We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of B&B Tumbaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Tumbaco
Ranked #38 of 233 Quito B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Wonderful place midway between the airport and Quito. Excellent if you want to relax, be closer to nature, canyon (del Chiche) and enjoy a good breakfast. Warm welcome from owners.
Manon and Carlo
Montreal Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weert, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Thank you very much for the great service and info. Absolutely beautiful location and great accomodation. We wish we could have stayed longer. If everything goes well we will be back. Thanks again. Grt Joost en Micha

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellermicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent one night (arrival in the evening, departure next morning) in this very nice property, in 2 bungalows, simple, clean, spacious, one with a small kitchen. Gerrit was very welcoming and we had a nice breakafst before leaving. A every good solution at 30-40 min from the airport

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legoutdesautres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This place was such a beautiful retreat to stay at following our Amazon excursion. Let's just say when the gates opened we were amazed at how nice it was and the little cottage we stayed in near the pool was fantastic. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer as we had to fly out the next day. Gerritt was very easy to work with and was very kind in refunding our deposit when we had to cancel another single night booking when we were planning on staying there at the end of our trip but ended up flying home early due to illness. Thanks for the stay Gerritt!

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 1 I believe with the kitchenette. It didn't however have much in it for sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DustEm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

B&B tumbaco - stayed with Gerrit & Patricia on 2 separate occasions in Ecuador. Gerritt was very prompt with email communication. Due to our late arrival from US, Elsa (taxi driver, arranged by B&B) picked us up & checked us into cottage. In AM, early lunch with Gerrit's wife & daughter. Our second stay required an early departure, which resulted in portable juice/fruits/snack for breakfast. Gerrit provided recommendation for Tumbaco restaurant and a private Quito tour guide - which were both excellent.

cottage accommodations were sufficient. Room was bit chilly at night (heavy comforter was too much at times). Never got WiFii to work - gerrit said it was because of the US technology we had (iphone & tablet- didnt bother to further inquire). Pros: location (25min to airport), beautiful property. Cons: WiFii, chilly evenings

We liked the location bc it was close to the airport, as we had plans to venture into Quito on the later end of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tran234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumbaco, Owner at B&B Tumbaco, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your visit and your excellent review. Concerning the WIFI, I have to say that, as you witnessed that the internet was working fine on my computer and that of other guests. So if you couldn’t connect, it has to be due to a problem with your equipment. We have had other guests with an American IPod or IPad with the same problem, while their laptops worked fine. Once again we enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again.
Gerrit Burgwal
Owner/manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Pros:
Gerrit and his family were very welcoming and helpful.
Excellent transfer from the airport.
Beautiful garden environment.
Excellent breakfast in the family kitchen.
Comfortable bed.
Con:
The 'high speed Internet' was very slow and intermittent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumbaco, Owner at B&B Tumbaco, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your stay at our Inn and the nice review. We are very sorry we had internet connection problems the days you stayed with us, due to problems of the provider. That normally is not the case, we have a pretty fast internet connection of 2,63Mb/s (just measured it on speedtest.net). However we are glad to hear that, in spite of this temporary inconvenience, you had a wonderful stay with us. We also were delighted having you as our guests and hope to see you again in the near future.
Gerrit Burgwal
Owner/manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here after our trip to the Galapagos. After viewing the Quito area, we are SO glad we chose this location! We usually don't stay in B&Bs because we like the ease of having a restaurant on site but the owner made it so easy for us by calling the taxis, providing a map for the return & suggesting a super place to eat (Ali's)
It was fairly close to the airport and again, the taxis were prearranged for us.
After 2 full days of touring, it was so nice to come back each early evening to fragrant gardens with flowers & herbs.
It was reasonably quiet as it was not in the city. There are some dogs barking in the neighborhood. It was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
7.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 110 in Quito
752 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#39 of 233 in Quito
87 reviews
3.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
11.7 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#101 of 233 in Quito
37 reviews
7.6 mi away
Casa Agua Canela
Casa Agua Canela
#24 of 263 in Quito
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tumbaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tumbaco

Property: B&B Tumbaco
Address: La Ceramica, Tumbaco, | Tumbaco, near New Quito Airport, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Tumbaco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Tumbaco is located in the Tumbaco valley, 15 km from the capital city Quito and 18 km from the airport. At the foot of the Ilaló magic mountain, the hacienda style main house features spacious gardens, swimming pool and jacuzzi, with private cottages painted in tropical colours. This unique site offers personalized service, peaceful country atmosphere and a truly great breakfast. B&B Tumbaco is personally managed by its owners, Gerrit and Patricia. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, German and Dutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Tumbaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing