We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food expensive and bad w/ "double tax" - Comida cara y mala, y doble "impuesto"”
Review of Windsor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #95 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food expensive and bad w/ "double tax" - Comida cara y mala, y doble "impuesto"”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I went there to work for a couple of hours while enjoying an afternoon coffee. The supposed "mixed" sandwich, was made with sunbeam white bread and hardly any cheese and ham, and a terrible hot chocolate.
For much less money, I could eat fresh delicious Ecuadorian buns w/ fresh Ecuadorian cheese and thick ham, and an out of this world Ecuadorian hot chocolate! And I know that, but obviously foreigners who visit my country are deceived and extorted daily in this kind of place because they are afraid to explore other places. What a waste of a trip and money! Ah, and they even charged "tax 2," a service charge, which is illegal in Ecuador.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cecigonzalez03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
12
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I didn't actually stay at this hotel, but during a 9 hour layover in Quito my mother and I wanted a place to stash our bags while walking around the city. After asking a couple place and getting flat turned down, windsor quickly accepted, making sure all our money and valuables were out of them before we left. When we came back to claim them they didn't even ask for any money! The staff seemed very nice and attentive. I recommend looking into this hotel!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel is comfortable with large, clean rooms, and nice bathrooms. The hotel is right on Amazonas Ave, a central area in Quito - it makes it a bit noisy. There is a travel agency in the lobby area which was very convenient. It didn't have an elevator. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back - so there is less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripwiz1733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The rooms are large, plainly furnished & decorated but very comfortable and secure. The bed was comfortable and the room had a large wardrobe and cable tv. The bathroom was modern and spacious with a full size bath tub and jacuzzi.

The rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise because of the hotels location right on a set of traffic lights. The hotel is probably a little over priced for Quito, with the room tariff being almost twice that of the Hothello which is a few hundred yards further up Amazonas on the same side of the road. Although a good breakfast is included in the price in the ajoining restaurant and there is the jacuzzi as well.

The staff were very professional and efficient and all spoke very good English. Overall quite good value for money, recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cellargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindo, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

clean, large rooms, free breakfast, free wifi, cable tv, friendly professional staff....ask for room in the back of the hotel. great area....lots of restaurants and shops.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyGreenYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for 5 days coming from Florida and going to Cuenca. Rooms were roomy and clean, staff was helpful. Breakfast is iincluded and the restaurant food was fine. Airport is about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank believesailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here for two nights(Aug.1&2) before leaving for Banos. This was just a stopover place to stay and it was cheap...in every way. The staff was very impersonal, going about their business in a matter-of-fact way. The hotel is also housed a travel/tour agency but they didn't pressure us to purchase any,which is fine. It is also adjacent to a restaurant, nothing special about it, except breakfast was included with the room. The room were small and smelly-damplike, but all the rooms were like that. The linen didn't look too clean and the bath-very old looking. The location was good though-right in the downtown area, but very noisy at all times of the day/night. If you want a cheap place to stay, then this is the place but I wouldn't recommend staying for too long of a period.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#15 of 110 in Quito
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#19 of 110 in Quito
1,377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#38 of 233 in Quito
87 reviews
10.0 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Francisco Ramon Roca 668 y Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing