is a youth hostel located in the best tourist area of Quito, a few blocks from the square Foch, with easy access to areas of interest of the city, the house was built 60 years ago, worked here the former Embassy of Colombia, the hostel has large and beautiful areas in common with plenty of natural light and a large courtyard with barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing