We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, beautiful grounds, great hosts, a little hard to find”
Review of B&B Tumbaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Tumbaco
Ranked #38 of 233 Quito B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, beautiful grounds, great hosts, a little hard to find”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had a great 3 night stay last week. The grounds, cottages and main house are absolutely beautiful. The hosts were extremely helpful with directions, recommendations and calling taxis. They even set us up with a driver to take us to the nearby hot springs for the day.
We were visiting friends who live in Tumbaco so it was convenient for us, but it is quite a drive to the main sites in Quito. Cabs are cheap but still too far to stay if the main purpose of your trip is to see the city. Tumbaco and Cumbaya do have lot of great restaurants.
Tips-get very clear directions or take them up on the offer to pick you up from the airport. The place is nearly impossible to find on your own. Second, if you make the deposit brought PayPal, the PayPal fee comes out of your pocket, not theirs. Not sure that's how it's supposed to work, but that's how they do it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaci82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumbaco, Propietario at B&B Tumbaco, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear customer,
It was really a pleasure having your party at our B&B. Thank you for your stay and your review. We take an effort in always improving our service, so we are grateful for your comments. All customers have several options to pay the 50% deposit we ask to make the reservation definitive, you can choose to wire it to one of our bank accounts in the USA, Holland, Germany or Ecuador, use Western Union or PayPal. However, as a business we have to see after it that we receive the full amount of the deposit, which means that the transfer costs which intermediaries like PayPal charge are indeed for the customer. We believe that this is the case with all hotel reservations. We are happy that, in spite this inconvenience, you had a great time at our B&B and we hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Gerrit Burgwal
Owner/manager
B&B Tumbaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We spend a week at the B&B Tumbaco, and it was the best choice! The cottage was always clean, we didn't miss anything! Whenever we needed something, we got help: Travel information, taxi, telephone... Our breakfast was just perfect, we even got the lactose free milk - not available everywhere. - Even my Ecuadorian friends were impressed. :) - This is the place we're going to choose our next time in Ecuador, and I hope that will be soon! Thank you very much - I will recommend you to everyone traveling to Ecuador! Muchas gracias!!

PS They speak Spanish, German, English, Dutch... :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. The guest house was very comfortable! Patricia and Gerrit were so helpful- they came up with places for us to eat, arranged our taxis and gave us a hiking route for our final day in Tumbaco. While this place is a bit off the beaten path, it is worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed in B&B Tumbaco for a weekend in October 2011 and it was lovely in all respects. The location is very nice for those who want to be a bit outside of Quito with a wonderful calmness and a beautiful landscape to discover. The cabana was really cosy and spacious for the 2 of us. The breakfast was very very good. But what makes B&B Tumbaco really to a special place to stay is the host Gerrit and his family. He gave us so many good information and helped us with contacting some tour operators for a trip to Galapagos. So if you want to go a bit outside Quito and are looking for a peaceful place with pool and a large garden to spend some sunny hours, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinzessinKnopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had only a week to visit the Quito area and wanted a base that we could use to have day trips outside of the city. We were delighted to find B&B Tumbaco online - and every single review was spot on. Gerrit and Patrice have a delightful oasis about 30 minutes outside of Quito. Three little cabins tucked into gardens full of flowers, orchards, and groomed trails. Everything is immaculately maintained and our cabin was adorable. Gerrit arranged for transportation on a daily basis with such a happy, smiling driver - Elsa - that much of our experience was getting to enjoy her laugh and careful driving. Takes about $15 and 30 minutes to get to Quito - but the drives are always part of the experience and the views incredible. We took a 2 night trip to a cloud forest lodge - El Monte - Mindo, Ecuador and Gerrit assisted with the details. Enjoyed Otavalo and local pueblos along the way. Ended with a MUST see Quito at night, dinner in the square, and Friday night entertainment which featured indigenous costumes and spectacular setting. For a short and adventurous vacation of only a week we felt safe in a fantastic setting in our own private little paradise. Worth being a bit further out than we originally intended. You'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amigolucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We booked B&B Tumbaco after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and weren't disappointed. We had originally considered staying at one of the hotels in Quito. Instead, we ended up at a place in a safe neighborhood with elegant surroundings, comfortable accomodations and friendly hosts eager to ensure that we felt at home--all for less money. Gerrit and Patricia and their staff were gracious hosts providing delicious breakfasts and helpful advice. We arranged our airport pickup through Gerrit and ended up hiring the driver for several day trips around the region. Gerrit also helped us arrange a bike tour in Cotopaxi National Park which was a highlight of our stay--especially since we ended the day in the hot tub. The location in the suburbs of Quito is much quieter than in the city. We got around by taxi and found prices quite reasonable and taxis very accesible. There are good restaurants in Tumbaco and nearby Cumbaya. If you want to spend most of your time in the city, accomodations downtown may make sense but for a quieter, secure environment with helpful hosts, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed at B&B after we got married for a few days while my family was in town. The place is absolutely gorgeous and the grounds are kept up very nicely. The cabin we stayed in was comfortable and we had everything we needed.

The hosts are wonderful people and were very happy to have us. They helped us out with whatever we needed like calling a taxi, or helping us when we locked ourselves out of the bathroom!

The location is just outside of Tumbaco enough so that it is very quiet, but close enough so that it was a short trip into town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePetrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
7.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 110 in Quito
752 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#39 of 233 in Quito
87 reviews
3.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
11.7 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#101 of 233 in Quito
37 reviews
7.6 mi away
Casa Agua Canela
Casa Agua Canela
#24 of 263 in Quito
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tumbaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tumbaco

Property: B&B Tumbaco
Address: La Ceramica, Tumbaco, | Tumbaco, near New Quito Airport, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Tumbaco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Tumbaco is located in the Tumbaco valley, 15 km from the capital city Quito and 18 km from the airport. At the foot of the Ilaló magic mountain, the hacienda style main house features spacious gardens, swimming pool and jacuzzi, with private cottages painted in tropical colours. This unique site offers personalized service, peaceful country atmosphere and a truly great breakfast. B&B Tumbaco is personally managed by its owners, Gerrit and Patricia. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, German and Dutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Tumbaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing