We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid-Friendly”
Review of B&B Tumbaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Tumbaco
Ranked #33 of 232 Quito B&B and Inns
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kid-Friendly”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We needed a quick getaway from city/work life and this was such a good choice. My husband and I love b&bs but haven't really done them since having kids because they are often very couple-oriented. The hosts assured me the kids were welcome (age 2 and 4) so we gave it a try. It was a fantastic 24 hours. The kids loved the pool and jacuzzi and Gerritt was so kind and on top of any need we had. It was peaceful and tranquil out there and gave us time to just focus on the four of us, which is what we were looking for.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Quito (and in general any big city in LA) is buzzing with pedestrians filling the sidewalks, cars honking, smoke, loud music, street vendors and lots of activity; in general very exciting, but it wears you out by the end of the day. That is why you need an oasis to rest and recharge for next day (or night).
B&B Tumbaco is an amazing oasis, a place full of trees and flowers, lots of green and a fantastic swimming pool. We stayed 3 nights there. Gerrit and Patricia are excellent hosts, even their daughter was glad to play with my 7-year old son one afternoon. The wifi is not the best and there is no TVs on the rooms, but for me was enough to sit outside of my cottage to sip a beer or two while watching the mountains; my kids have some complains about this, but their video games and books kept them busy while there was time to sleep. Breakfast was great and in general we had a marvelous time there.

Room Tip: we stay at cottage 3 which had a small kitchenette which use a couple of occasions, but it could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Gerrit and Patricia have a lovely B and B with three cottages to rent. The cottages are clean and cozy; the breakfasts are delicious and the gardens are beautiful and peaceful. We had a swim in the pool one day and the private porch of our cottage was a nice place to sit and enjoy a beer.. The family is friendly and super helpful. The only downside of this otherwise perfect place is its location. It is rather remote if you don't have your own transportation. Gerrit was amazing in helping us organize drives, but we like to walk around an area and explore the neighbourhood, which we couldn't do here. The taxi driver, Fernando, and the tour guides, Angela and Jamie from Let's Go to Ecuador, and who were recommended by Gerrit, were excellent. They were friendly and reliable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent 5 nights at this lovely property while visiting various places in Ecuador. Gerrit and Patrizia are accommodating hosts, and their little daughter a delightful conversationalist. Although it's a taxi drive to restaurants, it's worth it for the peace and beauty of the B&B. The location has especially good access to the airport (1/2 hr vs. over an hour to downtown Quito) and for all points east of Quito. The gardens are beautiful and provide habitat for many species of birds (our main interest in Ecuador). Thank you Gerrit and Patrizia for a delightful experience.

Room Tip: Cabin #2 has no kitchen, but is spacious with a queen-size bed. All the cabins are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at BB and B Tumbaco the first three nights of our trip and our final night.We were a group of four friends with very limited Spanish making our first trip to Ecuador. How nice it was, after a late night flight from the USA, to be picked up by a driver arranged by the owner of this bed and breakfast, and delivered after the 30-40 minute drive to this pleasant place. After a comfortable night's rest we were treated to an ample and elegantly served breakfast. After breakfast Gerrit, the owner, had arranged a tour of Quito for us with Jamie, an excellent Canadian guide and driver. Our second morning started early as Gerrit had arranged a bird trip in the Andes east of Quito. It was a memorable day having seen the Andean condor, and some lovely long tailed hummingbirds that were amazing.
We felt very well taken care of here. Gerrit kindly called taxis, called out for pizza delivery and even made reservations for us at an excellent Italian restaurant in nearby Cumbaya.
We enjoyed the lovely grounds, comfortable rooms, our helpful and most gracious host and his family all of whom went out of their way to see that we were happy and cared for.
I certainly would recommend that you consider staying here. It made an ideal beginning and ending location for our trip to Ecuador.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a kitchenette and found it nice to have a small fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdchaserLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This location is half way between the airport and Quito. The owners of the B&B were prepared to offer any service at all to make our travels comfortable and enjoyable. If we needed a driver, a taxi, a way to get our lost sunglasses to us at the airport before our flight, it was done promptly. The lodging was great if you want something outside of the urban core, this is a place to consider.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Quito is a really great city and you shouldn't miss it, but if you find yourself with just one night like we did, this is a great place to stay for a night or for a relaxing spot. The hosts were very helpful and the grounds and pool were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
5.1 mi away
Quito Polo Club Airport Boutique Hotel
3.9 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Casa del Tilo
La Casa del Tilo
#29 of 259 in Quito
38 reviews
5.4 mi away
Posada Mirolindo
Posada Mirolindo
#9 of 259 in Quito
130 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tumbaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tumbaco

Property: B&B Tumbaco
Address: La Ceramica, Tumbaco, | Tumbaco, near New Quito Airport, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Tumbaco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Tumbaco is located in the Tumbaco valley, 15 km from the capital city Quito and 18 km from the airport. At the foot of the Ilaló magic mountain, the hacienda style main house features spacious gardens, swimming pool and jacuzzi, with private cottages painted in tropical colours. This unique site offers personalized service, peaceful country atmosphere and a truly great breakfast. B&B Tumbaco is personally managed by its owners, Gerrit and Patricia. Languages spoken: English, Spanish, German and Dutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your B&B Tumbaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing