We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place.”
Review of Blue House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue House
Ranked #14 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived at 9:30am after a night bus from Peru not expecting our rooms to be ready in any way. We were told at check in we would only have to wait half an hour so we should go have the free breaky and come back at 10am. That's exactly what we did.
The free breakfast is good, toast, jam, bananas, coffee, tea, milk and also oats. We were also in our room by 10:30, 2 hours before actual check in.
The staff are really helpful and helped us plan a few days worth of activities.
The beds weren't the best nor were the pillows but the hostel itself was a really nice place with adequate places to sit and hang out. And also it's in a really good spot, very close to plaza Foch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthlisa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and two friends booked a night at this place in advance, advising we would be arriving at 0600. We arrived on a bus from Guayaquil slightly early and were sleep deprived, after ringing the bell a number of times we were finally let in. The guy who we were served by was very rude and even after we told him we had a reservation he advised the hostel was full; we provided proof of our reservation - not that we should have to though! The guy then said that we couldn't check in until 12PM and said we would have to wait outside - for 7 hours...we then asked if we could use the common couches and he continued to be rude, providing no other option until we begged to be able to at least sleep on the couches inside as it was freezing outside. He reluctantly agreed and stormed off, switching off the lights and leaving us in darkness; what a welcome to Quito.

As if all this wasn't enough, we then tried to get some sleep on the couches and after 5 minutes all felt bites from something - there definitely weren't any mosquitos or other flying insects and thus we can only suggest there was a bug infestation of the couches. At just after 7AM some of his (the staff member) friends arrived, still drunk from the night before and laughing so loud I'm surprised anyone else in the hostel could sleep. The staff member then told us he needed to 'clean' the area we were trying to sleep in; although it seemed awfully clean already and made us all get up and told us to go outside.

At this point we opted to book alternate accomodation, not wanting to add to the multiple large bites we received from the couches in the common area by sleeping in their dorms. When we returned from breakfast at a nearby restaurant and asked to collect our bags they didn't seem to care and had no intention of asking us to stay. We didn't even bother to request our deposit be returned and were just happy to leave.

Throughout this entire process we were very polite and did as asked, whilst being dealt an arrogant and rude attitude from the staff member. I cannot recommend this hostel in any way and would suggest you opt for somewhere else if you value being treated like a human and not vermin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucidite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

well kept, well run, well located hostal. staff is friendly, there is a pool table and a common-room for dining. think there's a kitchen too, but didn't use it. Its well located - close to Foch with the restaurants, cafés and night-life. (But just at the right end of the street to not be too close). Also close to the bus-station, (Ecovia) from where it is easy to acces the old town. Good parking too (though only room for 1-2 cars). only complain is breakfast - really not worth while, but what to expect at a fair priced hostal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maibrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

After staying in the hostel "Vibes" for one night (and not being content - it's pretty expensive and not really nice) me and my friend moved to the Blue House.
We really liked it, the staff is very nice, they have a great pool table, a TV room and the (included) breakfast was decent - RECOMMENDATION!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdibutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hey travellers,

The blue house hostel in Quito is great address for staying, even if it is just for a short time. The rooms are nice, but you are not staying the whole day in your room anyway, right? For 9 dollars in the Blue House you have breakfast included as well as towels and a very nice staff! The staff of the Blue House is always looking after your well-being, especially Christian at the reception and Carolina, the housekeeper. She is a little bit like a "Mama" and is really nice talking too. Furthermore, the Blue House has a good proximity to bars, restaurants and more without you hearing a lot in the rooms about it.

Other people you meet at the Blue House are from Argentina, the Netherlands, Germany, Iceland, USA, Asia, New Zealand, so literally from all over the World.
It is a nice and diverse crowd to dive in when arriving at the Blue House. I really liked the atmosphere and the Blue House for the mentioned reasons, otherwise I wouldn't stayed there four times during my stay, right?

So if you would like to have a great hostel, in a good location, for a I think good price in Quito then you are welcome to stay in the Blue House!
Just be aware that you might need to make a reservation in advance if you can. If not, they have another, little smaller alternative of the Blue House available, which is also nice to stay in. And it is only two blocks away from the "main" Blue House.

And remember guys: Keep Travelling and Exploring the World!

Room Tip: I only stayed in dorm rooms with 6 Beds. And they are nice. Other rooms are also available like sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Viajer02014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosi8186, Gerente at Blue House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por tu comentario, nos llena de mucha satisfacción el saber que tu estadía fue muy placentera, esperamos tu visita en tu próximo viaje, saludos Nicolás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

WOW! Absolutely fantastic.

The Blue House was full when I arrived, so I had to stay next door for a few days before I could get in. That's really too bad - however, I was fortunate enough to get an awesome room here yesterday.

The Blue House is well kept, modern, has very reliable Wi-Fi, tons of hot water in the shower, excellent breakfast buffet every morning, several huge common areas with tables and chairs, pool table, tv, even a BBQ in the front yard you can use. They have cold, cold beverages for sale at cheap prices in the lobby, many useful travel maps and brochures, As with most places, it has a secured gate ... and a storage room for your luggage. They also have safety deposit boxes for your valuables. ALL AT A FABULOUS PRICE - dorm rooms start at $8.

But the absolute best attribute is Christian. Christian runs the place during the day ... his happy, smiling face is always ready and more than able to help you with anything you need. And, he speaks perfect English - which is great for me.

Christian really put the icing on the cake. I'd recommend this place to anyone and everyone - and I've taken some business cards with me to do just that.

You won't be disappointed.

Tracey from Canada

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFrugalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we stayed here our last night in ecuador before an early flight home the next morning. it's right in the middle of Mariscal Sucre which is nice.

the rooms were nice, ours was a bit odd though - it's quite obvious there was some shoddy modifications made to add an extra bed. awkward things like the door to the bathroom doesnt open all the way because it hits the sink... funny stuff, i find. it was a bit noisy - the wall of part of the room doesnt go to the ceiling so i could hear people downstairs as well as people in the room next to us. but it got quiet later at night.

shower got hot - too hot actually, i almost got scalded a few times, so be careful. but at least it gets hot. wifi available. breakfast included but we left for the airport before it was served.

they will get you a private driver for the airport for $30, cheaper than the shuttle for 4 of us. much much faster as well. overall a decent stay. very helpful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.3 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 290 in Quito
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Hostelito
El Hostelito
#6 of 290 in Quito
126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hump Day Hostel
Hump Day Hostel
#2 of 290 in Quito
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#40 of 290 in Quito
77 reviews
1.6 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Aleida's Hostal
Aleida's Hostal
#11 of 290 in Quito
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House

Address: Joaquin Pinto E8-24 y Diego de Almagro, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £12 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue House is a youth hostel located in the best tourist area of Quito, a few blocks from the square Foch, with easy access to areas of interest of the city, the house was built 60 years ago, worked here the former Embassy of Colombia, the hostel has large and beautiful areas in common with plenty of natural light and a large courtyard with barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing