We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great, but two big problems”
Review of Hotel Andino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Andino
Ranked #23 of 252 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I feel a little guilty about writing an average review as I messed this hotel around a bit with dates and they were very accommodating. The hotel could also be great, if it fixed two big and one small problem.

The small problem is that they choose to use a solid air freshener that smells like a urinal cake. It was so strong that I out it outside after one night!

The first big problem is that the door is locked from 6pm and guests need to press a buzzer to get in. This would not be a problem if the buzzer was only heard in the staff area but it is so loud that it sounds as if it is in the bedroom. We stayed Friday- Sunday and were woken on the first two nights several times each night up, with e last guests getting in at around 3:30.

The second big problem is payment. The hotel claims to take Visa but only has a carbon-copy system (as well as charging a 16% surcharge for visa, which was not advertised). Because carbon-copy is not secure, my bank in the UK declined the payment and put a stop on my card. This meant it took over an HOUR to check out as I tried and (because my card had been stopped) failed to get cash from a machine and then the owner and I faffed about with Paypal. It also meant expensive calls back to the UK to get my card re-activated. In my opinion, this hotel should not advertise payment by credit card as it is likely to be declined for the majority of non-ecuadorians.

If this feedback is taken on board and these problems are sorted, this would be a great choice as it has a good location, big, clean rooms and is very good value at $30 (+VAT and service)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed here for three nights recently, MIguel is indeed a great host - very knowledgable and helpful (with great English). There is a supermarket nearby which is handy if you prefer to stay in and eat (there is a little garden inside the hotel, plus an area with a table where you can read/eat). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1SoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Miguel and family run a good hotel here. The rooms are clean and most are large with plenty of hot water. The position is excellent for those that dont want Mariscal....it is close to ATM, Supermaxi store, 10 min walk to Mariscal restaurants and travel agents. In a quiet area with a resident taxi man [Marcelo ] living opposite.
Miguel speaks great English and is a mini travel info person to help out with any travel queries you may have. Breakfast is included for the $25 and is the norm of bread, juice and eggs.
Free tea/cafe and WIFI.
I stayed here 3 times totalling 6 days of my 7 weeks visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms not the below ones at the back as they are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Andino two nights coming into Quito, and one night on our way back home in the first part of May 2013. We were so thankful to have Miguel and his staff helping us through our first visit to Quito. The rooms were neat and clean, the staff was more than helpful, gracious and kind, and Miguel was absolutely wonderful. He helped us so much with what to see, getting cabs, and navigating our travels. A great place to stay. We would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrylr19555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed here twice during my trip to Ecuador, the rooms I stayed in were very nice and the staff were really helpful and friendly. I felt safe staying here and I would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This small family run hotel in a former home is the ideal, safe and quiet location to stay in Quito and still be a 10 minute walk or less from Gringolandia nightlife yet with an Italian restaurant directly across the street from it. You are also a 10 minute walk away from the fancy Swiss Hotel and many businesses and shopping. It is a 5 minute walk from the trole as well. The breakfast served is your choice preparation of eggs with fresh bread and jam and juice and tea of your choice. The rooms can be arranged to accomodate more or less people. They will add or subtract twin size beds as needed. The water pressure can be weak to non-existent at times, but the rooms are clean with closet space and private bathrooms which have ample room for storing toiletries. Miguel and his wife are both friendly and helpful. I have stayed here alone and I have brought large groups of students here for multiple day stays. I highly recommend Hotel Andino. There is even a dining room/living area apart from the breakfast room where there is free WiFi.

Room Tip: The single room with a fireplace on the main floor is huge. However, the first floor rooms get the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageusedumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Miguel was beyond helpful for the week that we stayed at Hotel Andino in February. He would spend endless amounts of time discussing our trip and our plans to help us create a schedule. Our room was spotless every day and they went out of their way to make sure our breakfast was ready when we needed it early. We have been in Ecuador for over two months now and my boyfriend and I both agree that this is the best place that we've stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
#98 of 116 in Quito
42 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#53 of 116 in Quito
60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 116 in Quito
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alcala
Hostal Alcala
#29 of 252 in Quito
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Foch
Hotel Casa Foch
#32 of 252 in Quito
87 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Huasi Continental
Hotel Huasi Continental
#28 of 252 in Quito
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andino

Address: Leonidas Plaza N 24-395 | between Luis Cordero and Baquerizo Moreno, Quito 593, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 252 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £15 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Andino 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANDINO HotelYour best choise in QuitoLocated in La Mariscal, 10 minutes south from the airport Mariscal Sucre and 10 minutes north from Terminal Cumanda.We offer you a friendly atmosfer, great location, near you have many kind of restaurants, bars, drugstore, stores, transportation, laundrys, and every thing that you need to be confortable.is garanted a good nap.Lcdo Miguel Angel Perez ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Andino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing